Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 3 - 10Q5.3n/a

Based on the real-life adventures of Laura Ingalls Wilder, Little House in the Big Woods is the first book in the award-winning Little House series, which has captivated generations of readers. This edition features the classic black-and-white artwork from Garth Williams.

Little House in the Big Woods takes place in 1871 and introduces us to four-year-old Laura, who lives in a log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. She shares the cabin with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their lovable dog, Jack.

Pioneer life isn’t easy for the Ingalls family, since they must grow or catch all their own food as they get ready for the cold winter. But they make the best of every tough situation. They celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do their spring planting, bring in the harvest in the fall, and make their first trip into town. And every night, safe and warm in their little house, the sound of Pa’s fiddle lulls Laura and her sisters into sleep.

The nine books in the timeless Little House series tell the story of Laura’s real childhood as an American pioneer, and are cherished by readers of all generations. They offer a unique glimpse into life on the American frontier, and tell the heartwarming, unforgettable story of a loving family.

Paperback, 74 pages
Published on June 6, 2017 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN-10: 1547162023
ISBN-13: 9781547162024
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • reader2009
    reader2009Sunday, July 21, 2019 at 8:47 pm55 stars
    This was a great book and it described Laura's life extremely well. I highly recommend this book as well as the other books in the series.
    • oreppert
      oreppertFriday, June 28, 2019 at 7:16 am55 stars
      It's about a girl named Laura and about what she did in the big woods. She is 5. I like Jack the bulldog.
      • theofficegirl
        theofficegirlMonday, May 13, 2019 at 8:57 am55 stars
        it is the best book in history
        • sissybear
          sissybearSaturday, March 30, 2019 at 9:53 am55 stars
          This one is in the series Laura Ingalls Wilder wrote and it is so good. I love the whole series and I'm still reading the series. This book was a really good one!
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 2:23 pm55 stars
            It just isn't possible for me to be objective about the Little House books. They were THE go to books for me as a child, and the comfort books as a teenager. This one is certainly written at a younger level, but I still loved reading about all of the work it took to run a farm
            • abb125
              abb125Monday, April 30, 2018 at 5:05 am55 stars
              I am not finished with this book yet. So far I really like it. Please follow me and I will follow you.
              • Read my opinionTuesday, January 9, 2018 at 3:07 pm
                If you are wondering how I rate this book, I give it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️. It does not have interesting word choice, but the books are interesting enough to read. My favorite part is when they make butter and turn it into a pretty yellow and when they smoke the meat.
                • animal_lover549
                  animal_lover549Tuesday, July 25, 2017 at 8:57 pm55 stars
                  This is such a good book!! It's by one of my favorite authors: Laura Ingalls Wilder writes book when she was a child and adult. This book is really good again. it has lots of adventure also I would like to say thanks to whoever gave me the editors choice
                  • alwaysdream
                    alwaysdreamSunday, July 16, 2017 at 2:18 am55 stars
                    Reading the Little House books in third grade had sparked my love for history, reading, and historical fiction books. They're great books, I'd recommend them to anyone!
                    • ajg16
                      ajg16Monday, July 10, 2017 at 11:39 am55 stars
                      I haven't read this book in a little while but it is such a great series. My maw maw (grandma) got it for me on my 7th birthday and I've loved the series ever since! 5/5🌟