Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 1 - 5n/a4.875464
A New York Times bestseller!

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths - until the day June's brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family's survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias's death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.
Paperback, 160 pages
Published on April 21, 2015 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399171894
ISBN-13: 9780399171895
55 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ilovereading24
    ilovereading24Monday, April 2, 2018 at 8:11 am55 stars
    Such a great read! Marie Lu brings her characters to life. Young readers really want to continue to read to find out what happens with Day and June. The characters are well rounded. Her writing provides the alternate viewpoints and insights into the characters.
    • noFriday, February 2, 2018 at 6:33 am
      this is not the real book the real one is so much better
      • meadowlark12
        meadowlark12Monday, January 8, 2018 at 12:22 pm55 starsFeatured
        Set in the future in America, this book is a suspenseful story about a well-known criminal, Day, and a military prodigy, June. Day is framed with the death of a high ranking official, Metias, who happens to be June's brother. June is the only kid to get a perfect score on her Trial, a test every ten year old is supposed to take. A high-ranking official like her brother, she is assigned the task of trying to capture Day so he can be executed. But as June goes undercover and meets Day, she discovers his true intentions. He doesn't want to harm people, but he has to in order to find a cure for his brother, Eden. As June searches for more evidence on Metias's death, she discovers the truth hidden from her, revealed by a hidden entry Metias wrote. This book is altogether gut-wrenching and full of betrayals and peril.
        • mewborngal
          mewborngalSunday, September 3, 2017 at 11:12 am55 stars
          I think you should read this book. Well, the whole series. I loved all of them and i think anybody who loves action will to.
          • nerdynerdynerd
            nerdynerdynerdWednesday, April 19, 2017 at 1:53 pm55 starsFeatured
            When Day and June met on the street, they really just wanted to get away from each other. Day is just a street criminal living with Tess, a girl who was kicked out of her own home from lack of food. June is a perfect Test scorer with a 1500. June's brother, Metias, had just died...but who killed him? Nobody knew. Day, June, and Tess run together on the streets. June is desperate to solve her brother's murder, which was blamed on Day-but as she learns more about Day, she realizes that it couldn't have been this kindhearted boy, even if he was a criminal. This dystopian novel is full of great surprises and I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Across the Universe, The Hunger Games, Divergent, or Horizon. It was a great book about two polar opposites who were pulled together by love, tragedy, and hope.
            • twilightrose
              twilightroseMonday, August 22, 2016 at 5:50 pm
              The phrase opposites attract is put to the limit in this series. Day, a wanted criminal and famous thief and June, Republic goody-two-shoes and perfect scorer learn to put their faith in something neither have considered before, each other. With June being the cause of Day's distress and him the cause of her's, How will this pair ever survive together? This book is not for the weak of heart or faint of stomach. 5 stars I absolutely loved it.
              • ramison
                ramisonTuesday, March 8, 2016 at 8:51 am
                Have you ever wondered what it would be like to live on the streets? Being a thief and robber, fighting to survive and have the military out to catch you? Nowhere to live, nobody to trust, your on your own. This happens in Legend by Marie Lu. This is an amazing book where Day fights to survive to help his family while the military tries to catch him. In the story, Day is a runaway child that has been fighting to survive. He failed a test when he was ten and had to be killed but he escaped before they killed him. Day is out robbing for not just himself but for Tess and his family. Tess is a twelve year old girl that is very experienced with medical related things. She helps Day and makes sure he is okay whenever he finishes robbing anything. Day found Tess on the streets and Tess joined him. While the military is out to get Day, a girl named June Iparis is also out to get him. She works for Commander Jameson, the head of the military and she is out to get Day for one reason, revenge. When Day was attempting to rob a hospital for medicine, Day had done something to June's brother Metias. June is out to hunt for Day while he is fighting to survive and hide in the shadows. I really enjoyed this book for the suspense that was put into by the author. You would always want to turn the page and see what happens next because you never know. In other books, you can usually guess what will happen next but the author did such a good job of making creative parts to the book that you would never expect. This book is related to Swindle because of the suspense and how you would always want to turn the page. Both main characters in the book are getting revenge on somebody while somebody is out to stop them. Marie Lu is young adult writer and she is most known for her Legend series. She is a dystopian writer set in the future involving military. She has written Prodigy and Champion, the series for Legend. She has also just started a new series called The Young Elites. A person that would enjoy this book is somebody that is okay with violence. This book includes lots of mystery behind every character and lots of suspense. A boy or girl would enjoy this book.
                • papa56
                  papa56Tuesday, March 1, 2016 at 3:40 pm55 stars
                  This is my all time favorite book!! I love it so much and I'm reading Prodigy and it is just as good!! 10/10
                  • JonnyboyTuesday, January 26, 2016 at 5:25 pm
                    I loved everything about this book. My favorite book :-), made by Marie Lu
                    • angelay
                      angelayThursday, October 22, 2015 at 5:26 am55 starsFeatured
                      LEGEND is brilliant! I remember seeing this book everywhere but I just put it off until I visited the library this afternoon. It's a mix between the Hunger Games and Divergent, basically, and it's about a boy and a girl that meet under the strangest circumstances. June is from the Ruby Sector, and she basically has her whole life laid ahead of her since she's a prodigy and a rich person, while Day, from the Lake Sector, is a Wanted criminal. Everything about the book drew me in, from the lovable characters to the action packed plot. I can't wait to read the second book, Prodigy. I especially liked how the author made up the system, with all the rich people in the rich Sectors and the poorer people in the worse sectors, kind of like the Hunger games (Districts 1-12 and the Capitol). Totally recommend it to Hunger games fans.

                      More TopicsView in 3D