Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback, 233 pages
Published on May 9, 2000 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0440414806
ISBN-13: 9780440414803
428 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Gabriel PersinThursday, January 11, 2018 at 8:42 am
    Holes is a book about a boy, Stanley Yelnats, that is sentenced to dig holes, at Camp green lake. Stanley is only sentenced there for something he didn't do! Stanley plans his escape very wisly and it works out. Of course he didn't do it by himself, he made a few friends on the way of the escape. One of the friends is Zero, a boy that Stanley taught how to read. In return Zero an Stanley make a run for it. In the end Camp green lake gets shut down for child labor. Everyone in Camp green lake is realized and sent back home. My opinion on this book and even the movie is 5 Stars. One of the best books I have ever read in a while. I recommend this book to people that like adventure stories as well as action. Have you ever felt like throwing up because you havent eaten or had a drink of water for more than 24 hours, well Stanley and Zero felt like that when they made a run for it. Hope you read "Holes" and enjoy it!!
    • jc8597Tuesday, January 9, 2018 at 1:34 pm
      Holes Is a book with two kids named Zero and Stanley. Zero and Stanley went to a camp called Camp Green Lake. One day Stanley helped Zero how to learn and spell his name (“Capital Z-e-r-o”). Stanly showed zero how to spell his name so, when Zero needed to write his name he would no how to. Another day the boys had to dig holes and Stanley found a golden tube, he told Zero. Zero thought they could use it to get out of school. If you ever read the book Holes or watch the movie you will also hear the names, Zig-Zag, Hector, the Warden, Mr. Sir, Sweet Feet, and X-Ray.
      • 2007crWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 5:32 pm
        Really asome
        • pobubaredi
          pobubarediMonday, October 30, 2017 at 11:17 am55 stars
          Stanley is forced to be taken to Camp Green Lake for something that he didn't do. When and will he get out of Camp Green Lake.
          • book bugMonday, September 25, 2017 at 7:54 pm
            this book is great. full of adventure
            • googooMonday, September 25, 2017 at 7:52 pm
              AMAZING
              • bookqueen1o13
                bookqueen1o13Friday, September 15, 2017 at 1:02 pm55 stars
                this book was amazing with an adventure of a life time. Stanley yelnats is sentence to go to camp green lake dentition center for stealing a pair of trianers . where there is no lake but they must dig holes all day five feet apart and five feet deep but why is he there and what is the real purpose he is there read the book to find out
                • 30057
                  30057Tuesday, August 29, 2017 at 9:35 am
                  I can tell by the cover of the book that "Holes" is good because it is a gold medal book. I want to read because everyone says it is a great book. I have seen the movie and it was amazing. I can't wait to read this book.
                  • aanmoon
                    aanmoonSunday, August 27, 2017 at 7:20 pm
                    This is an amazing book with lots of adventure and fun it was amazing with lizards and outlaws and a amazing Protagonist you will love this book
                    • mans
                      mansThursday, August 24, 2017 at 1:21 pm
                      This book is one of the most amazing books that I have read it is interesting and funny. I would really recommend this book. P.S ( watch the movie also.)

                      More TopicsView in 3D