From the author of the sensational New York Times best-seller THE THIEF LORD comes a thrilling new adventure about magic and self-discovery.

Cornelia Funke, the enormously talented author of the international best-seller THE THIEF LORD, brings readers another spellbinding tale of adventure and magic.
Meggie lives a quiet life alone with her father, a book-binder. But her father has a deep secret-- he posseses an extraordinary magical power. One day a mysterious stranger arrives who seems linked to her father's past. Who is this sinister character and what does he want? Suddenly Meggie is involved in a breathless game of escape and intrigue as her father's life is put in danger. Will she be able to save him in time?
Paperback, 560 pages
Published on June 1, 2005 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0439709105
ISBN-13: 9780439709101
48 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • rainbow_unicorn
    rainbow_unicornMonday, November 13, 2017 at 5:56 pm55 stars
    I love how Cornelia Funke wrote the book and also the story is exciting because first of all Resa Meggies mom gets sucked up into the book. and so on. It is such a great story I would totally recommend it.
    • iamsmartoday
      iamsmartodayTuesday, October 24, 2017 at 4:10 pm55 stars
      This book is really good and full of fantasy and fun moments. I reccomend this to people who enjoy emotional and spooky stories and also to book lovers all around!
      • blackbird_skye
        blackbird_skyeMonday, March 27, 2017 at 9:50 am55 starsFeatured
        This book was probably the most creative novel I have ever read! The fact that Cornelia Funke can include so many different characters, each with diverse backstories, but all tied together in some small way in the story. Even if most of it is trying to escape Capricorn, I loved it. The characters are so amazingly realistic, it's as if I'm really living the story! Thank you for reading my review and please follow me, blackbird_skye, on iDOGO. Thanks!
        • bookwizard
          bookwizardMonday, January 16, 2017 at 6:36 am55 stars
          A really good book has a lot of mystery and adventure.One of the best books I ever read.I would recommend this book to anyone!
          • kittygamer
            kittygamerSunday, October 30, 2016 at 11:11 am
            This is the best book ever!
            • yeonjae0819
              yeonjae0819Wednesday, August 3, 2016 at 10:39 pm55 stars
              This book is honestly great. It has great creativity with stories that you would never be able to even think about. The story has a great plot line and especially the intro, climax, and the ending has it's own characteristics of emotions. As soon as you read this really you might regret about why you did not read this book. I believe that the author Cornellia Funk has great creativity.
              • annalovesbooks
                annalovesbooksThursday, February 25, 2016 at 3:36 pm55 stars
                this is the most best book ever you have to read it
                • siri
                  siriWednesday, January 6, 2016 at 2:25 pm
                  only read first book; really good
                  • april_hough2022
                    april_hough2022Monday, January 4, 2016 at 6:20 am
                    I still reading the first one my brother said it was really boring.
                    • catsrule
                      catsruleFriday, October 9, 2015 at 7:35 pm55 stars
                      It's really good! You should totally read it.

                      More TopicsView in 3D