Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578
In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.
Paperback, 512 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445947
ISBN-13: 9781442445949
72 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • esquay
    esquayFriday, August 10, 2018 at 5:29 pm55 stars
    If you haven't read this series than you are my enemy.If you don't want to be my enemy than you have to read this series.All hail team Foster-Keefe!
    • jwarne
      jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 5:10 pm55 stars
      I thought it was cool that Sophie found out she had so many powers and was an elf, but I also thought it was sad that she had to leave her family to live with the elves. It's a good book, though, and it was really exciting.
      • ajg15
        ajg15Thursday, July 26, 2018 at 12:37 pm55 stars
        Sophie Foster is a 12 year old girl and she has a secret...she's a telepath. She's been keeping the secret since she was 5 years old – that all changes the day she meets Fitz. A boy who shows up out of nowhere and is also a telepath! She's always felt like she didn't belong in her family-friendly and she doesn't really, but she finds a place where she does and in order to protect her family she leaves. Sophie has secrets in her memory - that other people want desperately. This hey would even kill for them. I did what you should never do...I judged the cover and almost didn't read it. But! I was so wrong this book is amazing and I was so excited to find out there was more in the series. Anyways great read, thanks for reading -Ajg15's reviews
        • catface7312
          catface7312Tuesday, July 24, 2018 at 2:12 pm
          It's really surprising because the main character Sophie is 12, but in high school!! I love how she puts others first, like her family and friends. Sophie also experiences being a teenager for the first time, which leads to heartbreak, but she had three potential crushes. I really enjoyed this book and I definitely recommend it to middle schoolers/jr high.
          • esquay
            esquayFriday, August 10, 2018 at 5:32 pm55 stars
            sweet review.
          • soyster
            soysterFriday, July 20, 2018 at 2:47 pm55 stars
            This book was really addicting. It follows the story of a girl named Sophie Foster who lived with her human family. Her life typically normal until her life took a 180 degree turn when she found out that she's an elf. Sophie is dragged into a world filled with danger and magic as she tries to find a way to navigate through it all. This book kept me hooked until the very end, and made me really want to read the other books in this series. I would recommend this book to anyone out there who likes fiction.
            • hiyaworld14
              hiyaworld14Thursday, July 19, 2018 at 1:01 pm55 stars
              Before I read it I didn't think I would like it, but as soon as I finished the first chapter, I was hooked. I finished this book in a day and then reread it. I can't wait to get the next one. Sophie is probably relatable to the average 7th grade awkward girl, or maybe just any girl who feels like they don't fit in. 100/10, definitely would recommend.
              • jso6
                jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 3:14 pm55 stars
                Sophie is a twelve year old girl who is way higher of a grade than any other girl her age. The reason is because she can read minds. She wants to know her secrets, but they're dangerous. This was very interesting, and i would totally recommend it.
                • paintlover13
                  paintlover13Sunday, July 15, 2018 at 5:43 amFeatured
                  Sophie Foster had never truly fit in. She is a truly gifted student and has skipped grades ahead of her peers, but even more importantly, she is a telepath. Unbeknownst to her family and the world, Sophie hears the thoughts of everyone around her. At a field trip one day, a boy shows up, the only person whose thoughts she cannot hear. The boy, Fitz, whisks her away to the magical elven world where she truly belongs. But even in the elven world, she stands out. She has twelve years to catch up on, an elven school and impossible classes she must ace, and a new life to navigate. But besides her new challenges something darker lurks, things concerning where and who she came from and why she was placed with humans. "Keeper of the Lost Cities" promises mystery, intrigue, and a magical feeling down to the very last page. This is the first book of a series and, personally, I like this one very much, but as the series goes on, it begins to get drawn out.
                  • esquay
                    esquayFriday, August 10, 2018 at 5:30 pm55 stars
                    I do not think it gets drawn out!
                  • LizThursday, July 12, 2018 at 11:47 am
                    I 100% LOVED this! I found the characters to be very relatable and quite hilarious! If you get the chance, you really ought to read this!
                    • midnightluna
                      midnightlunaTuesday, July 10, 2018 at 3:28 pm55 stars
                      I absolutely LOVE the Keeper of the Lost Cities series! It is amazing, entertaining, and funny! The main character (Sophie), is very relatable and down to earth, and her friends will crack you up for ages!

                      Our Apps and Plugins