Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.5139047
Dark schemes unfold—and Sophie’s loyalty is pushed to the limit—in this thrilling fifth book in the bestselling Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

Sophie Foster is back in the Lost Cities—but the Lost Cities have changed. The threat of war hangs heavy over her glittering world, and the Neverseen are wreaking havoc.

The lines between friend and enemy have blurred, and Sophie is unsure whom to trust. But when she’s warned that the people she loves most will be the next victims, she knows she has to act.

A mysterious symbol could be the key—if only she knew how to translate it. Every new clue seems to lead deeper into her world’s underbelly and the Black Swan aren’t the only ones who have plans. The Neverseen have their own Initiative, and if Sophie doesn’t stop it, they might finally have the ultimate means to control her.
Paperback, 688 pages
Published on November 7, 2017 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481474960
ISBN-13: 9781481474962
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • carmen44
    carmen44Tuesday, April 17, 2018 at 8:02 am55 stars
    This is the best series EVER!!!!!!!!!!!
    • kwright3
      kwright3Sunday, December 31, 2017 at 10:55 am55 stars
      This is the best book I have ever read! I love it! It is definitely a page turner and is very hooking. I can't wait until the book 7 comes out! If I could rate this book it would have a billion stars!😍😂
      • bookfangirl2006
        bookfangirl2006Friday, December 29, 2017 at 12:53 pm55 stars
        SO GOOD! This book has plot twists, action, adventure, friendship plus romance, so basically, what you would want in a book. Read the whole series! The only book better in the series is Nightfall (book 6). Also, Sophie+Keefe for life!!!!!!!!
        • midnightluna
          midnightlunaTuesday, December 26, 2017 at 12:57 pm55 stars
          This series just keeps getting better! As a sequel to Neverseen, the Elven world is in trouble and it's up to Sophie and her friends to stop the Neverseen from destroying the world, with help for the Black Swan.
          • sophiefoster
            sophiefosterSunday, December 3, 2017 at 8:31 pm55 starsFeatured
            Lodestar, the fifth book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series by Shannon Messenger, is another epic page-turning book. The fight with the Neverseen is still ongoing. Sophie Foster doesn't know who or what to trust. With her friend Keefe gone and life a blur, there is a possibility that the lost cities will never return normal again. But there is a new clue, and that clue may lead Sophie, her friends, and the Black Swan to the answer of the mess. It leads to dangers, risk-taking, and maybe even failure. But Sophie isn't going to let the Neverseen win. She isn't giving up without a fight. This book was so exciting for me because every chapter constantly left me in suspense. I also loved how Tam and Linh Song were introduced in this book. Just saying, this is from the #1 KOTLC fan.
            • Stariamoon259Wednesday, June 28, 2017 at 6:55 pm
              I absolutely love this series!
              • emmaplays2546
                emmaplays2546Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 9:19 am55 stars
                What?????? Does Sophie's sister remember Sophie?? If she did then did they even do the spell on them. Also where are the parents???
                • quiddichqueen
                  quiddichqueenMonday, February 20, 2017 at 4:02 pm
                  read them all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • cutieswirl
                    cutieswirlSaturday, December 3, 2016 at 7:08 am55 stars
                    Hi I am then BIGGEST KLC FAN EVER LODESTAR (BOOK 6) IS AMAZING
                    • cutieswirl
                      cutieswirlSaturday, December 3, 2016 at 7:05 am55 stars
                      Sophie Foster has found more power in her hands. She protects her friends from danger and maybe the whole Elvin World.