A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. And a strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children", an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children who once lived here - one of whom was his own grandfather - were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a desolate island for good reason. And somehow - impossible though it seems - they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children" will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Paperback, 392 pages
Published on August 2, 2016 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594749027
ISBN-13: 9781594749025
99 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • naya1718
    naya1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 3:40 pm
    I have seen the movie and the movie is very attention grabbing. I want to read this book next.
    • allbla1718
      allbla1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 2:54 pm55 stars
      i love that book so much adventure
      • kiapro1718
        kiapro1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 11:21 am55 stars
        i liked this book review so much, i want this to be my next book to read!
        • 26throwatantrum
          26throwatantrumWednesday, August 16, 2017 at 6:42 am
          I have not read it but I kinda want to want to watch the movie
          • kiapro1718
            kiapro1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 11:36 am55 stars
            I havnt read the book either but the movie is really good.
          • bookworm2005
            bookworm2005Tuesday, August 15, 2017 at 1:20 pm44 stars
            It was full of peculiarity!!! well its a book must for teens and its fabulous. filled with all the exciting things,from adventure to friendship i just got to know this book from my sis,the life of jacob portman of twists and turn,is a must to read
            • mybooksandi
              mybooksandiFriday, July 21, 2017 at 2:38 am
              Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children, let's TRY to do this. Okay, so before I start, I must confess a sin. It's the most horrible thing that a reviewer, and reader in general could do... I watched the movie BEFORE I read the novel. *Someone in audience faints* Okay, so when I picked up this book, I based the entire thing off of the movie. While I forgot that movie directors take the whole thing apart and rewrite important stuff. What I am trying to say is, it had a Hollywood ending. I am here to talk about the book, not the movie. So, it starts with Jake Portman. Jake had a great POV. I thought it was entertaining and fun. This book has ALOT of plot twists so I am not gonna get in the details. The ups (of the book)- I loved the characters. I really liked the villains of this book. They were actually what Lana calls "Creepy Good". I ADORE the setting and if you already read the book you'd know why. The DOWNS- Nothing. Now, Now... THE MISTAKES OF THE MOVIE.. ( I am kinda mixing a book review with a movie review so ENJOY!) -The Love Interest -The Names -Only focused on like four Peculiars. -The "Best Friend" -How The Climax Goes So anyway, 4.5 stars for the novel. And 4 stars for the movie!
              • itsyeboi
                itsyeboiThursday, May 18, 2017 at 10:28 am
                This is 100% my most favorite book ever by far! The movie does a great job of putting together the book, but the book is definitely way better than the movie. The book is way more detailed and I think it does a better job of explaining the story. And the pictures combined with the story makes it just that much better! The book did have it's creepy parts but overall, I think it was an amazing book! I hope this review helped you on this book and I hope you read it!
                • cobrazeus10
                  cobrazeus10Saturday, May 13, 2017 at 1:01 pm44 stars
                  This book is awesome! I read some reviews that said it had a horror element to it, so i started reading thinking I wasn't going to like it that much. I was so wrong! I it was an amazing book,and one of my favorites. It does include pictures that give the book a creepier feel to it, especially if you look at them before you read the book. Overall I think it was a great book!
                  • fantomsky26
                    fantomsky26Wednesday, May 10, 2017 at 5:53 pm55 stars
                    I love this book!!!! It was a little creepy but it was amazing. I love the way the author gives the story a very mysterious and creepy ring to it. It is soon good!
                    • e06
                      e06Sunday, April 2, 2017 at 10:15 amFeatured
                      This book is an amazing book, hard to put down. (DISCLAIMER: SPOILER ALERT). It is about a boy named Jacob who wants to be an explorer when he grows up, his grandfather always encouraged him. His grandfather also shared some very strange stories about girls who could fly, a boy who had bees living inside of him, etc. Soon Jacob started to stop believing in his grandfathers stories. It was until his Grandpa Abe said his last few words, Jacob started believing again and traveled to Whales. He finds Miss.Peregrines home and more troubles await him there............. The wights want control over the powers steal miss.Peregrine. But then the peculiar children save her. The only problem is that Miss.Peregrine cannot turn into a human, so she is stuck as a bird......................