Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578
In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.
Paperback, 512 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445947
ISBN-13: 9781442445949
53 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • eybook2018
    eybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 4:02 pm
    Keeper of the Lost Cities is a book that I recommend to older readers. It's a great book that I have read. I always read it more than 2 times.
    • rainshine116
      rainshine116Friday, June 15, 2018 at 12:45 pm55 starsFeatured
      "Keeper Of The Lost Cities" is a great book series! It is about a girl named Sophie Foster who is trying to learn secrets about her life. In the first book she learns that she is not human but that she is an elf. This is my favorite series that I have read so far. I like how Shannon Messenger leaves each book with a cliff hanger so you never know how the next book will start and how much time has gone by since whatever happened in the last book. I can't wait for the new book to be published in November!
      • readwriter
        readwriterWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 6:28 pm55 stars
        THIS WAS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can't wait to read the rest of them!!! I love everything about it! All of Shannon Messenger's books are super awesome!!!!!
        • rainshine116
          rainshine116Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 5:15 pm55 stars
          "Keeper Of The Lost Cities" is a great book series! It is about a girl named Sophie Foster who is trying to learn secrets about her life. In the first book she learns that she is not human but that she is an elf. This is my favorite series that I have read so far. I like how Shannon Messenger leaves each book with a cliff hanger so you never know how the next book will start and how much time has gone by since whatever happened in the last book. I can't wait for the new book to be published in November!
          • readingvalkyrie
            readingvalkyrieWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 6:11 pm55 stars
            This is my favorite book series of ALL TIME!!!!!!!! It's even better that Harry Potter. There's lots of action and each chapter ends with a cliffhanger. I hard time putting this book down. I've read all the book the in the series so far. I'm DYING for Shannon Messenger to publish the newest book in November. It's torture waiting each new book in the series to publish, so I end up rereading the others. The book has alicorns, dwarves, goblins, ogres, elves with special powers, and one smart girl leading the way. If you haven't read this yet, stop whatever you are doing immediately and pick up this book! It really is THAT good!!!!!!!!!!
            • annette
              annetteWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 6:30 am
              This book was extremely adventurous with a captivating storyline and creative characters. A 12-year-old human girl is telepathic, but she has kept this to herself until one day another telepathic boy reveals that she is NOT A HUMAN, BUT AN ELF!!!! He takes her from her human family and brings her to another world of elves, where she must learn the truth of who she is. There are other mystical creatures in the elf world, like dinosaurs, which I find so cool! Everyone should read this book since it is very well written.
              • anagkan
                anagkanMonday, May 28, 2018 at 4:02 pm55 stars
                The book "Keeper of the Lost Cities" is by far, one of the best fictional book I have ever read. The book dtarts with themain character discovering the she is an elf, an answer that explains a lot of her life, such as reading minds and being the smartest twleve-years old the world knows. She is taken to an elf city where she is accepted to its most prestigious school, Foxfire. As she is integrated into elvin society she is adopted by a couple who lost their first child in a fire. As she is eased into life as an elf, Sophie makes a few friends who help here adjust. During this time, she realizes that she was a creation of a group trying to change the Elvin world, the Black Swan. She tries to uncover the truth and what she finds is disturbing. I would reccomend this book to anyone who wants an exciting book.
                • rrwwnn
                  rrwwnnFriday, May 25, 2018 at 9:38 pm55 stars
                  Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit in. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really socialize with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is very different from what she has ever known.
                  • liberty14
                    liberty14Monday, May 21, 2018 at 5:38 am55 stars
                    An amazing book! You have awesome characters that you will really grow attached to, with both super fun and tear jerker moments. A great take on the world of elves and a beautiful start to the series.
                    • bailey2005
                      bailey2005Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 9:37 am55 stars
                      This is literally THE MOST amazing book EVER!!! The plot is AMAZING, it is SOO creative, and everything in it is literally perfect!!!! The characters are awesome, and it just is great overall! You HAVE to read it!

                      More TopicsView in 3D