Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.665451
Following a series of murders, an apothecary’s apprentice must solve puzzles and decipher codes in pursuit of a secret that could destroy the world in this “spectacular debut” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).

“Tell no one what I’ve given you.”

Until he got that cryptic warning, Christopher Rowe was happy, learning how to solve complex codes and puzzles and creating powerful medicines, potions, and weapons as an apprentice to Master Benedict Blackthorn—with maybe an explosion or two along the way.

But when a mysterious cult begins to prey on London’s apothecaries, the trail of murders grows closer and closer to Blackthorn’s shop. With time running out, Christopher must use every skill he’s learned to discover the key to a terrible secret with the power to tear the world apart.

In his stunning debut novel, Kevin Sands brings readers on a heart-stopping adventure rich with suspense, mystery, and unforgettable characters.
Paperback, 400 pages
Published on May 3, 2016 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481446525
ISBN-13: 9781481446525
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • esquay
    esquaySaturday, November 10, 2018 at 9:50 am55 stars
    I love this book so much!!!!!!! You have to read the series.
    • EmilyTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 6:57 pm
      This series is the best series i have ever read
      • hello10
        hello10Monday, May 21, 2018 at 6:11 am55 stars
        it is amazing
        • ginny15
          ginny15Tuesday, May 8, 2018 at 3:43 pm55 stars
          Sadly I don't live next to a library that has this book. I can't say how much I love this book! I really, really, really, really, really want this book!
          • mybooksandi
            mybooksandiThursday, April 26, 2018 at 1:07 pm55 stars
            The Blackthorn Key... phew. Can I just say how much I loved this book? It had everything I wanted, mystery, suspense, adventure. Everything is carefully planned and detailed. And then there’s this big reveal at the end. And Kevin Sands’s writing is the absolute B.E.S.T CHARACTERS- Christopher was the best! He is such a strong and loyal friend. He was funny and smart. I really liked Christopher’s backstory; I especially liked how he thinks well of his master. Tom was hilarious! He is so kind and loyal to Christopher even when Christopher is off doing something stupid. Characters? Bravo! SETTING- I really liked the time period in this novel. The 1600’s is an era that is not mentioned so much in books these days. And London! Oh, I love how London is set out for this novel! In all, bravo! This book was AMAZING in many different ways. I am so glad I happened to stumble upon this book! 5 stars from me!
            • Stariamoon259Thursday, June 22, 2017 at 9:24 am
              I love this book! it is so cool! I would recommend it to others
              • sherkismyfather
                sherkismyfatherFriday, June 3, 2016 at 9:04 am55 stars
                When i read the story because my teacher said it was a good book, i thought i would be bad but it was good
                • aub112705
                  aub112705Friday, April 22, 2016 at 6:38 pm
                  Very gruesome! Only for kids 10 and older.
                  • jackfruit7
                    jackfruit7Friday, January 29, 2016 at 1:52 pm55 stars
                    The Blackthorn Key novel, by Kevin Sands is life changing! It's filled with mystery and adventure! The whole time I was reading this epic novel, I was twitching with excitement! It is so a five star book, and I'm praying they make a second one to quench my thirst for this kind of novel! Praise for Kevin Sands, The Blackthorn Key! It has an amazing story behind the making of the book to! I'm sure all Blackthorn Key Fans would agree hat this book is amazing! Go Kevin Sands!!!
                    • charlesh20
                      charlesh20Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 6:54 amFeatured
                      The Blackthorn key by Kevin Sands, basically this book is about a key called the Blackthorn key to solve an mystery involve killing, crime, dangerous codes. Christopher is an apothecary’s apprentice in London. He facing complex and hard codes, unknown mystery and puzzles or even creating powerful and dangerous medicines. The goal is to solve the mystery and find out the answer of many quest. This book is involving advance word, and this book I wouldn't suggest for the people who is under 5th grade. This book's story line is plan perfectly and well. I can't see any non-making sense part or unknown part. This book is very mysterious and complicated. I somehow don't understand part of this book but overall I would say this book is very interesting and insane. The things in this book is crazy and this makes the book more even greater to read. The puzzle and codes part is the part I enjoy, I love solving those kinds of things, Of course I don't understand but I will still want to solve it because the book's mystery makes me want to solve it and find out the answer.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins