Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.665451
Following a series of murders, an apothecary’s apprentice must solve puzzles and decipher codes in pursuit of a secret that could destroy the world in this suspenseful debut novel.

“Tell no one what I’ve given you.”

Until he got that cryptic warning, Christopher Rowe was happy, learning how to solve complex codes and puzzles and creating powerful medicines, potions, and weapons as an apprentice to Master Benedict Blackthorn—with maybe an explosion or two along the way.

But when a mysterious cult begins to prey on London’s apothecaries, the trail of murders grows closer and closer to Blackthorn’s shop. With time running out, Christopher must use every skill he’s learned to discover the key to a terrible secret with the power to tear the world apart.

In his stunning debut novel, Kevin Sands brings readers on a heart-stopping adventure rich with suspense, mystery, and unforgettable characters.
Paperback, 400 pages
Published on May 3, 2016 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481446525
ISBN-13: 9781481446525
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hello10
    hello10Monday, May 21, 2018 at 6:11 am55 stars
    it is amazing
    • ginny15
      ginny15Tuesday, May 8, 2018 at 3:43 pm55 stars
      Sadly I don't live next to a library that has this book. I can't say how much I love this book! I really, really, really, really, really want this book!
      • mybooksandi
        mybooksandiThursday, April 26, 2018 at 1:07 pm55 stars
        The Blackthorn Key... phew. Can I just say how much I loved this book? It had everything I wanted, mystery, suspense, adventure. Everything is carefully planned and detailed. And then there’s this big reveal at the end. And Kevin Sands’s writing is the absolute B.E.S.T CHARACTERS- Christopher was the best! He is such a strong and loyal friend. He was funny and smart. I really liked Christopher’s backstory; I especially liked how he thinks well of his master. Tom was hilarious! He is so kind and loyal to Christopher even when Christopher is off doing something stupid. Characters? Bravo! SETTING- I really liked the time period in this novel. The 1600’s is an era that is not mentioned so much in books these days. And London! Oh, I love how London is set out for this novel! In all, bravo! This book was AMAZING in many different ways. I am so glad I happened to stumble upon this book! 5 stars from me!
        • Stariamoon259Thursday, June 22, 2017 at 9:24 am
          I love this book! it is so cool! I would recommend it to others
          • sherkismyfather
            sherkismyfatherFriday, June 3, 2016 at 9:04 am55 stars
            When i read the story because my teacher said it was a good book, i thought i would be bad but it was good
            • aub112705
              aub112705Friday, April 22, 2016 at 6:38 pm
              Very gruesome! Only for kids 10 and older.
              • jackfruit7
                jackfruit7Friday, January 29, 2016 at 1:52 pm55 stars
                The Blackthorn Key novel, by Kevin Sands is life changing! It's filled with mystery and adventure! The whole time I was reading this epic novel, I was twitching with excitement! It is so a five star book, and I'm praying they make a second one to quench my thirst for this kind of novel! Praise for Kevin Sands, The Blackthorn Key! It has an amazing story behind the making of the book to! I'm sure all Blackthorn Key Fans would agree hat this book is amazing! Go Kevin Sands!!!
                • charlesh20
                  charlesh20Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 6:54 amFeatured
                  The Blackthorn key by Kevin Sands, basically this book is about a key called the Blackthorn key to solve an mystery involve killing, crime, dangerous codes. Christopher is an apothecary’s apprentice in London. He facing complex and hard codes, unknown mystery and puzzles or even creating powerful and dangerous medicines. The goal is to solve the mystery and find out the answer of many quest. This book is involving advance word, and this book I wouldn't suggest for the people who is under 5th grade. This book's story line is plan perfectly and well. I can't see any non-making sense part or unknown part. This book is very mysterious and complicated. I somehow don't understand part of this book but overall I would say this book is very interesting and insane. The things in this book is crazy and this makes the book more even greater to read. The puzzle and codes part is the part I enjoy, I love solving those kinds of things, Of course I don't understand but I will still want to solve it because the book's mystery makes me want to solve it and find out the answer.
                  • jc20
                    jc20Wednesday, November 25, 2015 at 12:45 am44 starsFeatured
                    The book,The Blackthorn Key, by Kevin Sands is a novel that requires the reader to think and understand how the character is going to solve the mystery. The main character, Christopher was an apothecary’s apprentice in London, he was fascinated with solving complex codes, puzzles, and creating powerful medicines. If you like reading suspense novels, this will be a great choice for you because the book is full of mysteries and excitements that you cannot imagine. While reading this book, I would wanted to be part of the story and experience the adventures that the characters have gone through. Although I cannot solve puzzles or codes like Christopher did, but if I could be him, I would enjoy solving complex codes and puzzles. It would be fun.

                    More TopicsView in 3D