Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1060 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • captaindeadpool
    captaindeadpoolMonday, September 18, 2017 at 4:19 pm55 stars
    I love ❤️ this book so much😱😘👍
    • captaindeadpool
      captaindeadpoolMonday, September 18, 2017 at 4:04 pm55 stars
      I loved this book it's full of fighting and a little mystery.its my #2 out of my top 5 favorite books my 1st favorite book is the 2nd book in this series.
      • book-4-life
        book-4-lifeFriday, September 15, 2017 at 11:45 am55 stars
        After finishing this book I could not wait to read the next book. I used to have this obsession with greek gods and since I loved the gods this was the perfect book series for me.
        • cat-niss
          cat-nissFriday, September 1, 2017 at 9:59 am
          I luv this book!
          • xxjudahjjxx
            xxjudahjjxxFriday, August 25, 2017 at 6:00 pm
            I luv adventure books!
            • beast2323
              beast2323Friday, August 25, 2017 at 2:53 pm44 stars
              I like how this book includes adventure and suspense. It also adds a historical element with Greek mythology. This was a fun adventure story that kept me at the edge of my seat!
              • 30057
                30057Friday, August 25, 2017 at 2:41 pm55 stars
                Percy Jackson and the lightning thief is one of the best books I've ever read. It's about this boy named Percy that goes to a camp called Camp Half-Blood he is the son of Poseidon. If he lives in the outside world he would attract monsters. His best friend's name is Grover that is a satyr that Percy soon realizes when he goes to Camp Half-Blood. He meets a girl named Annebeth and becomes her friend. Percy, Grover, and Annebeth go on a quest to retrieve the lightning bolt and give it back to Zeus by the summer solstice. They have to face evil monsters such as the hydra and Medusa. He was given 3 blue pearls by a nereid saying they are gifts from his father. They allow you to go anywhere when you step on them. Percy and his friends go to the underworld to get the lightning bolt from Hades. They realize that he didn't steal the lightning bolt and it was Ares and it was in his shield. Ares also stole Hades helm. Hades thought that Percy stole it. They returned the helm to Hades and the lightning bolt to Zeus. When he goes back to Camp Half-Blood, he gets betrayed by a friend, like the Oracle stated. That friend was Luke that tried to kill him. When Luke gets defeated the summer is over and he returns home to his mom. Another adventure awaits next year. This was a really interesting book and I recommend people to read it.
                • ijalauhn
                  ijalauhnTuesday, August 22, 2017 at 2:26 pm
                  love it
                  • ijalauhn
                    ijalauhnTuesday, August 22, 2017 at 2:27 pm
                    i think that it is on point
                  • obsidianmirror5
                    obsidianmirror5Saturday, August 19, 2017 at 1:36 pm55 stars
                    I love this book and totally recommend it! I f you love magic, mythology, and thriller all rolled into one big dough, then this secret recipe is for you. With a hint spice, this book comes to life. Go on a thrilling ride with Percy and his friends as they try to return something valuable for the gods.
                    • georgiasilver
                      georgiasilverWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 4:51 pm
                      A well written, intriguing story, the Lightning Thief perfectly captures the way to start off a long and worthy adventure of young Perseus Jackson and his life. It can be read over and over again, and entertain just as many times.