The first book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories about two siblings who fall into a fairy-tale world!
Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.

The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on July 2, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316201561
ISBN-13: 9780316201568
203 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • FlashxxFlashWednesday, December 6, 2017 at 6:08 pm
    This book is amazing! It's about a set of twins, Alex and Conner, who accidentally fall into a book and find themselves in the magical world of The Land Of Stories. They need to find a way to get out of the book, so they venture out to complete The Wishing Spell. They face The Evil Queen, who also tries to capture the ingredients in a more greedy way. Soon, they find out someone they are really close to actually is part of the fairytale world! Join Alex and Conner on their journey by reading this book. 5 stars, always.
    • MINECRAFTER 23Thursday, November 30, 2017 at 4:19 pm
      My teacher reads the class this story! ( Why is there captain underpants in this background?! )
      • lunarstar
        lunarstarThursday, November 30, 2017 at 3:50 pm44 stars
        I think this is the best one but that is me
        • tori3ghoul
          tori3ghoulWednesday, November 29, 2017 at 12:13 pm55 stars
          This one is either my second or third favorite of the series; I can't decide. We see how it all began with twins, Alex and Conner Bailey. Besides the fairytale world, I enjoyed Alex's perspective on Cinderella's tale. In that same chapter, they celebrate their twelfth birthday. Their grandma rocks!
          • Mary SwigerWednesday, November 29, 2017 at 10:05 am
            I have just finished the series and just loved every one of them. These books are not just for younger readers....I am a retired person and really loved the twists and turns that the fairy tale characters take compared to the original stories. Loved it!
            • animals44Monday, November 27, 2017 at 10:37 am
              This book is AMAZING!! I fell in love with it after the first page.
              • pretzel101
                pretzel101Saturday, October 14, 2017 at 5:46 am55 stars
                My cousin told me about this and I remember the thing she told me: THIS BOOK IS ASWOME!!! But to add-on to that I like how there's a map on the first page. I also like how on the map it has Snow White's footage, Cinderella's castle, and I lot more. I think I am going to bye this book but just from my cousin's explanation I am rating it.
                • WhitneyFriday, October 13, 2017 at 6:24 pm
                  I love love love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The book is awesome!!!!!!!!
                  • xevididyba
                    xevididybaWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:01 am55 stars
                    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! Its about two twins ,Conner and Alex, that received a fairy-tale book for their birthday, and one day after they got back from school, and THEY FELL INTO THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MIND BLOWN1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if you want to find out more about this outstanding adventure read The Land of Stories The Wishing Spell !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • bluemoonlight
                      bluemoonlightTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 4:46 pm55 stars
                      Awesome!