Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z5.784898

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. And a strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children", an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children who once lived here - one of whom was his own grandfather - were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a desolate island for good reason. And somehow - impossible though it seems - they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children" will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Paperback, 392 pages
Published on August 2, 2016 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594749027
ISBN-13: 9781594749025
164 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • callie_b
    callie_bWednesday, October 31, 2018 at 5:22 am55 starsFeatured
    This book is the perfect pick for anyone who likes slightly-spooky mysteries with amazing endings. I completely and totally loved this book. After receiving it from a Dogo freebie last year, I've read it at least 5 times because it was so amazing. Jacob follows his grandfather's mysterious last words to go to a loop, with a bird, September 3rd, 1940. He soon finds himself on the small island of Cairnholm, in which he tracks down the big children's home his grandfather had sought refuge in during World War II. Jacob finds the place wrecked and crumbling, until he finds a trunk filled to the brim with the fantastically eery photographs his grandfather had shown him of his children's home friends, who all had a peculiar ability. Jacob had always thought they were fairy tales... until he stumbles through a cairn bog and finds himself in September 3rd, 1940. All the kids from the photographs are there. And they all have peculiar abilities, like levitation, super strength, futuristic dreams... Is Jacob one of them? Jacob goes through a spectacular journey to figure out what happened to his grandfather, who these children are and why they are still alive, and ultimately, how to find himself. In this amazing book, you will meet unforgettable characters and stories that will make you race to find the sequel. This is one of my favorite books, and I'm sure you will enjoy it too. Because of the occasional spookiness and language, I recommend this book for ages 12 and up.
    • goals
      goalsMonday, August 27, 2018 at 11:24 am44 stars
      I loved the Miss Peregrinne's movie, so when I saw this as a book for summer reading I knew I had to read it! While I liked the movie better overall, the book is great too! The book has a creepier and darker element to it. I couldn't put it down!!
      • nasuada
        nasuadaSunday, August 19, 2018 at 6:30 am55 starsFeatured
        I didn't think I'd like this book as much as I did. This isn't really my genre. After the mysterious death of his grandfather, Jacob travels to a remote island in Wales to convince himself that he imagined what he saw that night. Instead of just a decrepit old house, he discovers a colony of "peculiars", a subspecies of humans. In addition to the amazing plot, I think this book was exceptionally well-written.
        • kathead
          katheadSunday, August 12, 2018 at 8:52 pm55 stars
          This is a book unlike any other that I've read. The author uses old photographs that he just found an incorporates them into the book and gets a lot of his characters from these mysterious photo's. I think the storyline is amazing as well and everyone should have the chance to read it.
          • catsarecool
            catsarecoolWednesday, August 8, 2018 at 8:26 pm
            I like the book way better then the movie it is more interesting. I still love the movie though. But please read the book first if you guys read it.
            • ajg15
              ajg15Tuesday, August 7, 2018 at 11:07 am55 stars
              16 year old Jacob travels to an island off the coast of wales soon after his grandfather's hear shattering death. Jacob explores a long abandoned house that was mentioned in his grandfather's last words. It soon becomes clear that his grandfather very well could have been a peculiar child early on in his life. Jacob learns that Miss Peregrine is very much alive as well as the children (in a loop) - 70 years later - not ages one bit. This book contains fairly creepy pictures/people I would recommend this book for 13 and up because it does have had words and is mildly scary. Thanks for reading - Ajg15's Reviews
              • tyclev2009
                tyclev2009Monday, August 6, 2018 at 2:03 pm55 stars
                I loved this book! It was actually kind of scary, with the monsters. I read the whole trilogy in like a week because I couldn't put it down. The pictures are real too, and they make the whole book more interesting. I can't wait for the next book to come out!
                • pizzagirl7
                  pizzagirl7Friday, August 3, 2018 at 2:02 pm55 stars
                  Miss peregrines home for peculiar children ////I love this book it was amazing also to me the pictures in it where all very creepy (haha) this is about some weird pictures and what happens with them you have to go figure that out I love Emma and her awesome fire power and Jacobs grandpa's awesome back story I would recommend it to 12 to 18 year olds it was a very good book and I loved it and so will you I rate it 5,starsπŸ˜‚ 😝 😊 😁 πŸ˜… πŸ˜† πŸ˜„ πŸ˜ƒ ☺ 😍 😘 πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‡
                  • armcginn
                    armcginnFriday, August 3, 2018 at 8:59 am55 stars
                    This magnificent book by Ransom Riggs is the first of the series Mrs. Peregrines home for peculiar children series, i just finished this book and cant wait to read the second book!
                    • natureboy
                      natureboyThursday, July 19, 2018 at 6:36 am55 stars
                      This book was full of surprises. There was just enough intense parts and sweet parts.I could barely put it down for dinner. I highly recommend this book!

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins