Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.2111948
The #1 New York Times Bestseller

Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard's sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king's palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood--those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard--a growing Red rebellion--even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.
Paperback, 416 pages
Published on June 7, 2016 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 006231064X
ISBN-13: 9780062310644
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • catnip2087
    catnip2087Tuesday, September 25, 2018 at 2:15 pm55 stars
    This book is so so so good. This book has action, romance, and betrayal.
    • #CommentSunday, November 19, 2017 at 9:55 pm
      It was good and bad. Everything was predictable* and I felt that the whole thing with Mare and Cal went to far. Maven was at least useful in the plot but Cal did absolutely nothing. Everyone (except Julian) was super idiotic. They should have shown Farley more. I liked the humor and Mare's perspective. If someone likes a little romance along with action, rebellions and the chance of betrayal, this book is for you. * Spoiler Alert = everything except Shade beingalive
      • kkuhy
        kkuhyTuesday, April 25, 2017 at 8:27 am55 stars
        love it!
        • TeencriticThursday, April 6, 2017 at 6:05 pm
          This book, in my honest opinion, only received what it deserved: a 2.50. An excellent comparison for this novel would be the Selection series written by Kiera Cass , which, for those of you that are well read, should already be setting off warning bells. The BAD: The book is bland, impractical, unrealistic, predictable (with one exception), and constantly pessimistic (unreasonably so). •One issue is how depricicatingly low grammar level is. I, as of almost a year ago during freshman year, finished the book in less than one night and was quick to pick up the next book from the school library, if only to satisfy myself with the story resolution (only to wait months longer for the third and hopefully final book to be published). •Another issue is the characters. Mare, the main protagonist is. . .tell me how to say IDIOTIC in a nice way. Sure she grew up in an impoverished family; sure she wasn't the brightest lightbulb ever to grace the earth; sure she's a master pickpocket who knows her way around the cesspool that's the stilts (her home town). Mare is fully ignorant to the life of the rich (excusable), but the real deal breaker is how the author suddenly tried to make teenage logic seem like it was ingenious when it was painfully obvious that it wouldn't—couldn't solve anything! I am not talking about yet-to-be-designed technology issues, I am talking about characters who apparently need to go back to grade school for lack of better common sense; it is horrific. Fact is, Mare's as useless as a slimy sack of potatoes until the last three chapters. I am not joking. •The OTHER characters! If you thought my short, impromptu description of Mare was bad, wait until you hear the full extension about the side characters—both the protagonists and antagonists. Despite most characters being older that Mare, they act just as moronic as her and sometimes even more so! Almost every silver (the weird upper class citizens and nobels with supernatural abilities and "shimmering" silver blood) is overly accentuated as being spoiled and arrogant, reds (people that are oppressed by the silvers [the lower class] and bleed like regular humans) run around like headless chickens without a lick of caution in their supposed secret activities that have been conducted for years, perhaps es even decades. Furthermore, it is stated that silvers live in a world fabricated from lies, yet almost none of them can recognize one giving them a dead-eyed stare right in the face. Cringe worthy. And the GOOD: Now, there were some entertaining aspects to the story, including that exeption to the predictability statement aforementioned and some interesting ideals presented by the book. •The whopping plot twist that sent almost every reader into a loop. It was completely unexpected and I was personally pleased that SOMETHING had finally managed to surprise me. Alternatively, the only reason it worked was because all the characters were too dumb to prevent the event from happening. •The SUPERPOWERS! Because, sometimes you just need a little kick-butt action in your favorite hobby. •The insanity. I like characters with problems, it entices me. •The important murder. I don't know why, but it was pretty epic compared to almost everything else. CONCLUSION: Read it if you want. It by far isn't the best story and it for sure isn't worth buying in hardcover or the audiobook. If you want to read something that's light and easy to plow through, go right ahead and don't let my comments stop you. If you want something epic, find a better book.
          • Faith surinelliFriday, March 17, 2017 at 5:57 pm
            My friend recommended this to me and I read it and aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!! Best book ever
            • catbop
              catbopThursday, November 3, 2016 at 2:38 pm55 stars
              It had action on every page!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • kThursday, August 25, 2016 at 6:43 am
                what is the genre
                • krhudson
                  Ms. HudsonFriday, May 20, 2016 at 8:02 am
                  The Red Queen is a story about a girl named Mara. Mara started the story very poor and through a chance encounter with a stranger she discovers that she is gifted with special powers.
                  • enchanted7
                    enchanted7Sunday, January 3, 2016 at 11:05 pm55 stars
                    I really want to read this book because my friend Catherine proposed this book to me and it sounds really interesting from the small summary she gave me so I really want to read it!
                    • ellamoo
                      ellamooSunday, October 11, 2015 at 5:45 pm44 stars
                      Great Story, with a very original plot. Contains elements of a dystopian novel with a murderous aspect. Great read for anyone who enjoyed Darkest Minds, the Maze Runner, and Cinder.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins