Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578

In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445947
ISBN-13: 9781442445949
209 Book Reviews
  • zellydia
    zellydiaMonday, June 7, 2021 at 1:47 pm55 stars
    This book is awesome and so fun to read. It is a good mix of adventure and emotions. It is about this girl named Sophie who figures out that she is a elf. All elves have abilities like reading someones emotions or telepathy, and they live for ever. Also they do not have pointy ears until the start growing old. I would defiantly recommend all 8.5 books. (8.5 because there is one that is a guide and not all story)
    • onceaponaend
      onceaponaendTuesday, June 1, 2021 at 5:18 am
      This book is so amazing! I'm finished reading it at home and when I first saw the preview, I knew this would be the book for me. Thumbs up here👍!
      • shrika_1234
        shrika_1234Sunday, May 23, 2021 at 5:44 am44 stars
        This book is really good some parts are a little boring. But I totally recommend this book 📖. So READ it. 📚 (follow me pls I am trying to reach my goal of 50)
        • talltower
          talltowerSaturday, May 22, 2021 at 4:00 pm44 stars
          I think it's... even better!
          • donthavedog
            donthavedogWednesday, May 19, 2021 at 3:26 pm55 starsFeatured
            Have you ever imagined that elves could be real? Or that dinosaurs were still alive? Even that places like Atlantis were real? Well all of those things are real in The Keeper Of The Lost Cities. Here are some things that happen in the book. Sophie was shocked when someone told her she was an elf. He was also an elf too. So that explained to Sophie that she can read minds after she hit her head when she was 5. When someone picks her up and gets her to the elvin world the council there tells her that she is an elf. She is now living with 2 people Grady and Edaline. They used to have a daughter named Jolie and died in a fire. She almost went to Exile for breaking the law. She is sad because when she went to the elvin world to live there they had to brainwash her family. She soon realizes that she was the project of the moon lark, meaning that the Black swan made her In the elvin world you have powers and if you had more than one it was really rare and Sophie has a lot more than one power. People kidnapped her while she was in a cave. They tried to brainwash her but didn’t work. They took off her tracker and put it in the ocean so it looked like she died. She sent out a signal to Fitz but Fitz thought it was a trap because he went to her funeral. They told him that if you don’t come then I will die. A theme I learned from this book was, ‘don’t be afraid to do something’. Sophie was scared at times but she always overcame it. For example when she was at the top 2 at the splotching match. She was going against Fitz who has been winning for years but she still ended up winning. Sophie never loses courage in what she does even if it means risking her life. Some memorable characters are Sophie and Dex. Sophie is good at everything; she beat Fitz in a splotching match and Fitz has been winning for years. Sophie was told she was an elf and had multiple powers. She goes to a school named Foxfire. Her group of friends always had her back when Stina always teased her. In that group of friends there is Biana, Dex, Fritz, Keefe, Marella, and of course Sophie. Dex is Sophie’s best friend. He is smart and is not failing alchemy. Most people fail alchemy. There are some memorable fictional places that Messenger uses in Keeper of the Lost Cities. There are similar buildings in the elvin world that we have here, such as gates and big houses, trees that take in pollution, gardens and cliffs and even caves. Despite the great parts that I enjoyed from Keeper of the Lost Cities, there were some parts that were confusing. I just didn’t understand how a brainpush worked. After you get energy after years does your brain just push the energy out like a powerful blast? I will still give it five stars because you could feel how the character feels. When Sophie left her family you could feel the pain she was feeling like leaving your family after living with them for so long was heartbreaking. I also liked how the book could be very unpredictable, and you find out new things page after page. Overall, I would recommend this book to 3rd grade and older, as there is some violence, but it seems that it would be very enjoyable for people who like exciting books that give you a rollercoaster of a ride.
            • gretr234
              gretr234Thursday, May 6, 2021 at 6:06 am44 stars
              I really love this book. I recommend it to others. I'm on the second book so I also recommend the rest of the series to others.
              • pairofkeets
                pairofkeetsWednesday, April 21, 2021 at 2:18 pm44 stars
                This is the first book in the Keeper series, and I recommend it if you love fantasy, secrets, and worlds. This is not my FAVORITE keeper book, but I chose this one to recommend because it is the first. It is about a girl named Sophie who finds out she's an elf! But not the kind who bakes cookies or works for Santa...the REAL kind.
                • wolfieland
                  wolfielandWednesday, April 14, 2021 at 7:23 am
                  A lot of people were talking about kotlc so I've been thinking about maybe trying out this series, even my friend recomended it.
                  • cjshugart
                    cjshugartThursday, April 1, 2021 at 7:02 am
                    it is awsome
                    • musicbooklover
                      musicbookloverWednesday, March 24, 2021 at 7:45 pm55 stars
                      Oh gods! This book is amazing! Kept me on the edge from the start to the end. I mean every page there were new questions. Where are Sofie's Powers coming from? What's black swan? Who is lighting the fires? Does Keefe like Sofie? How's sofie so perfect? etc ,etc. This book took me to heaven! Also almost killed me out of mystery! Luv this book really recommend it!