Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.945989
Massie Block: With her glossy brunette bob and laser-whitened smile, Massie is the uncontested ruler of The Clique and the rest of the social scene at Octavian Country Day School, an exclusive private girls' school in Westchester County, New York. Massie knows you'd give anything to be just like her.

Dylan Marvil: Massie's second in command who divides her time between sucking up to Massie and sucking down Atkins Diet shakes.

Alicia Rivera: As sneaky as she is beautiful, Alicia floats easily under adult radar because she seems so "sweet." Would love to take Massie's throne one day. Just might.

Kristen Gregory: She's smart, hardworking, and will insult you to tears faster than you can say "my haircut isn't ugly!"

Enter Claire Lyons, the new girls from Florida in Keds and two-year-old Gap overalls, who is clearly not Clique material. Unfortunately for her, Claire's family is staying in the guesthouse on Massie's family's huge estate while they look for a new home. Claire's future looks worse than a bad Prada knockoff. But with a little luck and a lot of scheming, Claire might just come up smelling like Chanel No. 19. . . .

The Clique . . . the only thing harder than getting in is staying in.


Paperback, 240 pages
Published on November 1, 2008 by Poppy
ISBN-10: 0316040835
ISBN-13: 9780316040839
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • honey NOSunday, March 17, 2019 at 9:11 pm
    This book was OKAY it could have been like I don't know 10000 times better but whatever.
    • lrwlrw
      lrwlrwWednesday, July 12, 2017 at 4:42 pm
      I love Massie! I love Claire! I love Alicia! I love Dylan! I love Kristen! Go Pretty Committee! WWWOOOO HHHOOO!
      • yumikothelewis
        yumikothelewisSunday, August 28, 2016 at 7:20 pm
        Amazing book, Love It!
        • momokos
          momokosSaturday, January 16, 2016 at 6:56 am55 starsFeatured
          This book is the first book in "The Clique" series. The story is about 4 popular girls named Massie, Kristen, Dylan, and Alicia, and one unpopular girl named Claire. The 4 popular girls were friends at first, but everything changes after Claire Lyons comes from Florida to live with Massie. Massie is super rich, and her house is huge, so her dad, who is friends with Claire's dad, invited the Lyons to live with them until the Lyons' house is finished building. Obviously, Massie doesn't like the idea of having the Lyons live with her family, so she starts bullying Claire with her other 3 girls. So in this book, there are lots of conflicts, mainly between Massie and Claire. However, one day Claire decided to get revenge and sneaked into Massie's room... I would recommend this book to people who like reading about school life and friendship, because in this book, you can learn a lot about complicated friendship and school life.
          • jellyjoy
            jellyjoyFriday, October 24, 2014 at 7:19 pm
            I really like these books but Dylan needs to stop complaining about "I'm so fat I'm so fat!" JK love them. I don't get why they are always talking about how everyone is so skinny. Its kinda sad.
            • amygenius
              amygeniusThursday, April 24, 2014 at 2:46 pm55 stars
              This is a book about a group of typical students that are extremely popular in their school. However, when a new girl moves in to the town, they are forced to hang out with her. But the new girl finds out she is disliked and tries to fit in.
              • crazy4music01
                crazy4music01Thursday, March 27, 2014 at 7:04 pm55 stars
                started reading this book series at the start of the school year and absolutely love them! They are really interest books cause its the typical story where there's a new girl at school but of course there is a mean clique as well. But this series takes it to a whole different level. There are twists and turns everywhere in the whole series, and would recommend these books to everyone who is 12 or over. ( I don't think anyone younger then that would really understand the books)
                • ikyra_marie
                  ikyra_marieTuesday, February 11, 2014 at 8:38 pm
                  This series is dA bOmB
                  • ikyra_marie
                    ikyra_marieTuesday, February 11, 2014 at 8:38 pm
                    so sad they ended
                    • mya23
                      mya23Saturday, January 25, 2014 at 10:46 am
                      I really need this