Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1081 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • gabbyhope117
    gabbyhope117Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 8:17 am55 stars
    I love Rick Riordan's books they are so fun, adventurous, exciting. He was smart to make all of his books like this. I will always read his book even when I grow up. He is a great author. Amazing job Rick Riordan!
    • ReeseWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 9:22 am
      Reese Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan published March 21, 2006. This book is about Greek myths and God’s children that they had with mortals. You will fall in love with the characters. The main character’s Name is Percy Jackson and he goes on fun filled adventures although he might not think their any fun at times. I loved this book because it is a long book that keeps me interested. It is at a 4th grade level. It would be a good book for people interested in greek myths and that like series with multiple books that keep you occupied for a long time.
      • jajycusode
        jajycusodeSunday, November 12, 2017 at 6:51 pm44 stars
        This book I read about a year ago while I was in third grade. It was really exciting and really made my imagination grow it talks about the Greek gods, heroes, and mystical beasts.
        • Deserves5starsWednesday, November 8, 2017 at 8:19 am
          This BOOK NEVER should get 5 STARS IT Deserves 1234567898765456545654321234567898765432123456789876543234567898765432345678987654321234567890987656656545678765434567898765432345678765432345678765432345678765433. BEST SERIES EVER!!!
          • puppycat132
            puppycat132Monday, November 6, 2017 at 8:18 am55 stars
            its amazing i loooooved it like omg
            • anajas1
              anajas1Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 11:38 am55 stars
              Such a great series by Rick Riordan, I love the Author. Percy is a heroic, moralized and brave charecter. If you are looking for something to read I would highly recomend this book!
              • TDOG555Saturday, November 4, 2017 at 9:31 am
                Is this a good book?
                • anajas1
                  anajas1Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 11:38 am55 stars
                  Yes! read my review above for more details...
                • bostonboyz
                  bostonboyzThursday, November 2, 2017 at 2:43 pm55 stars
                  i love it read it so many times
                  • etaylor308
                    etaylor308Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:42 am55 starsFeatured
                    I LOVE this book. My favorite series is percy jackson. I am just amazed at how good rick riordan can make these books. I started reading this earlier this year, and now I am on the third book of the second series, The Heroes Of Olympus. I definitely recommend this book- well, series, to anyone who likes fiction. I love how the author can help you learn a ton about Greek and Roman mythology while having a ton of excitement. He squeezes a whole lot of awesomeness for the readers in there.
                    • kking522
                      kking522Tuesday, October 24, 2017 at 6:21 am55 stars
                      An awesome book i'm nuts about about this book and the rest of them

                      More TopicsView in 3D