Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 2 - 8Y4.130820

Felix, a Jewish boy in Poland in 1942, is hiding from the Nazis in a Catholic orphanage. The only problem is that he doesn't know anything about the war, and thinks he's only in the orphanage while his parents travel and try to salvage their bookselling business. And when he thinks his parents are in danger, Felix sets off to warn them--straight into the heart of Nazi-occupied Poland. To Felix, everything is a story: Why did he get a whole carrot in his soup? It must be sign that his parents are coming to get him. Why are the Nazis burning books? They must be foreign librarians sent to clean out the orphanage's outdated library. But as Felix's journey gets increasingly dangerous, he begins to see horrors that not even stories can explain.
Despite his grim suroundings, Felix never loses hope. Morris Gleitzman takes a painful subject and expertly turns it into a story filled with love, friendship, and even humor.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on March 19, 2013 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312653042
ISBN-13: 9780312653040
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • MunicornWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 9:34 pm
    I finished this book in 2 days, and it was so amazing! It was sad to me about how innocent the boy's thoughts were that just made me so engaged in it
    • KarenpopoMonday, August 20, 2018 at 9:15 am
      It was really nice book. I cried so much. Also I like there are 7 books. I'm going to keep reading until I finished all !!
      • pink123456789
        pink123456789Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 7:24 am
        hi, I just wanted to point out that once is one of seven books.
        • pinkWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 7:14 am
          I would just like to say there are SEVEN books in this series instead of three.
          • BananaMonday, May 28, 2018 at 12:08 am
            I think the book once is good but it is not for me ok bye.
            • cobalt
              cobaltWednesday, September 7, 2016 at 4:31 pm
              I think this book is awesome and I think more kids should read books like this.
              • im_envy
                im_envyThursday, August 25, 2016 at 5:10 pm55 stars
                legendary book, need to read
                • guddu
                  gudduSunday, February 21, 2016 at 4:39 am
                  It is kind of sad and mysterious which is about an orphan who suffers in WW2 and makes friend with a 6 year girl called Zelda who also becomes an orphan. It is a very nice book if you want to read but try not to CRY!!!
                  • darshao
                    darshaoThursday, October 8, 2015 at 4:45 pm55 stars
                    read the series it is the best
                    • CharlotteSunday, August 30, 2015 at 7:31 pm
                      Best book ever

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins