Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U5.098248
The first book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories about two siblings who fall into a fairy-tale world!
Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.

The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on July 2, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316201561
ISBN-13: 9780316201568
279 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jaden07
    jaden07Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 8:16 pm55 stars
    This series is just AWEMAZING, COOL AWSOME, GREAT and so many other words i want to say. It’s about a twist on the fairy tales. It’s real and it’s in another world, the Bailey twin will discover. Please honestly read this there’s even another series about this coming and possible a movie !
    • YAYSaturday, July 27, 2019 at 11:35 am
      This book is the best book ever I have a lot of trouble finding books that I will actually read so this was soooooo amazing JUST READ IT!!!!
      • DreamerThursday, June 6, 2019 at 10:10 am
        MY FAVORITE BOOK EVER!!! READ THIS!!!
        • b_boo62
          b_boo62Friday, May 17, 2019 at 4:39 am55 stars
          It is a really good book.Many chapters to load in on the story and get the details of the action packed adventure to see what's going on.The adventure is amazing so I recommend this book.
          • Stella StarSunday, April 21, 2019 at 6:49 pm
            I think it's very good.I am on book 4 and i think i want to read all of them at once.I think it made me love reading books.And OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!it 's so,so,so good.🤩💁‍♀️💗💗💖💖It rocks🤟💞😍🤨
            • Wonder Woman Sunday, April 21, 2019 at 2:03 pm
              I loved this book!!!! I am already starting the 2nd book. I would rate this 100/10!!!!! It is so funny and adventurous!!!!! OMG, OMG, OMG!!!!!!!! This book made me cry, rip my hair out, laugh, and put me at the edge of my seat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Read this book if you haven't already, I promise you'll LOVE❤ it!!!!!!!!😀
              • bookstory13
                bookstory13Monday, April 15, 2019 at 6:42 pm55 stars
                Literally guys the rating is FIVE WHOLE STARS! Just READ IT!!
                • HarrypotterfanFriday, April 12, 2019 at 9:18 pm
                  oh my god this is such a good book I love it so much at adventure.
                  • sprinklebooks
                    sprinklebooksSunday, April 7, 2019 at 9:37 am55 stars
                    This book was so magical and enchanting, I have read the whole series and the whole story pulls you in! So get stretch your legs and go to the bookstore!!! You won’t regret it.
                    • bookstory13
                      bookstory13Wednesday, April 3, 2019 at 2:34 pm55 starsFeatured
                      STOP WHAT YOU'RE DOING AND GO TO THE LIBRARY! The Land of Stories is an INCREDIBLE tale about twins Alex and Conner! They accidentally fall into a book...but it turns out it was just a portal and all of the fairy tale characters are REAL! Be amused by Red's vain attitude, Trollbella's undying love for Conner, and Conner's sarcastic attitude! Feel the sympathy for Alex's school troubles, the twins' long-gone father, and Froggy's horrible curse! Anxiously flip the pages to discover dangerous quest to find the items for the spell that can bring them home! And fall in love with the fairies, kingdoms, and characters! You might think you're too old for bedtime stories, but no one's too old for THIS fairy tale!