Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback, 233 pages
Published on May 9, 2000 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0440414806
ISBN-13: 9780440414803
443 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • heavytoothpaste
    heavytoothpasteThursday, January 31, 2019 at 9:45 pm55 stars
    This book is a really good book
    • soso17970
      soso17970Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 7:51 pm44 stars
      Good book, great plot!
      • ariettaki08
        ariettaki08Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 5:39 pm44 stars
        I really liked it, and I WOULD recommend this book!
        • catThursday, January 10, 2019 at 4:20 pm
          it was good
          • champatreading
            champatreadingThursday, January 10, 2019 at 6:23 am
            This is such a great book! It has such a great plot twist toward the end of the book that you would never expect. The book has a happy ending. Although i do recommend ages 13 and up to read this book because you rally have to understand it to be interested in this book. It can come off boring to some people but i personally loved it!
            • freckleface04
              freckleface04Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 6:45 am33 stars
              this is a very ......different book
              • emvgb
                emvgbWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 6:39 pm55 stars
                I really wish I could watch the movie because this book was not bad at all!
                • zeke21
                  zeke21Wednesday, December 5, 2018 at 6:19 am55 stars
                  This book is very well written. The book starts off a little slow but gets faster and faster. The book is very thrilling and it will leave you thinking: "what will happen next?" The book is very good.
                  • nasuada
                    nasuadaTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 3:12 pm44 stars
                    Stanley Yelnats is useless. He's overweight and a social outcast. Then Stanley is accused and convicted of a crime he didn't commit. Stanley is sent to Camp Green Lake, the dryest, dustiest, and least green place in the world. It toughens him up, both physically and mentally. Stanley and his friend Zero fight against the corrupt leadership. The book had such a unique writing style. I would recommend it to anyone.
                    • cornbread
                      cornbreadThursday, September 27, 2018 at 4:07 pm44 stars
                      Pretty nice, but for some reason the main character’s outer characteristics. I have no idea what color the main character’s hair is. The story is OH MY GOD amazing, though.

                      Our Apps and Plugins