Justin Case: School, Drool, and Other Daily Disasters (Justin Case Series)

Book 1 of 3 in the Justin Case Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 6O5.239555

It's the start of the school year, and nothing feels right to Justin. He didn't get the teacher he wanted, he's not in the same class as his best friend, and his little sister, Elizabeth, is starting kindergarten at his school. Elizabeth doesn't seem nervous at all. Justin is very nervous about third grade. And to top it off, he's lost his favorite stuffed animal, but he can't tell anyone, because technically he's too old to still have stuffed animals. Right?

Here is third grade in all its complicated glory―the friendships, the fears, and the advanced math. Acclaimed author Rachel Vail captures third grade with a perfect pitch, and Matthew Cordell's line art is both humorous and touching. As Justin bravely tries to step out of his shell, he will step into readers' hearts.


Justin Case is a 2011 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Paperback, 272 pages
Published on May 24, 2011 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312563574
ISBN-13: 9780312563578
42 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • queenie_cupcake
    queenie_cupcakeSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 3:25 pm44 stars
    Super funny! I grabbed a random book out of my bookshelf and I grade this and I just love it! I like how Justin names his dog Qwertyuiop. This book captured all my attention!
    • curiec
      curiecThursday, November 26, 2015 at 10:37 pm33 stars
      Justin, with a weird last name Krzeszewski, worried about a lot of things about becoming a third grader student. He can't get in the same class as his best friend. He can't have the teacher he wants. He can't have a dog. He can't get a Superstar......all things that happened in school seems to be like disasters. But on the other hand, his sister Elizabeth seems to have a great school life. What happened......!!? A boy with too much stressed, Justin, what will happen in his new school life? Author Rachel Vail described a third grader student with too much stressed feeling in a great way. It makes people feel like you are in this book and having adventure with Justin. Good book! I enjoyed it.
      • flores101
        Miss FloTuesday, September 30, 2014 at 4:23 pm44 stars
        My class loved this book so I read it myself it is a great book for middle schoolers. I enjoyed this book a lot.Thank you.
        • asma234
          asma234Monday, September 29, 2014 at 4:40 pm33 stars
          Out of all the books I've read about third grader's starting third grade Justin had to be the most stressed out kid out of all those kind of books.I think Justin is a little to stressed for an average kid.If my best friend wasn't in my class,I would just have to talk to them after school hours.He's stressing because everything he wanted for third grade didn't turn out as planned,but nobody always get's there way.Even his sister wasn't stressing about starting kindergarten in his school.His best friend isn't in his class this year,he didn't get the teacher he expected or wanted,and....I'll let you read the book and find out what happens :).
          • mydogdiva2
            mydogdiva2Sunday, September 21, 2014 at 9:53 am55 stars
            This book Justin CAse: School.drool, and other Daily disasters was really funny. Thank you Rachel Vail for writing this wonderful book. I laughed so much while reading it.
            • sweetheart352
              sweetheart352Tuesday, September 9, 2014 at 5:58 pm33 stars
              This book is so cool and fun. I got it for my birthday and I loved reading it. I recommend this book to all my friends.
              • wyatt1232
                wyatt1232Tuesday, September 9, 2014 at 1:24 pm55 stars
                A good book with a lot of humor and a book that some kids can relate to if they have been in a similar kind of problem.
                • tim0706
                  tim0706Thursday, August 14, 2014 at 11:55 am44 stars
                  This is a really fun book to read. It is really fun. The title Justin Case sounds like Just in Case. This a really quick read and is fun
                  • ifeelbookish
                    ifeelbookishThursday, August 14, 2014 at 11:07 am33 stars
                    Justin Case follows the exploits of a worrisome third-grader named Justin. The year doesn't start well for him; his best friend is in a different class, his little sister is starting kindergarten, and he's lost his favorite stuffed animal. Third grade can be pretty complicated for the average kid, but for Justin, it can be downright stressful. Justin's year unfolds in a diary-like format starting on the first day of school. I'm getting tired of the "wimpy kid, drawings in a journal" kind of thing. So I was really unwilling to get into the book. It was an okay book overall, but I think my hatred for the wimpy kid format overshadowed how unique the book actually is. Overall, I would give this about 2.5 stars. ~ifeelbookish
                    • maddyp18
                      maddyp18Wednesday, July 30, 2014 at 8:24 pm55 stars
                      I loved this book so so so so so much!!!!!!!!!! It is a great realistic fiction story!!!!!! It is about a boy who is going into third grade and is super nervous about it. I think the message for this story is '' Believe in your self''. I hope you like it!!!!!!!!!