Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.8118701
Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers.
One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on April 4, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423163370
ISBN-13: 9781423163374
109 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • waterlily1255
    waterlily1255Friday, May 18, 2018 at 6:48 pm44 stars
    Magnus Chase is such an incredible book solely because it attracts so much attention from other people. It is fiction, but powerful in many ways at the same time.
    • kc17
      kc17Friday, May 18, 2018 at 1:50 pm11 star
      I would not rate this book to anyone. This book is horrible. My brain wonders out of the book. The author does not use any cliff hangers or anything. You would like this book if you like mythology. I hate mythology. This book does not hold me interested at all. This book is boring. I mean there are parts that are interesting but most of it is just boring. If you do not read the Percy Jackson series then you will not know the characters.
      • ipotter1
        ipotter1Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 7:03 pm55 stars
        I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can not wait to see what magnus and his friends do next!!!!!!!! I ment need to get the whole servers for my self!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        • JasonGraceThursday, May 17, 2018 at 8:43 am
          greatest rick riordan book yet why isnt there a movie.but there is lots of cliffhangers
          • lillyratgirl
            lillyratgirlWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 5:17 am55 stars
            good book. like how it's challenging stereotypes.
            • 3009215
              3009215Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 2:06 pm55 starsFeatured
              Rick Riordan kicks off his new book series with his first book of The Gods of Asgard Series! Magnus Chase, a homeless teenager who became when his mother Natalie died, soon discovers his other parent; his father is the god Frey! He also learns that his two best friends, Hearthstone and Blitzen are an elf (Hearth), and a dwarf (Blitz). As his world gets turns upside down, his Uncle Randolph suddenly appears, saying that there family had attracted the gods for many generations. He wants Magnus to find the sword that he has lost his family for while searching. While on a bridge to fetch the sword from the Boston Harbor, a fire giant attacks, killing Magnus right after Magnus finds Sumbrander, the sword (aka Jack). Samirah, a Valkyrie, takes him to Valhalla, the land of deceased heroes, where he is told he wasn't meant to die, but cannot go back to the living because he has already seen Valhalla. As the story continues, Magnus and his friends are put on quest to stop Fenris Wolf from breaking his chains and starting Ragnarok. Riordan uses humor to smooth out all of parts that might be scary for some readers making it the perfect read! I rate this book 5 stars because it is the perfect blend of funny, scary, and , of course, mythology!
              • applemango
                applemangoSaturday, May 12, 2018 at 10:20 am55 stars
                This book leaves many trails and figures of plots and this book has a lot of emotion such as a beautiful moment of joy or a sad moment mixed with anger. That's why this book inspires me so much!!!
                • casgirl
                  casgirlFriday, May 11, 2018 at 11:53 am55 stars
                  This is the first book in Rick Riordan's new series 'Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard', I know that you're all excited for it. OK, so here it is 'Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard' in 'The Sword of Summer' . It starts out with Magnus Chase ( well yeah ) is a teenager living on the streets, his mother killed by mythical gray wolfs and his father he never new. I know, I know you already feel kind of sorry for him, but it gets better from here on. He finds out that his father is a Norse god, so than all sorts of craziness happens. And one thing leads to another in till he and a new group of friends have to stop the End of World( literally ). Now I won't tell it all because I know you're going to go read it now, Enjoy.
                  • flicker
                    flickerThursday, May 10, 2018 at 6:56 pm55 stars
                    This is an amazing book. If you are looking for a good interesting book that is popular, involves mythology and is un put down able, this is the book fot you.
                    • evil_manga_dude
                      evil_manga_dudeWednesday, May 9, 2018 at 11:04 am55 stars
                      They eat cool stuff and its really cool and the genre is fanticy. It is a garbanzo bean book. Do or donut.