Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.4146809
From the author of the sensational New York Times best-seller THE THIEF LORD comes a thrilling new adventure about magic and self-discovery.

Cornelia Funke, the enormously talented author of the international best-seller THE THIEF LORD, brings readers another spellbinding tale of adventure and magic.
Meggie lives a quiet life alone with her father, a book-binder. But her father has a deep secret-- he posseses an extraordinary magical power. One day a mysterious stranger arrives who seems linked to her father's past. Who is this sinister character and what does he want? Suddenly Meggie is involved in a breathless game of escape and intrigue as her father's life is put in danger. Will she be able to save him in time?
Paperback, 560 pages
Published on June 1, 2005 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0439709105
ISBN-13: 9780439709101
50 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • wiccanbat666
    wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 11:26 am55 stars
    I got this series for Christmas a few years ago and fell in love with the writing. The authour does not disappoint with amazing powers, thought provoking scenes and characters that you fall in love with. This book is great.
    • narwhal101
      narwhal101Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 12:35 pm55 stars
      I decided to read this book and it was AMAZING!It is a book with violence,and sad moments,and magical abilities revealed or discovered.In the end,it leaves readers in suspense.Read it!
      • rainbow_unicorn
        rainbow_unicornMonday, November 13, 2017 at 5:56 pm55 stars
        I love how Cornelia Funke wrote the book and also the story is exciting because first of all Resa Meggies mom gets sucked up into the book. and so on. It is such a great story I would totally recommend it.
        • iamsmartoday
          iamsmartodayTuesday, October 24, 2017 at 4:10 pm55 stars
          This book is really good and full of fantasy and fun moments. I reccomend this to people who enjoy emotional and spooky stories and also to book lovers all around!
          • blackbird_skye
            blackbird_skyeMonday, March 27, 2017 at 9:50 am55 starsFeatured
            This book was probably the most creative novel I have ever read! The fact that Cornelia Funke can include so many different characters, each with diverse backstories, but all tied together in some small way in the story. Even if most of it is trying to escape Capricorn, I loved it. The characters are so amazingly realistic, it's as if I'm really living the story! Thank you for reading my review and please follow me, blackbird_skye, on iDOGO. Thanks!
            • bookwizard
              bookwizardMonday, January 16, 2017 at 6:36 am55 stars
              A really good book has a lot of mystery and adventure.One of the best books I ever read.I would recommend this book to anyone!
              • kittygamer
                kittygamerSunday, October 30, 2016 at 11:11 am
                This is the best book ever!
                • yeonjae0819
                  yeonjae0819Wednesday, August 3, 2016 at 10:39 pm55 stars
                  This book is honestly great. It has great creativity with stories that you would never be able to even think about. The story has a great plot line and especially the intro, climax, and the ending has it's own characteristics of emotions. As soon as you read this really you might regret about why you did not read this book. I believe that the author Cornellia Funk has great creativity.
                  • annalovesbooks
                    annalovesbooksThursday, February 25, 2016 at 3:36 pm55 stars
                    this is the most best book ever you have to read it
                    • siri
                      siriWednesday, January 6, 2016 at 2:25 pm
                      only read first book; really good

                      Our Apps and Plugins