The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1045 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • alicat52
    alicat52Monday, July 24, 2017 at 7:26 pm22 stars
    I gave this book 2 stars because i found it weird and confusing. I read this book in school I didn't understand half of it. I watched the movie same thing. I don't like this book but if you are a fantasy ,fiction ,or Mythology fan you would like this book.
    • mariner
      marinerSunday, July 23, 2017 at 9:23 pm44 stars
      This is the first Percy Jackson book and I enjoyed getting to know him and all about half-bloods and Greek Gods. Percy is a half-blood because his father is a God. Percy somehow becomes the prime suspect in a crime - someone stole Zeus' lightening bolt. The adventures in the book are about him and his friends and how they get Zeus' lightning bolt back.
      • lovetolearn
        lovetolearnSunday, July 23, 2017 at 12:11 am55 stars
        This is the first book in a series that teaches so much about Greek and eventually Roman mythology. In the Lighting Thief Percy, Annabeth, and their friend Grover go on a quest to fulfill a prophecy and recover Zeus's lost master lightning bolt before a war breaks out. This book is packed with action, but also shows how dangerous misunderstandings in families, espcially godly ones, can be.
        • casgirl
          casgirlFriday, July 21, 2017 at 1:45 pm44 stars
          it was the first book by by Rick Riordon that i ever read, i really enjoyed reading this book. my favorite part is the scene in the bathroom fight where the toilets Explode. this is an exciting book in which Percy Jackson get thrown in to a world of gods, monsters, and adventurer.
          • momoko12
            momoko12Wednesday, July 19, 2017 at 10:59 pm
            This is one of my new favorite books. it has everything you could ever want action, adventure and the perfect mixture of funny and quirky. Percy Jackson enters a whole new world that he never knew existed when he finds out the he's a demi god, half human half Greek god. this is a perfect book for anyone to read.
            • luna83281
              luna83281Tuesday, July 18, 2017 at 9:17 pm44 stars
              i liked the book.i did not even know about percy jackson until i stumbled upon this book in the local library when i was there.i loved it and i loved the characters.but i am sorta neutral when i comes to Annabeth.i hate her most of the time but i have those rare times where i like her.other then that this book got an A- from me.it is a must read book if you are a myth buff.heck this book turned me into a myth buff.
              • lilibelle
                lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:25 pm55 stars
                The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordon was one of my favorites. This book ties Greek mythology to modern times, making this series not only entertaining but also helping to educate you on the basics of mythology. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves mythology or adventurous book series.
                • howlergirl
                  howlergirlSunday, July 16, 2017 at 7:44 pm55 stars
                  For anyone who knows about the Greek Gods, I totally recommend this book! This book had a movie made out of it, and its about 12 year old Percy Jackson and his friends Grover and Annabeth. In this book Percy and his friends go through a series of adventures which includes meeting several Demigods and Greek Gods. In the end they complete a task of returning a stolen lightning bolt to Zeus and Percy finally meets his father, Poseidon.I have to say I completely loved this book and I think I'm going to continue the series onto the second book.
                  • kate123
                    kate123Sunday, July 16, 2017 at 12:15 pm
                    this book is very awsome!
                    • gavinv
                      gavinvSunday, July 16, 2017 at 12:15 pm
                      I am 8 and loved this book. I have read it three times and love learning about Greek mythology