Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1267 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • sarah maloneMonday, September 17, 2018 at 8:54 am
    love greek myths so mush
    • sarah maloneMonday, September 17, 2018 at 8:53 am
      love it
      • suchomimus
        suchomimusThursday, September 13, 2018 at 2:03 am55 stars
        This book has inspired me to start writing my own novel. Thanks Rick!
        • Kara O’MalleyFriday, August 31, 2018 at 6:57 pm
          Percy is an awesome person. Everyday, since I’ve read this series, I aspire to be more like Percy Jackson. I have even gotten two of my friends to ready this book, and they’ve loved it and ton onto read the next book, and then the next one. These books are addicting. Seriously, you’ll want to keep reading them over and over again. If you’ve finished this series, I recommend Heroes of Olympus, and then when you finish that, I suggest The Trials of Apollo, then Magnus Chase, and Kane Chronicles. They’re all so good!
          • slytherinfan
            slytherinfanWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 1:00 pm55 stars
            INSANE!!! This book is full of wit and humor. Percy Jackson is a kid with dyslexia and keeps getting kicked out of schools. He has never met his father before, and his mom is really poor. Percy soon finds out that Greek mythology is real, and his father is..duh duh duhhhhh!!!!! POSEIDON!!
            • scanWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 7:56 am
              I loved it SO MUCH it was good. and it is so much action in it. Its and is good.
              • fossilfury
                fossilfuryTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 8:32 pm55 stars
                AMazing book, it is one of my favorites. It adds th perfect amount of suspense and action, it leaves the reader satisfied . I love Rick Riordan!
                • goals
                  goalsMonday, August 27, 2018 at 11:19 am55 stars
                  I loved reading the book that started the Percy Jackson series! Percy is a relatable kid who ends up being an extraordinary hero. In this book,he discovers who he is and who he can become. It is funny, action-packed, and Percy himself is a loveable character. I would definitely recommend it.
                  • thescholar
                    thescholarSunday, August 26, 2018 at 4:45 am55 stars
                    WARNING IF YOUR READ THIS IT WILL HAVE SPOILERS:I like this book because the main person is half human and half god and this book he finds out that his real father is poisiden .
                    • dolphin8
                      dolphin8Saturday, August 25, 2018 at 7:31 pm44 stars
                      i think the percy jackson books are so cool. i like to watch the movies after i read the books, my mom says i have to read the book before i watch the movie because books are better. i rely like when he rides on water animals i wish i could do that

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins