Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.8118701
Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers.
One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on April 4, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423163370
ISBN-13: 9781423163374
128 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • midnightluna
    midnightlunaWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 4:22 pm55 stars
    Another great start to another great series by Rick Riordan! You'll find this series hilarious with new characters, (with a few crossovers as well) and more problems that can only be solved by the power of sass!
    • happy_cat
      happy_catWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 7:56 am44 stars
      Wow! This is a really cool book- Magnus is the son of a God - I won’t say which one, but let me say it’s a really...um....interesting God. Magnus thought his real parents were the ones who told him to run away from his house. This book is by Rick Riordan, who is very well known for his books about Greek Gods and Godesses, and also the amazing 39 Clues! Lemme just say - if you love Greek Gods and Godesses, Mystery, Adventure, you absolutely have to read it!
      • eybook2018
        eybook2018Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 3:14 pm33 stars
        Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Book 1 The Sword of Summer is a book like Percy Jackson but even better. It has mystery and its intense to read and I like to read this book over and over again.
        • 30057
          30057Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 8:11 am
          Since I was little I was always so into Greece and Greek Mythology. I have always had the urge to read this series but I never thought that it was interesting. However, one day, I decided to read one book from Percy Jackson and it just blew my mind. There was magic, action, adventure, mystery right out of one book. Each quest in the story was more better than the last. Since then one of my most favorite authors is Rick Riordan. The second you read one book, you can't keep it down. These fascinating novels are the best books I have ever read. I can't wait to read Magnus Chase!
          • kingkitty2005
            kingkitty2005Tuesday, July 3, 2018 at 3:59 pm55 stars
            This first book in the Magnus Chase series is an excellent addition to the list of great books Rick Riordan has written. This book is about a homeless orphan named Magnus Chase that learns about his godly family line on the Norse side and eventually ends up in Valhalla with his birthright, the Sword of Summer (aka Jack.)
            • ajg15
              ajg15Monday, July 2, 2018 at 2:55 pm55 starsFeatured
              Magnus Chase has been homeless for the last two years. His mom was killed two years ago by a wolf....and no one believes him. Except now his uncle Randolph shows up saying Magnus is the son of the Norse God Frey. Ok now skip ahead, Magnus dies. No that's not the end, he is now at the Hotel Valhalla, where einherja live. He was taken there by a valkyrie Samirah (sam). Skip ahead- Now magnus, sam, and his homeless pals aka Blitzen a Dwarf with a fashion sense and Hearth a elf (or alf) who is also deaf, go on a crazy adventure to stop *ragnarok* , along the way Magnus gets the sword of summer who is really cool cause he talks and goes by the name jack, Blitzen is in a Dwarf building competition, there's even magic! This is an absolutely amazing book you will literally not want to move until every last page is read! *random- the day of room or judgement, when brave einherjar will join Odin against Loki & the giants in the battle at the end of the world. -ajg15
              • belle252
                belle252Friday, June 29, 2018 at 9:29 pm44 stars
                Usually Books by rick aren't my favorite but this book was amazing it was about the gods of these pretty good place, this is an amazing piece of fantasy
                • momoko12
                  momoko12Monday, June 25, 2018 at 11:45 pm55 starsFeatured
                  If you loved Percy Jackson you'll love this book, I think it's suited for slightly older readers It's for Riordan fans that have been reading the books form the very beginning so if your younger and just starting out I suggest reading the Percy Jackson book first and then the heroes of Olympus series before you start this. But if you already read all of those and are wondering if Magnus Chase is as good then don't worry Magnus is just as funny and wonderful, Annabeth even makes an appearance in this book. It's about Norse mythology this time so It's a little bit different and a lot of the Norse words are difficult to pronounce but there is a glossary and a pronunciation guide in the back of the book which I found to be very helpful and I highly suggest using it to get the most out of your reading experience. overall I really enjoyed this book.
                  • snicker9
                    snicker9Saturday, June 23, 2018 at 12:06 am44 starsFeatured
                    Mangus Chase: The Sword of Summer was as equally entertaining and well-spun as Riordan's other series. He puts a modern twist on Asgardian gods, adding to the collection of his Greek, Roman, and Egyptian series. This time though, Riordan took a fresh new spin. For one, the POV was a mix of first person and second person, which really drew me into the story. Another thing that was really awesome was that within the first few chapters Magnus Chase, the main character, dies! And yet his story continues in an amazing way, as he realizes he needs to go on a quest to avoid Ragnarok (which is the end of the Asgardian worlds). But it was such a unique way to tell Magnus's story, and I love how Riordan gives us a new perspective on the regular structure of an adventure story. I recommend this book to middle grade and young adult age groups, especially those who enjoy adventure stories in the modern world, and to those who enjoy Riordan's other books. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
                    • turtlenicole
                      turtlenicoleWednesday, June 27, 2018 at 5:08 am55 stars
                      amazing review!
                    • heghog
                      heghogTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 5:44 pm55 stars
                      this series is truely fantastic! it is very good and at the same time educational. i recomoned this book to anyone who wants a good read

                      More TopicsView in 3D