Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578

In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445947
ISBN-13: 9781442445949
96 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gamerwolfThursday, January 17, 2019 at 10:51 am
    FIVE STARS
    • gamerwolfThursday, January 17, 2019 at 10:50 am
      MY FAVORITE SERIES I WISH I COULD READ THE OTHER BOOKS
      • blueskygamer
        blueskygamerMonday, January 7, 2019 at 8:03 pm55 stars
        This book is a great read for children of all ages and features a good amount of drama and action balancing the two in a great sci fi novel. Even though I am not much of a reader, this book series attracted me and kept me reading all the books so far. I would DEFINITELY recommend this book to everyone. :)
        • Hayley Sunday, January 6, 2019 at 5:50 am
          I LOVE this book it was so awesome!! And I highly recommended it to all ages. It’s full of magic, adventure and awe. I can’t wait to read the next one!!!
          • HayleySunday, January 6, 2019 at 5:40 am
            I love this book!!!!!! It’s awesome!!! And as soon as I started reading it I could hooked. Shannon Messenger did an awesome job. If your a fan of fantasy adventure, or fans of Harry Potter I’m sure your love this book. Go check out!!!
            • callie_b
              callie_bMonday, December 31, 2018 at 10:13 am55 starsFeatured
              WOW. THIS BOOK WAS NOT WHAT I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. NOT AT ALL. But different is good, and this book definitely shows that. Ever since Sophie Foster hit her head when she was 5 years old, she has been hearing voices in her head. But not just any voices. People's THOUGHTS. And she has no idea why, and she'd never told anyone from fear of everyone thinking she was a freak. It doesn't help her case that she is so smart that she is in her senior year of high school at age 12. Sophie just doesn't feel like she belongs. Everything changes one day when a mysterious boy by the name of Fitz finds her at a museum field trip. Fitz is different to her though because she is the one person whose thoughts she cannot hear. She is even more confused when he tells her she isn't human. Sophie is like, uh, exCUSE ME?!? Fitz tells her she is an elf, but not the type humans have perceived elves to be. He says she is a Telepath, an elf who can read others' thoughts. He proceeds to take her to the world where elves live, and it just feels so right to Sophie that she believes what he is saying. As Sophie has to move to the elf land and leave her human life behind, she is sad, but knows it is the best decision for her. But there is still the running mystery about why she was in the human world, and who created her. Through a whirlwind of a new life, new friends, and new discoveries about her true life, (and everyone gawking at her brown eyes-- apparently all elves have blue eyes... except for Sophie), Sophie, for the first time, feels like she is home. This book was absolutely amazing!! I was sucked into the gripping story, and when I figured out that the series had 7 books (so far), I was so excited! I scrambled to get that second book hehehe! Shannon Messenger is an amazing author! I recommend this book to anyone who loves action, adventure, and fantasy! I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK FOR EVERYONE!!
              • bookstory13
                bookstory13Tuesday, January 1, 2019 at 10:27 am55 stars
                Great job on your book review, callie_b!!! It's amazing!!!
              • Cool dudeWednesday, December 26, 2018 at 6:06 pm
                soooooooooooooo cooooooooool
                • Cool dudeWednesday, December 26, 2018 at 5:55 pm
                  Book was awesome
                  • #BOOKWORMFriday, December 14, 2018 at 6:08 pm
                    This is the BEST series ever!!! Seriously it is.
                    • BookNerdThursday, December 13, 2018 at 5:27 pm
                      wow I mean wow, this book is the best sci fi book I have read in a long time. my friend suggested this book to me. I started reading it and it was so good I read on of the books in a week. me and my friend had a read off but I took all the books from him. so parents If you have a 5th grade child and they are really into sci fi let them read this.
                       
                       

                      Our Apps and Plugins