Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578

In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445947
ISBN-13: 9781442445949
178 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ladyarwen
    ladyarwenMonday, September 14, 2020 at 4:13 pm11 star
    This book is just a poorly written mash-up of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Matched, and the Lord of the Rings. I did not enjoy it AT ALL.
    • bsc
      bscSaturday, September 12, 2020 at 12:45 pm55 stars
      I LOVE THIS BOOK!
      • instagram24
        instagram24Thursday, September 10, 2020 at 8:08 am55 stars
        she id so cool love it so much!!!
        • bsc
          bscSunday, September 6, 2020 at 7:54 am55 stars
          Sophie Foster isn't an ordinary 12 year old. Maybe it's because she's a senior in highschool and can read minds. But it all changes when she meets Fitz, a very cute boy. Her shows her a world where she belongs and her life changes like a snap. She has new guardians, new life, new rules to learn, and she has secrets hidden in her brain. I love this series SO much!
          • GuestSaturday, September 5, 2020 at 6:47 pm
            Keeper of the Lost Cities is overall an okay book. If you're looking for a fun reading adventure, this is an excellent choice. It has some humor, cool little details, and will most likely keep you entertained. If you're a normal hater of fantasy, don't worry, that won't be a problem. However if you're planning to delve deeper into literature, this is NOT your book. There's many obvious problems for that: First of all, it's not very creative. The plot itself, for the first book at least, is very similiar to the Harry Potter series. The setting and many details were based off of other books, including The Lord of The Rings. Second, the character's don't have much personality. Sophie Foster is basically just nice and brave. She barely thinks at all. If you observe her thoughts more closely, you'll see that her reactions are very plain and not very realistic. Third, the plot is very random. It's fine in the beginning, but further and further in, things no longer make sense. Unlike some other series, there will be no " oh, so that's why". You'll simply have to go with the flow. If you were planning to try this book, I hope my review was helpful. Thank you.
            • bluestar_wolf
              bluestar_wolfSaturday, September 12, 2020 at 9:11 am
              I agree. I know a lot of people love this series, but I think it could’ve been a little better. The series does get really good later on, though, so that’s why I continued reading it.
            • penguinpop
              penguinpopFriday, September 4, 2020 at 2:51 pm55 stars
              ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS IVE EVER READ!!!
              • kkgautamm
                kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 12:50 pm55 stars
                the beginning of this book had me hooked for years!! its fun and exciting, and the series gets better and better, although it does start to get very very long. i love fitz and dex and all of her new friends, i wish i could be an elf!
                • Best book everFriday, July 31, 2020 at 5:27 am
                  The keeper books are the best books I have ever read!😍. I would recommend reading them. Book number seven flashback is my favourite book!!
                  • annafantastic
                    annafantasticTuesday, July 28, 2020 at 1:40 am55 stars
                    WARNING SPOILERS!!: You think your ordinary but you are really an elf... yup that's Sophie Foster! She met a boy named Fitz and he told her she is an elf and has telepathic powers and photographic memories and can inflict she goes to the Lost Cities and goes to Firefox. She eventually goes to a cave and gets kidnapped by the Neverseen along with Dex her best friend. What happens to Sophie? Read the book to find out!!!
                    • squirrelflight
                      squirrelflightTuesday, July 21, 2020 at 10:15 am55 stars
                      Sophie Foster has one rule in her life; stay secret. Stay safe. Ever since she hit her head on the pavement at five years old, she has been hearing strange voices in her mind. Not just voices. Thoughts. Even her parents don’t know about this...and that’s why she must hide it. Sophie has always felt different, even among her own family—until she meets Fitz, a telepathic boy who claims to help her. He takes her to a seemingly perfect land called the Lost Cities, and tells her she belongs there. But how could she? Is Sophie human...or not? The answer is closer—and farther—than she thought. She soon finds out that she is an elf, disguised in the human world for the past twelve years. Settling into her new life is a bit better than expected. But not everyone is happy with her arrival. There are other people out there—people who would do anything to get their hands on her, to ruin her past...and future. Can Sophie face the secrets about her human life? Can she fight the evil that looms up ahead? Read this book to find out!
                      • iloveaudreylucy
                        iloveaudreylucySunday, September 6, 2020 at 8:24 am55 stars
                        That was an awesome review! I love this book too!