The Isle of the Lost: A Descendants Novel (The Descendants)

Book 1 of 3 in the The Descendants Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.363152
Evil tree. Bad Apple?

Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon to the Isle of the Lost--a dark and dreary place protected by a force field that makes it impossible for them to leave. Stripped of their magical powers, the villains now live in total isolation, forgotten by the world.

Mal learns from her mother, Maleficent, that the key to true darkness, the Dragon's Eye, is located inside her scepter in the forbidden fortress on the far side of the island. The eye is cursed, and whoever retrieves it will be knocked into a deep sleep for a thousand years. But Mal has a plan to capture it. She'll just need a little help from her "friends." In their quest for the Dragon's Eye, these four kids begin to realize that just because you come from an evil family tree, being good ain't so bad.
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on April 25, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484725441
ISBN-13: 9781484725443
147 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • pretzel101
    pretzel101Friday, October 13, 2017 at 6:02 pm55 stars
    I just saw the movie which was really good but I haven't read the book yet. But I think I might want to buy the book. 1 suggestion: Cause people really like this book I think you should do 10 giveaways for it. Thanks again! PS: ( I haven't read it yet so I'm rating it off the movie Ill do it again to rate the book.)
    • eive
      eiveFriday, October 13, 2017 at 2:24 pm55 stars
      It is a great book
      • carlosThursday, October 12, 2017 at 6:39 am
        me to
        • mal Thursday, October 12, 2017 at 6:38 am
          I have it at home and i loved it so I had to read it here
          • jarlos
            jarlosTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 6:24 am55 stars
            The Isle Of The Lost is an exciting book, full of mysteries, friendship and adventure. Melissa de la Cruz is an amazing author and describes the VK's amazingly.
            • dove cameron Monday, October 2, 2017 at 8:56 am
              please get this book it will help homeless and mal said to
              • sarah1245
                sarah1245Friday, September 29, 2017 at 12:17 pm55 stars
                i love it
                • znayaWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 11:55 am
                  The Isle Of The Lost, whoop, whoop. Ok now, if you know me, (and also follow me on twitter), you'd know that I am a huge Disney Geek. And I especially love Descendants! So I watched the movie, then read the book, which is The Isle Of The Lost, and I must say... it was awesome. (Both, that is) I really enjoyed reading the Isle Of The Lost because it gave you background info about the main characters, Mal, Evie, Jay, and Carlos. I thought the character's personalities shined in this novel. And now, I know that Melissa De La Cruz nailed it. The setting was quite spectacular. I really loved how MDLC described the Isle Of The Lost. In all, I would give this novel 4.5 stars, because it gave me a feeling so good, it hurts.
                  • puppy 101Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 11:08 am
                    IT is asome
                    • znyyaWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 10:40 am
                      This book is so great I totally recommend it for Disney villain fans!!! ;3