Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback, 233 pages
Published on May 9, 2000 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0440414806
ISBN-13: 9780440414803
447 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kookoo-007
    kookoo-007Wednesday, April 10, 2019 at 12:40 pm
    A kid gets blamed for stealing a baseball players shoes and goes to the desert and digs holes everyday with some new friends he made
    • chlooe
      chlooeWednesday, February 27, 2019 at 4:39 pm55 stars
      Hmm, Holes. What is Holes? Is Holes a book about people just DIGGING holes? Holes is about a boy named Stanley Yelnats, and he was demanded to go to Camp Green Lake because he apparently "stole" a pair of sneakers. Stanley always thought that Camp Green Lake was just a fun camp. He describes it as a camp full of sports, friends, and lots of games! But as he came to a dried up lake, he takes notice of how many holes there are. The Warden is the owner of Camp Green Lake and is always telling the kids there to dig holes. It seems as though she's looking for something, but what can it be? With Stanley on this hole-ifying time at Camp Green Lake, he finds out more than he was to. I rate this 5 stars and I want YOU to read this book and enjoy this great survival like book like I did. Enjoy!
      • cadiebug2008
        cadiebug2008Sunday, February 24, 2019 at 4:04 pm
        I think this is literally one of the best books ever wrote.
        • BubbleSaturday, February 23, 2019 at 11:48 am
          Great book read it at school.
          • turtle_girl
            turtle_girlWednesday, February 20, 2019 at 4:49 pm55 stars
            this book is about a kid named Stanley Yelnats, Stanley had no friends and he was bullied by a boy much younger than him. One day on the way home from school, Stanley gets hit by a pair of shoes. His dad is a inventer and trying a thing with shoes. while running he was pulled over by the police. he went to a place called camp green lake. a place that all the bad kids go to. you dig holes. all day. in the sun. at camp, all the boys have names like x-ray, armpit, and zero. zero turns out to be friends with stanley. but zero brakes open and tells him the only reason he came to camp green lake.
            • ABJTuesday, February 19, 2019 at 9:35 am
              The three of us loved this book! We liked it because of the exciting, sad, mysterious and loving moments!!! It is a story about Stanley Yelnats and how he breaks a curse his family was under. He ends up going to Camp Green Lake. At Camp Green Lake the have to dig holes every day. Then one day he sees big thumb. That is all we are going to say about the book. If you want to know the rest, read the book!!! We think Louis Sachar really pulled it off! Read the book ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • heavytoothpaste
                heavytoothpasteThursday, January 31, 2019 at 9:45 pm55 stars
                This book is a really good book
                • ariettaki08
                  ariettaki08Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 5:39 pm44 stars
                  I really liked it, and I WOULD recommend this book!
                  • catThursday, January 10, 2019 at 4:20 pm
                    it was good
                    • champatreading
                      champatreadingThursday, January 10, 2019 at 6:23 am
                      This is such a great book! It has such a great plot twist toward the end of the book that you would never expect. The book has a happy ending. Although i do recommend ages 13 and up to read this book because you rally have to understand it to be interested in this book. It can come off boring to some people but i personally loved it!