Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1194 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • penguin313
    penguin313Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 6:42 pm55 stars
    After being attacked by monsters and watching his mother be killed by one, Percy knows he is special. He discovers that he is descended from a Greek God, and lives in a camp of other demigods. Percy's parentage cause him to be blamed for being the thief of Zeus's lightning.
    • bailey2005
      bailey2005Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 9:29 am55 stars
      This is such a good book! I think Rick Riordan is such a great author. I love the plot, and the characters are amazing! I recommend it to everyone!
      • tessa2007
        tessa2007Friday, May 18, 2018 at 8:11 am
        this is a good book
        • kwamilover
          kwamiloverThursday, May 17, 2018 at 4:42 pm55 stars
          t readd it
          • ipotter1
            ipotter1Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 11:03 am
            EEE!!!!!! This is my FAVORITE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! I was shocked when percy was claimed. If the rest of the books are this good I will have to get every last one for my self !!!
            • JasonGraceThursday, May 17, 2018 at 8:39 am
              amazing book
              • lovebug101
                lovebug101Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 7:13 am55 stars
                Percy Jackson is like a half blood but he doesn't know it until he was 12. His dad is poseidon. Percy isn't supposed to be alive. I recommend this book to people that like action.
                • 3009215
                  3009215Wednesday, May 16, 2018 at 5:45 pm44 starsFeatured
                  Rick Riordan starts his thrilling Percy Jackson Series with this book! Percy Jackson, a juvenile delinquent who has ADHD and dyslexia has a strange life. Trouble follows him like flies follow the scent of food. When a fury reveals itself as Percy's pre-algebra, he starts to suspect his true identity. When the minotaur follows him and his mother to there cabin in Mountauk when they are on vacation. Grover Underwood, Percy's best friend, now reveals that he is his protector and a satyr! When everything that was right seems wrong, and everything he has known is gone, he finds that his father is the god Poseidon, and the gods are real! I recommend this book series to kids 7 and up because of the humor and action. I wouldn't recommend any lower than that because some parts are a little scary. I give it four stars not because it is a bad book, because it is four stars compared to other books in the series, like the titan's curse.
                  • ritlerbx
                    ritlerbxWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 8:32 am55 stars
                    I have read the entire first series in three days it's that good it kept me on the edge
                    • ravenclawella
                      ravenclawellaTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 6:48 pm55 stars
                      My older brother had me read this and it was good like he said it would be. It was very mystical. I can't wait to read the other books in this series.