Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578

In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445947
ISBN-13: 9781442445949
164 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • keeperelfkk
    keeperelfkkThursday, May 21, 2020 at 11:30 am55 stars
    I think this book is like my favorite book in the series but I think it's awesome it's the best series ever, it's about 12 year old Sophie who is like way above her school level and can read minds she started being able to read minds when she was 5 and hit her head and one time on a school field trip she meets a mysterious boy named fitz and he tells her she is an elf and that he can read minds to but Sophie doesn't believe him so fitz showed Sophie their world and then she's like "Why am I an elf and what am I so-posed to do?" and "Why do I not know anything your showing to me? I have no idea what to do!" and then fitz tells her she has to do this test to see if she can go to this elf school called foxfire, and then she is like "Wait the school is named after a glowing fungus? that is funny!!!" and when she takes the test she meets three of the 12 Counselors: Counselor Orelie and i'm not sure if i'm spelling it right but that doesn't matter, Counselor Kenric, and Counselor Bronte. and she has to read Bronte's mind, but Bronte is an ancient and it is like impossible to read a ancient mind, and lift up like ten times her wight with, actually I forgot what, but you can lift things with your mind, and she did both but when she was lifting like three chairs, and one of the chairs had Bronte on it, she dropped the chairs including the one Bronte was siting on! but she past the test and thats all i'm going to tell you I don't want to spoil it.
    • toodorky
      toodorkySunday, May 17, 2020 at 1:42 pm55 stars
      I loved this book! Sophie is my favorite character in any book I have ever read that's fiction! She is a telepath, she's a child prodigy, she's powerful, she's Sophie Elizabeth Foster! Yeah, she can read minds, something no other human can do. She never belonged in any place, school and even home was a hard place to stay. One day a mysterious boy named Fitz finds Sophie and surprises her by taking her to a place never seen before Sophie's eyes. She realizes that she never really belonged in the human world. She belongs somewhere else, somewhere peaceful and strange.... Will Sophie survive in the Elvin world? Will she live a normal life? Of course not. People have been waiting for her for a long time. She has secrets in her head that elves want. Oh no......
      • bsc
        bscTuesday, May 12, 2020 at 9:27 am55 stars
        This book was AWESOME! Sophie Foster has never fit in with anyone. Maybe it's because she is a 12 year old high schooler or because she can read minds. Whatever it is, she just doesn't fit in. But that all changes when she meets Fitz, a mysterious boy that can also read minds. Her world is turned over and she meets some new friends, enemies, and learns some secrets. I give this book 5 stars.
        • bookfan2008
          bookfan2008Saturday, May 9, 2020 at 7:44 am
          I really want to read this! I'm gonna try to order it on amazon! It sounds so good and intresting!
          • blossomreader
            blossomreaderThursday, May 7, 2020 at 9:32 am55 stars
            This was the most amazing book I have ever read!!!! This book is about Sophie Foster, a telepath, which means she can read minds. She thinks she isn't the only one that can do that, and she never really fit in in school or even at her own house, but that all changes when she goes to the museum on a field trip and meets Fitz, a boy who can also read minds. According to him, THEY have been looking for Sophie for 12 years! Sophie doesn't believe him and feels uncomfortable so she runs away, but when Fitz catches up to her, she realizes that it's true. She is an elf. She doesn't belong in her hometown. Sophie takes a journey through confusion, battles, and other amazing stuff in this book! She is different from the other elves and doesn't make friends right away, but things can change, especially when people are trying to kill her. I loved this book so much!
            • bookfan2008
              bookfan2008Saturday, May 16, 2020 at 3:22 pm
              That's a great review blossom reader!
            • nac
              nacWednesday, May 6, 2020 at 1:35 pm55 stars
              Sophie Foster has always known that she doesn't belong- she's just never had any proof until now, when a mysterious boy named Fitz tells her that she's and elf, and shows her a world more beautiful that she could ever have imagined. But as Sophie settles into her new life, she realizes that not everything is as perfect as the elves think, or want, it to be. And Sophie has secrets in her mind, secrets some people will do anything to Get- Anything.
              • nightelf
                nightelfMonday, May 4, 2020 at 2:34 pm55 stars
                Sophie Foster wishes she was a regular girl. But being 6 years ahead in education? Not what she wanted. But once a mysterious boy named "Fitz" tells her that she's an elf, her whole world gets turned upside down. She finds that she belongs in a world far different than ours, and that she can read minds! But with all of these discoveries, there's a catch. There are people looking for Sophie, wanting to harm her. She has memories buried deep inside her mind, precious memories. Memories that people will kill for... Sophie goes on a majestic 8 book (so far) adventure filled with new friends, new enemies, new powers, and new places. Filled with humor, excitement, and friendship, Keeper of the Lost Cities is definitely a book you want to read.
                • reader43
                  reader43Monday, May 4, 2020 at 12:01 pm55 stars
                  Sophie Foster has a secret ability, she is a telepath! One day a boy named Fitz showed up and told her she was an elf! He eventually brought her to the lost cities, were she gets adopted and makes friends. Everything may seem perfect, but then something goes wrong, and Sophie must fix it. This is my favorite series , full of adventure and suspense! I would definitely suggest it! Note: Read the books in order!
                  • Emma😇Monday, May 4, 2020 at 8:22 am
                    Here's what I think:it is literally THE MOST AWESOME BOOK THE WORLD HAS EVER KNOWN.it was brilliant.BRILLIANT.I would recommend it for ages 10 to 13 year olds.
                    • audreyhfan
                      audreyhfanFriday, May 1, 2020 at 10:01 am55 stars
                      This book was great! So 12 year old Sophie has a secret power. She is a telepath and has been one since the mysterious day when she hit her head when she was five years old. She has never met anyone who understands her but that all changes the day she meets Fitz who tells and shows her who she really is and after that day her life completely changes as she moves into a very different world. But even there she is different and special in many ways but in one way in particular she has secrets buried deep in her brain that some people would do anything to learn. Maybe even kill. Join Sophie and her friends on many adventures where they must rely on each other and stay strong. I recommend this book for ages 8 and up.