Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Book 1 The Sword of Summer

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.8118701

"Thorndike Press Large Print The Literacy Bridge"--Copyright page.

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on April 4, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423163370
ISBN-13: 9781423163374
72 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • lilibelle
    lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:23 pm33 stars
    Rick Riordon has written another fascinating book series about polytheistic mythology. While being an enjoyable read, due to the fact that I have already read (and enjoyed) the Percy Jackson book series, I feel as if this novel is very (if not too) similar to the Percy Jackson books.
    • kgautam
      kgautamMonday, July 17, 2017 at 1:27 pm55 stars
      Another one of Rick Riordan's great accomplishments! Meet magnus chase; Smart-ish. Funny. And dead. Not really. Follow Magnus and his journey through Norse Mythology! ( Plus Magnus is related to Annabeth Chase from PJO and HOO)
      • rainkit309
        rainkit309Tuesday, July 4, 2017 at 2:29 pm55 stars
        This is such a great start to a book series. It was so cool find out that Annabeth has a cousin that is tangled up with another branch of gods. It also hints there might be a giant crossover book with a lot of different gods from different cultures, that is something I'd really want to read.
        • casgirl
          casgirlSunday, July 2, 2017 at 3:39 pm33 stars
          i was so excited about rick riordan's new book series, but i was a little disappointed. the physical book was almost to long. and the story line was almost exactly the same as his other series. mom dies, dads a god, has to go on a big quest to save the world.i just thought it was kind of disappointing.
          • lilibelle
            lilibelleTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 3:05 pm33 stars
            Rick Riordon has written another fascinating book series about polytheistic mythology. While being an enjoyable read, due to the fact that I have already read (and enjoyed) the Percy Jackson book series, I feel as if this novel is very (if not too) similar to the Percy Jackson books.
            • mermaid21
              mermaid21Monday, June 26, 2017 at 10:34 am55 stars
              The Magnus Chase series is by far my favorite of his series. With a whole new set of interesting and slightly crazy yet still lovable set of characters, it is a truly wonderful series.
              • mybooksandi
                mybooksandiThursday, June 15, 2017 at 7:39 am55 stars
                Wow, another AMAZING Rick Riordan series. Magnus Chase; The sword of summer was a book that I LOVED. I loved the setting, the characters and the whole Norse Mythology thing. Magnus was awesome, Sam was absolutely fantastic. This book exceeded my expectations, because well, nothing beats Percy Jackson, but this novel came pretty darn close. In all, I loved this novel so much!
                • mybooksandi
                  mybooksandiTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 9:07 am55 stars
                  Wow, another AMAZING Rick Riordan series. Magnus Chase; The sword of summer was a book that I LOVED. I loved the setting, the characters and the whole Norse Mythology thing. Magnus was awesome, Sam was absolutely fantastic. This book exceeded my expectations, because well, nothing beats Percy Jackson, but this novel came pretty darn close. In all, I loved this novel so much!
                  • annette
                    annetteSaturday, June 10, 2017 at 7:40 pm44 stars
                    I thought it was a nice change to use Norse mythology instead of the usual greek and roman like in the authors more popular and well know books (Percy Jackson) . It was a very good idea and it was very fascinating.
                    • cobrazeus10
                      cobrazeus10Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 1:36 pm33 stars
                      This book is a little different from Riordan's other books. for one thing it covers Norse mythology instead of Greek or Roman. It was a little odd, but it was still written in Riordan's classic style of humor.