Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 3 - 6n/a5.1111544
Thor's hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon--the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn't just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can't retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer's return is the gods' worst enemy, Loki--and the price he wants is very high.
Paperback, 496 pages
Published on April 3, 2018 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423163389
ISBN-13: 9781423163381
39 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bean_boy
    bean_boyThursday, April 12, 2018 at 4:13 pm55 starsFeatured
    This masterpiece is written by Rick Riordan, the king of mythology writing. Unlike most of his books which are Greek mythology, this series Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard is Norse (Vikings). I found it really unique that Mr.Riordan is writing Norse because it's something that took most of his readers (including me) by surprise. The Hammer of Thor is filled with laughs, action, and little tidbits from Norse mythology which makes learning about it fun, is (in my opinion) better than Book 1. The one thing that blew me away was how Mr.Riordan incorporated his characters (Percy and Annabeth) from other books into his newest instalment of books, something I think is really hard and amazing. My friends described this book as "litty" but I call it a masterpiece (one of Riordan's best books yet) and is beautifully written. I do suggest reading the first book and of course reading the third book after #2. I recommend this for ages 9+ and die-hard Rick Riordan fans and give it 5 stars. HAPPY READINGS!!!!!!!!!!!!! Your fellow bookworm, bean_boy
    • UnknownTuesday, April 10, 2018 at 5:37 pm
      Its pretty good and follows up to the sword of summer. Read that first to understand what truly is happening here. + Emotional depth (WOAH)
      • J. G.Monday, March 12, 2018 at 3:02 pm
        I felt like it was a very good novel with a strong story, and was overall very well written.
        • mineturtles11
          mineturtles11Sunday, February 4, 2018 at 3:00 pm55 stars
          Why why don't ask me why everyone knows why!
          • willb2026
            willb2026Monday, January 22, 2018 at 2:46 pm55 stars
            totally awesome, follows up from the first book, The Sword of Summer, and a new character. and some action packed action.
            • meThursday, January 18, 2018 at 2:44 pm
              I read the first book but I cant get this book.
              • suchomimus
                suchomimusWednesday, January 17, 2018 at 3:21 am55 stars
                A thrilling addition to the Magnus Chase adventure, all of Magnus' friends search for the missing hammer of Thor. In doing so, they gatecrash a party and let loose someone very evil...
                • grapefruit
                  grapefruitSaturday, December 30, 2017 at 12:32 am55 stars
                  In the second Magnus Chase adventure, Magnus is back and Thor's hammer, Mjorlin, is STILL missing. With his new pals- the ambitious and daring Samirah al-Abbas,the elf Hearthstone,the dwarf Blitzen, smart and sly Mallory Keen, brave T.J.,silly Halfborn, and the new girl\boy: transgender Alex Fierro. They have to defeat giants and gods with the help of a flirty sword that sings pop music, which isn't helping, and save the world before it's too late! A good read! Percy Jackson fans must get!
                  • UnknownMonday, November 13, 2017 at 7:07 pm
                    That book series is amazing
                    • Sierra Wednesday, October 4, 2017 at 2:51 pm
                      I am. I am. I am . I am x 1,000

                      More TopicsView in 3D