Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 2 - 8Y4.130820

Felix, a Jewish boy in Poland in 1942, is hiding from the Nazis in a Catholic orphanage. The only problem is that he doesn't know anything about the war, and thinks he's only in the orphanage while his parents travel and try to salvage their bookselling business. And when he thinks his parents are in danger, Felix sets off to warn them--straight into the heart of Nazi-occupied Poland. To Felix, everything is a story: Why did he get a whole carrot in his soup? It must be sign that his parents are coming to get him. Why are the Nazis burning books? They must be foreign librarians sent to clean out the orphanage's outdated library. But as Felix's journey gets increasingly dangerous, he begins to see horrors that not even stories can explain.
Despite his grim suroundings, Felix never loses hope. Morris Gleitzman takes a painful subject and expertly turns it into a story filled with love, friendship, and even humor.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on March 19, 2013 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312653042
ISBN-13: 9780312653040
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • HazzaWazzaWednesday, July 3, 2019 at 3:35 pm
    Once is an amazing story. It’s sad, funny, heartbreaking and gives you a different perspective of life. It makes you think about how fortunate we all are now. It’s about a boy named Felix whose parents sent him off to an orphanage when the nazis came. Now, Jewish people have the same rights as other cultures and religions. I have also read then, and now. I absolutely can’t wait for when my mum gets me the next one. She calls me a bookworm, but I reckon it’s just because Morris Gleitzman and a few other authors are the only kind of books I read. (Especially Morris Gleitzman!) I reccomend this nook for ages 9 and over. I would reccomend it for younger but I think it would scare some younger children. I completely reccomend for you to read this book and then get into the whole series afterwards. But let me promise you one thing. You will definitely cry and cry and cry! 😀
    • oofdoof
      oofdoofTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 12:24 am55 stars
      it made me happy and sad, the nazi soldiers seem really scary. I really hope my teacher gives me more time to read this!
      • ajg16
        ajg16Tuesday, January 8, 2019 at 7:44 pm
        Not at my library 🙁
        • bookstory13
          bookstory13Friday, January 11, 2019 at 6:21 pm
          Mine either! I looked for it because of @olliebob's review, but I couldn't find it!! I really wanted to read it!!!
        • gabriana77
          gabriana77Tuesday, December 18, 2018 at 12:51 pm
          I really want to read this book, i really liked the book theif and thought this might be similar.
          • olliebob
            olliebobSaturday, December 15, 2018 at 9:27 am55 starsFeatured
            Once is a heartbreaking, beautiful story about a young, innocent Jewish boy named Felix. Before WWII began, his parents hid him in a catholic orphanage where the nuns kept his secret. After four years at the orphanage, Felix is sure that he's received a message. He believes that his parents want him to come and find them. So he sneaks out of the orphanage and finds his old house above his parent's bookstore. But his parents are no longer there. As he walks around trying to find his parents, he learns more about the war, who the Nazis are, and meets a little girl named Zelda whose parents were killed. This is an innocent, childlike account of WWII. I would recommend this book to 6th grade and older, seeing as it is about one of the most terrible wars in history. It is sad, scary, and sweet, and you will definitely cry your eyes out!
            • MunicornWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 9:34 pm
              I finished this book in 2 days, and it was so amazing! It was sad to me about how innocent the boy's thoughts were that just made me so engaged in it
              • KarenpopoMonday, August 20, 2018 at 9:15 am
                It was really nice book. I cried so much. Also I like there are 7 books. I'm going to keep reading until I finished all !!
                • pink123456789
                  pink123456789Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 7:24 am
                  hi, I just wanted to point out that once is one of seven books.
                  • pinkWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 7:14 am
                    I would just like to say there are SEVEN books in this series instead of three.
                    • BananaMonday, May 28, 2018 at 12:08 am
                      I think the book once is good but it is not for me ok bye.