Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 3 The Ship of the Dead

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grade 6n/a5.1101274
Magnus Chase, a once-homeless teen, is a resident of the Hotel Valhalla and one of Odin's chosen warriors. As the son of Frey, the god of summer, fertility, and health, Magnus isn't naturally inclined to fighting. But he has strong and steadfast friends, including Hearthstone the elf, Blitzen the dwarf, and Samirah the Valkyrie, and together they have achieved brave deeds, such as defeating Fenris Wolf and battling giants for Thor's hammer, Mjolnir. Now Magnus faces his most dangerous trial yet. His cousin, Annabeth, recruits her boyfriend, Percy Jackson, to give Magnus some pointers, but will his training be enough? Loki is free from his chains. He's readying Naglfar, the Ship of the Dead, complete with a host of giants and zombies, to sail against the Asgardian gods and begin the final battle of Ragnarok. It's up to Magnus and his friends to stop him, but to do so they will have to sail across the oceans of Midgard, Jotunheim, and Niflheim in a desperate race to reach Naglfar before it's ready to sail. Along the way, they will face angry sea gods, hostile giants, and an evil fire-breathing dragon. Magnus's biggest challenge will be facing his own inner demons. Does he have what it takes to outwit the wily trickster god?

Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on October 3, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423160932
ISBN-13: 9781423160939
63 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • koalacloud
    koalacloudWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 10:45 am55 stars
    Magnus Chase has to save the world...again. I like the hints and clues along the way. I was surprised with how it ended the first time I read it. It's a great book.
    • xx6figuresxx
      xx6figuresxxFriday, June 14, 2019 at 9:52 am55 stars
      This is the third book of my favorite series read it a million times. The best book of the series and just a beautiful book my favorite book of all time.
      • watercolrwonder
        watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 6:54 am44 stars
        If you're a fan of Percy Jackson, you'll love these books! They have all the same humor of Percy Jackson, but Magnus Chase is a whole new character. These books have lots of diverse players that anyone will like.
        • YungsavagThursday, May 16, 2019 at 12:53 pm
          wish there was another book
          • katherina_8268
            katherina_8268Friday, April 5, 2019 at 4:05 pm55 stars
            It's an AMAZING book, and I totally recommend it! Although, I suggest reading the first series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and reading the first few books, Magnus Chase: The Sword of Summer, and Magnus Chase: The Hammer of Thor. Rick Riordan MUST write a sequel to this. My OTP is still INCOMPLETE!
            • Valeena.J Wednesday, April 3, 2019 at 10:43 am
              I give you 10 stars
              • sadiekane
                sadiekaneTuesday, April 2, 2019 at 10:47 am55 stars
                SO GOOD I luv this book
                • READ THIS BOOK!Saturday, February 9, 2019 at 8:58 pm
                  I just have to say it. I LOVE THIS SERIES!!! Why? Well, because of the book's action and romance ( I say "romance" because of you know *wink *wink that was just cringe) But anyways, this book is packed with excitement that you just want to keep reading. When you finish book three you gonna be like "THERE HAS TO BE MORE THAN THIS" believe me that is what I thought. Cut Uncle Rick some slack. If you do finish this cool, full of action, love, and last but not least GOOD book go and read "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" and "Hero's of Olympus" and "The Trials of Apollo". (those are three amazing books)
                  • freckleface04
                    freckleface04Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 8:08 am44 stars
                    i love this book so much it is awesome i know i say that a lot but it is always true so it is thrilling and amazing
                    • superthor
                      superthorMonday, December 3, 2018 at 7:49 pm55 starsFeatured
                      What's up my fans? (If you don't believe me that I have "fans", Check out my account. Although I think I have fans because of my blue hair and eyes. Maybe.) Now if you haven't read this book, where have you been? this exiting series of Magnus Chase is blowing my mind right now! This book is literally my favorite book in the series. (I like this book because it has action and swords. Don't judge me i'm a swordsman🤨) If you don't like the book then you are missing out the action like we were trying to search for you but we coudn't find you because you were in a void of eternal darkness. But not in real life. Just a comment.😁 but just if you want to read this series you will and I mean it you will be pleased and mind-blown. read it!!!