Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.663976

After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson finds his seventh-grade school year unnervingly quiet. His biggest problem is dealing with his new friend, Tyson-a six-foot-three, mentally challenged homeless kid who follows Percy everywhere, making it hard for Percy to have any "normal" friends.
But things don't stay quiet for long. Percy soon discovers there is trouble at Camp Half-Blood: the magical borders which protect Half-Blood Hill have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and the only safe haven for demigods is on the verge of being overrun by mythological monsters. To save the camp, Percy needs the help of his best friend, Grover, who has been taken prisoner by the Cyclops Polyphemus on an island somewhere in the Sea of Monsters, the dangerous waters Greek heroes have sailed for millennia-only today, the Sea of Monsters goes by a new name.the Bermuda Triangle.
Now Percy and his friends-Grover, Annabeth, and Tyson-must retrieve the Golden Fleece from the Island of the Cyclopes by the end of the summer or Camp Half-Blood will be destroyed. But first, Percy will learn a stunning new secret about his family-one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon's son is an honor or simply a cruel joke.

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on March 20, 2007 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423103343
ISBN-13: 9781423103349
298 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everSunday, August 5, 2018 at 9:37 am55 stars
    The second book of the Percy Jackson series throws excited readers for another loop! Percy Jackson's friend Annabeth Chase turns up with bad news: Thalia's magical pine tree is dying, which means Camp Half-Blood's borders are slowly fading. Percy finds that he has a mythical "monster" for a brother. On top of it all, their other best friend Grover is missing. Can Annabeth and Percy sail the Sea of Monsters and save the camp and Grover?
    • georgiasilver
      georgiasilverSunday, July 8, 2018 at 6:06 pm55 stars
      Percy Jackson, as he goes through yet another exciting adventure, discovers various monsters, as well as his weaknesses and strengths. It gives the readers a look into the life of Percy as he travels with his friend Annabeth in order to save his buddy, Grover who was held captive in the cave of a dangerous cyclops who was known for capturing satyrs. The book also has a humorous twist overall, having jokes in between the plot and danger, creating a much more interesting tale. Percy also, through his heroic and brave acts, shows what it means to help your family and camp, by retrieving the Golden Fleece to save Thalia's tree. Not only does this book give you lots of surprises, but at the very end it gives an even more thrilling and compelling twist that will rope the readers into reading the next book of the series. The whole series itself, as well as this book, should definitely be read by anyone! :)
      • spiderbelle
        spiderbelleMonday, June 25, 2018 at 11:40 pm44 stars
        To be honest , this is not the best book I read in the series , but it is still a good book . It is about Percy Jackson finding the fleece to heal Thalia's tree that had been poisoned , and also save Grover taken prisoner by a cyclop named Polyphemus .I give this book four stars out of  five stars . I hope you will read this book .
        • spiderbelleSunday, June 24, 2018 at 10:46 pm
          This book is full of adventures . It is about Percy Jackson finding the fleece and helping Grover.
          • LucySunday, June 24, 2018 at 10:32 pm
            amezing,
            • spiderbelleSunday, June 24, 2018 at 10:27 pm
              to be honest , this is not the best book I read in the series , but it is still a good book .
              • shadow_shady
                shadow_shadySunday, June 10, 2018 at 6:49 pm55 stars
                I read this, a little while ago, and it's a good, book. I suggest it, and don't want to spoil it. I would still like to become a demigod.... WHAT SIGN UP DID I MISS? I know, it's all mythology, and the root word being myth meaning a wide spread false belief or idea. I am allowed to dream. I watched the movie as I said last time. THE BOOK IS NOMALLY BETTER! This is my opinion please don't not take to heart, My opinion don't matter. What you think is what counts. I don't recommend this to anyone who didn't read book one, or does not like mythology. Like if you wish you were a demigod. I can't be alone. (I probably am) =(
                • septembergirl
                  septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:57 pm55 stars
                  I love these series so so so so so so so so so MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I could never put them down.
                  • MehTuesday, May 22, 2018 at 2:02 pm
                    I love this book!
                    • tessa2007
                      tessa2007Friday, May 18, 2018 at 8:11 am
                      this is a good book

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins