The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1358 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • cue
    cueWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 1:43 pm
    Hands down, better than harry potter. I mean it was awesome! I love that this book makes the old stuff from myths fun and easier to get now a days. It really made me want to read the old stuff for once. I totally liked this book a lot.
    • habs4lif
      habs4lifTuesday, July 30, 2019 at 1:56 pm55 stars
      Best book ever
      • sylvie55555
        sylvie55555Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 8:33 am55 stars
        Alex and Conner Bailey have always loved fairy tales, but when they mysteriously travel into the fairy tale world through a portal in a storybook, they are not sure what to think. They decide to try to find the objects needed to create the wishing spell, a spell that will grant you any one wish, and wish to go back to their home. However the spell can be created only once more, and another creature, desperately in need of the spell, is hunting for ot to. Will Alex and Conner be able to create the wishing spell and return home? Read this book to find out!
        • xeta
          xetaMonday, July 8, 2019 at 2:49 pm55 stars
          This book was wonderfully and hilariously told. The characters were wacky, whimsical, humorous and unforgettable. I was introduced to classic mythology through this series and I've learned so much from it. I've read the first book more times than I can remember. And I find myself laughing every single time. ;) ~Xeta <3
          • wolfchildren
            wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:13 pm55 stars
            9 year old: Percy Jackson is the best book series I've ever read on my own, and Annabeth is my favorite character. 12 year old: Greatest book series ever. I've read all the Rick Riordan books, and it started with these.
            • noahmrich
              noahmrichSunday, June 23, 2019 at 7:08 pm22 stars
              This book is about a boy named Percy Jackson who is the son of Poseidon and is blamed with the offense of taking Zeus's lightning bolt.
              • galaxylemon13
                galaxylemon13Wednesday, June 19, 2019 at 8:23 pm55 stars
                I decided to read this book because all my friends were reading it, so I decided to try the series. Guess what, I LOVED IT! I hope you all read this series and love it just like I did.
                • lawalex
                  lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 6:45 am55 stars
                  In this start of the Percy Jackson saga, Percy finds out he is a demigod. At Camp Half-blood, Percy learns about his powers, his parents, and his enemies.
                  • fjfj
                    fjfjWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 11:55 am55 stars
                    This first book in the Percy Jackson series is a book for all readers, old and young. In this book, Percy gets sent to a camp called Camp Half-Blood, which means he's part god. But it doesn't start out that way.... Percy is at a boarding school with his best friend Grover. When Percy leaves due to an unfortunate incident, he notices that his friend was not who he thought he was.......
                    • kgautam
                      kgautamWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 10:50 am55 stars
                      when i first read this book, i did not really enjoy it. honestly, i liked the harry potter series better. but after rereading it years later, i fell in love with the characters and how great the story really is.