Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.4146809
From the author of the sensational New York Times best-seller THE THIEF LORD comes a thrilling new adventure about magic and self-discovery.

Cornelia Funke, the enormously talented author of the international best-seller THE THIEF LORD, brings readers another spellbinding tale of adventure and magic.
Meggie lives a quiet life alone with her father, a book-binder. But her father has a deep secret-- he posseses an extraordinary magical power. One day a mysterious stranger arrives who seems linked to her father's past. Who is this sinister character and what does he want? Suddenly Meggie is involved in a breathless game of escape and intrigue as her father's life is put in danger. Will she be able to save him in time?
Paperback, 560 pages
Published on June 1, 2005 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0439709105
ISBN-13: 9780439709101
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • remusfan12
    remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:50 am55 stars
    I really want to read the next two books i'm so excited.
    • remusfan12
      remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:47 am55 stars
      my mom used to read this book to me every night and I would literally scream at her until she read more. I decided to re read this book and i can't wait to finish. I love books almost as much as meggie does and this is one of my favorites
      • mathboy123
        mathboy123Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at 2:20 pm55 stars
        this book is awesome. It is filled with rich scenes as well as many plot twists. very good, i would recommend it to someone
        • A Human BeingThursday, January 24, 2019 at 10:34 am
          This book is awful. It is a dull landslide that calls itself a book, with boring, one-dimensional characters that are written terribly, and a plot like, " And then this happened. " So bad I could hardly read it. Don't waste your time with this one.
          • remusfan12
            remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:48 am55 stars
            Well, I liked it Books are cool
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 11:26 am55 stars
            I got this series for Christmas a few years ago and fell in love with the writing. The authour does not disappoint with amazing powers, thought provoking scenes and characters that you fall in love with. This book is great.
            • rainbow_unicorn
              rainbow_unicornMonday, November 13, 2017 at 5:56 pm55 stars
              I love how Cornelia Funke wrote the book and also the story is exciting because first of all Resa Meggies mom gets sucked up into the book. and so on. It is such a great story I would totally recommend it.
              • iamsmartoday
                iamsmartodayTuesday, October 24, 2017 at 4:10 pm55 stars
                This book is really good and full of fantasy and fun moments. I reccomend this to people who enjoy emotional and spooky stories and also to book lovers all around!
                • blackbird_skye
                  blackbird_skyeMonday, March 27, 2017 at 9:50 am55 starsFeatured
                  This book was probably the most creative novel I have ever read! The fact that Cornelia Funke can include so many different characters, each with diverse backstories, but all tied together in some small way in the story. Even if most of it is trying to escape Capricorn, I loved it. The characters are so amazingly realistic, it's as if I'm really living the story! Thank you for reading my review and please follow me, blackbird_skye, on iDOGO. Thanks!
                  • bookwizard
                    bookwizardMonday, January 16, 2017 at 6:36 am55 stars
                    A really good book has a lot of mystery and adventure.One of the best books I ever read.I would recommend this book to anyone!
                    • kittygamer
                      kittygamerSunday, October 30, 2016 at 11:11 am
                      This is the best book ever!