Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z5.784898

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. And a strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children", an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children who once lived here - one of whom was his own grandfather - were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a desolate island for good reason. And somehow - impossible though it seems - they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children" will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Paperback, 392 pages
Published on August 2, 2016 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594749027
ISBN-13: 9781594749025
130 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • kc17
    kc17Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 2:02 pm
    This book is very good. In the movie they tried to base it off the book but they kept out some key pieces. I love how the author used a lot of craft. This book is well written. I would give this book a five out of five. I have enjoyed this book. The main characters face a lot of trouble and adventures in this book. It is not to hard to follow. I would reccommend this book to someone who is in fifth grade and higher. I love this book.
    • kana
      kanaMonday, May 21, 2018 at 9:13 am55 stars
      While rather dark, it is a very interesting story with mysteries and unique characters. The series is incredible. While I wouldn't recommend it for elementary students or younger students, it is a great read for an older audience.
      • penguin313
        penguin313Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 6:35 pm55 stars
        In this dark, gripping tale, a boy witnesses his grandfather's death at the hands of a beastly monster, but his family and friends label him delusional. After visiting the ruins of the orphanage where his grandfather grew up with peculiar children, he discovers a hidden world with wonders and mysteries.
        • bailey2005
          bailey2005Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 9:35 am55 stars
          This is literally one of the most amazing books! And the farther you get into the series, the better it is, which is really shocking as most books aren't like that! I had to stop reading it at night it was so scary and good! But I still love it!
          • heghog
            heghogSaturday, May 19, 2018 at 9:24 am
            i really did not care for this book because the beginning was very very boring and it took a while for it to get interesting.
            • carlsonclan4jc
              carlsonclan4jcThursday, May 17, 2018 at 11:47 am44 stars
              I found this book scary for kids in elementary age. It is more of a junior high and high school book. Those who like horror books will enjoy this book. A lot of the characters in this book have special "powers" which are unique and different. Miss Peregrine rescues those kids who are unique and raise them in her Home for Peculiar Children. The author really got creative with all the "powers" that the children have
              • lillyratgirl
                lillyratgirlWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 5:41 am33 stars
                I got given this book when I was still in elementary school and found it to be overly scary for that age group. Monsters no one can see, a doctor who wants to kill you, kids stuck in time, a teacher who's a bird. all this is the stuff of nightmares.
                • lillyratgirl
                  lillyratgirlWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 5:15 am33 stars
                  only for readers that can stand some horror.
                  • ravenclawella
                    ravenclawellaTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 6:45 pm44 stars
                    This book was fun to read. I like all the characters in it who had different abilities. Jake's grandfather influences him alot and I think overall this was a special book.
                    • waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 2:33 pm33 stars
                      I started reading this book a couple of years ago, and it just failed to truly captivate my attention. I don't know if it is just to fairy tale for my liking, but something about this book left me wanting more.