I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912

Book 1 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5Q3.910437
The most terrifying events in history are brought vividly to life in this new fictional series! In book 1, ten-year-old George is trapped on the Titanic -- how will he survive?

Ten-year-old George Calder can't believe his luck -- he and his little sister, Phoebe, are on the famous Titanic, crossing the ocean with their Aunt Daisy. The ship is full of exciting places to explore, but when George ventures into the first class storage cabin, a terrible boom shakes the entire boat. Suddenly, water is everywhere, and George's life changes forever.

Lauren Tarshis brings history's most exciting and terrifying events to life in this New York Times bestselling series. Readers will be transported by stories of amazing kids and how they survived!
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on June 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545206871
ISBN-13: 9780545206877
250 Book Reviews
  • dream_beyond
    dream_beyondTuesday, May 4, 2021 at 11:19 am33 stars
    This is the day when everything changed. The day when many lives were lost. George was lucky, why? Because he got 1st class in the TITANIC!!! Crazy? I know. He was with his aunt and sister. Everything was splendid and wonderful! All the food he could possibly eat and all the luxury! No, not the day when everything turned around from wonderful to horrible!! It couldn't possibly happen! The Titanic is supposed to be unsinkable!! WRONG! Slowly, the Titanic began to sink, water pooled in, it was just to much for him then he blacked out. You: Awww. Me: I know, I know. you want to know what happens next, then read the book to find out!!
    • mike12340
      mike12340Thursday, April 29, 2021 at 11:50 am55 stars
      ok so this book is so good yall need to read it and these kind of books are short chapters and i hope yall enjoy this book 🙂🙂❤️❤️❤️ hope yall like it!
      • ironamerica
        ironamericaTuesday, April 27, 2021 at 6:12 pm44 stars
        Nice history book!
        • jjj95
          jjj95Friday, April 23, 2021 at 11:55 am55 stars
          I love the book it's a favorite of the whole series it was great
          • lejybire-160250579112
            lejybire-160250579112Wednesday, April 21, 2021 at 4:55 am33 stars
            this book mad me feel like I was thar in the book.
            • cocoa14
              cocoa14Monday, April 19, 2021 at 6:54 am
              I soooooo want to read this book. I made up a little challenge for myself that i have to read 13 books before the next school year and that book is in my reading list online and in my book basket which holds all 13 books except 1 because I'm reading it. Tell me if any of you have read Saving Zasha. But i totally want to read the book "i survived the sinking of the titanic.
              • hermionereader
                hermionereaderFriday, April 16, 2021 at 6:39 pm55 stars
                This book was really short, but that's probably because I was so engaged the whole time and never once thought to take a break from it! Also, even though they're short, they're only about $5 dollars each, and I can see myself rereading this book at some point, making it worth the money. Lastly, these books are great for teaching you about different events in history, and this book really made me realize how traumatic the sinking of the Titanic was. All in all, I recommend this book a lot!
                • givylusu-161642451477
                  givylusu-161642451477Monday, March 22, 2021 at 7:55 am55 stars
                  I enjoyed how the book was silly, realistic, and tragic.
                  • ivywolf
                    ivywolfThursday, March 4, 2021 at 3:44 pm33 stars
                    I haven't read this book for like two years, but I remember it was quite a thriller. All the I survived series books are great fictional recreations of historical events.javascript:void(0)
                    • 90mk
                      90mkTuesday, January 19, 2021 at 2:17 pm11 star
                      I can't open the book but I love the Arthur,!