Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.8118701
Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers.
One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on April 4, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423163370
ISBN-13: 9781423163374
139 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • alloutSAVAGETuesday, September 4, 2018 at 9:58 am
    boi this is that stuff you need daily
    • cx9_gamer
      cx9_gamerMonday, September 3, 2018 at 4:14 pm55 stars
      I wanted to read this book because my librarian recommended this book. When I read it, the Sword of Summer was full of hilarious sarcastic humor and was very interesting. It was a bout how Magnus Chase died and was sent to a place full of heroic people who died. He goes on a mission with his new friends and finds out many surprises along the way. I loved it from start to finish and think others should read.
      • fossilfury
        fossilfuryWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 2:30 pm33 stars
        This book is ok. There is some stuff in here that I do not like. If you like adventure stories, and can not find anything else, this is okay.
        • fossilfury
          fossilfuryTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 3:08 pm33 stars
          This was an okay book. If you like Rick Riordan, I would say you could read it and like it.
          • ilikebunnies
            ilikebunniesMonday, August 20, 2018 at 9:52 am44 stars
            This is a good book and I like all of the action and how the author comes up with this exciting story about the gods of Asgard.
            • esquay
              esquayFriday, August 10, 2018 at 5:19 pm55 stars
              I love Magnus and Jack(mostly Jack)! Everybody should read at least 1 Rick Riordan book in their life! You should leave your device,stop reading my report and get the book! Huh? Why are you still here? Get going already!
              • jwarne
                jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:35 am55 stars
                Okay, these are my new favorite books. I can't wait to keep reading them. I love how the gods are different than I've seen them before. They have really developed characters and the adventure kept me interested during the entire book.
                • jso6
                  jso6Wednesday, August 1, 2018 at 12:08 pm55 stars
                  Magnus Chase is the son of a Norse God. The Viking Gods are preparing for war. Magnus lives alone in the streets of Boston, avoiding Police men and Truant officers, and then he meets an uncle he barley knows. This was a really good book, and I would recommend it to anyone who reads the Percy Jackson series.
                  • demigod3000
                    demigod3000Thursday, July 26, 2018 at 9:43 am55 stars
                    If you are a Percy Jackson fan, which I am, you will love this book series. Instead of a spin off of Greek mythology, it is a spin off of Norse mythology-so all the vikings and stuff like that. It is about homeless Magnus Chase, and he dies fighting this fire monster guy, so he is taken to Hotel Valhalla - a place for heroes that died in battle, waiting for the final battle of the world - Ragnarok. During his time at Hotel Valhalla he goes on all kinds of quests to suspend Ragnarok.
                    • spykitten
                      spykittenTuesday, July 24, 2018 at 5:22 pm55 stars
                      Magnus Chase And The Gods Of Asgard book 1: The Sword Of summer is yet another of Rick Riordan's amazing novels. It is about a boy named Magnus Chase who is wanted by someone unknown. The book is a bit long, to be aware. I recommend this book.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins