The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1493 Book Reviews
  • ivyian
    ivyianSunday, June 13, 2021 at 12:51 am55 stars
    I think the book is extremely amazing! It truly introduce me to a brand new world of Greek mythology. BEST recommended~
    • nalahong1019
      nalahong1019Thursday, June 10, 2021 at 4:18 am55 stars
      This is a amazing book. It has lots of action and twist and turns. I recommend reading the whole series and heroes of Olympus, along with the trials of Apollo. Rick Riordan is one of my favorite authors.
      • metsfan27
        metsfan27Thursday, May 27, 2021 at 2:12 pm55 stars
        100/100, maybe 99/100, but Lighting Thief is amazing book. I advise people to read the entire series, plus Heroes of Olympus that might even be better. Riordan one of my favorite authors ever. Great book.
        • percyisthebest
          percyisthebestWednesday, June 2, 2021 at 9:32 am55 stars
          I think Percy Jackson and the Olympians are the best. 1000/1000
        • mifo
          mifoTuesday, May 25, 2021 at 12:15 pm55 stars
          The whole series is awesome. Rick Riordan did an awesome job writing these books. After finishing it all I could think about was Greek mythology. 10/10
          • devinp50
            devinp50Thursday, May 20, 2021 at 8:57 am55 stars
            the Percy Jackson cool book but teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about
            • volleyballgirl8
              volleyballgirl8Monday, April 26, 2021 at 2:30 pm55 stars
              Percy Jackson is an amazing book for three reasons. The first reason is how fun and fast paced the storyline is. The story is always moving and adding plot twists every chapter. Second, the characters are hard not to love and cheer on through out the book. Lastly, the cliff hangers keep you reading and asking for more and Riordan does not let you down. every thing that happens in the book has an equally interesting and important reason for why it happens or how. All I can say now is: READ this book! You will be very happy you did and I highly recommend it!
              • haydie40
                haydie40Monday, April 26, 2021 at 7:03 am55 stars
                five stars all day. LOVE Annabeth. My favorite book character ever.
                • 123456789kat
                  123456789katThursday, April 22, 2021 at 1:12 pm55 stars
                  better than the Odyssey - Daughters of artemis
                  • mockingjay1
                    mockingjay1Friday, April 16, 2021 at 2:52 pm55 stars
                    Percy Jackson is a great book. The author includes so much Greek mythology that I have learned in class and makes it modern. I love how much action he packs into one book. I hate when I have to put it down. This is such a great book. I love it so much and highly recommend it. You don't know what you are missing out on. you must read this book! Please read!
                    • tanjiro_slay
                      tanjiro_slayMonday, April 12, 2021 at 1:57 pm44 stars
                      it's amazing I love how it brings in Greek gods and the stories behind them it's really fun and also brings up the Oracle which is basically a really cool thing that tells you your future quests