The Golden Compass / Northern Lights (His Dark Materials, Book 1)

Book 1 of 3 in the His Dark Materials Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z7.1112815

Published in 40 countries, Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy--The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass--has graced the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, San Francisco Chronicle, Book Sense, and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists. In 1996, The Golden Compass changed the face of fantasy publishing, and 2006 marks its 10 Year Anniversary--and an opportunity to celebrate with a deluxe hardcover. Pullman created new material just for this edition (archival documents, scientific notes and "found" letters of Lord Asriel) which has been illustrated and handlettered by renowned British artist Ian Beck and will be included in the back matter. The deluxe edition also features Pullman's own chapter opening spot art. A quality collectible--with the enticement of never-before-seen new material--for Pullman fans.

Kindle Edition, 368 pages
Published on November 13, 2001 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0440418607
ISBN-13: 9780440418603
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ginger_cat32111
    ginger_cat32111Saturday, July 4, 2020 at 12:30 pm55 stars
    Although I am in 5th grade, I understand The Golden Compass as well as any other book. Phillip Pullman demonstrates how Iorek , the ice bear, his armor, is his soul, and if he replaces it with regular iron, it wouldn't be the same; he describes similarly how if Lyra replaces her daemon Pantalaimon with a doll, it would be exactly how Iorek felt with his armor replaced with iron. This book has greater meaning than just a giving a summary of Lyra and her daemon finding new worlds, and exploring. It teaches about the great strength, and courage Lyra put in to complete everything in her journey. If you think about it critically, for a 10 year old girl Lyra to do all these things, wouldn't you feel like you would want to give up already? Lyra Silvertongue didn't give up though.
    • janak1019
      janak1019Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:26 am55 stars
      this is a really good book it's about Lyra and her daemon exploring the world
      • animelover1234
        animelover1234Monday, April 1, 2019 at 8:56 am
        looks great
        • clarinetgirl
          clarinetgirlSunday, March 17, 2019 at 11:14 am55 stars
          These are my favourite books ever. They are so good, they are very eye opening and I am so glad that I read them.
          • ginger_cat32111
            ginger_cat32111Saturday, July 4, 2020 at 12:34 pm55 stars
            I agree strongly as well.
          • AvaFriday, January 18, 2019 at 10:26 pm
            Wow!
            • hufflepuff_diva
              hufflepuff_divaTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 3:46 pm55 starsFeatured
              The Golden Compass is more than just a book to read; it actually MEANS something. I got it for Christmas and it is so good! It can be very confusing and hard to read, but it is totally worth it. The characters are wonderful (Everyone has to love Lyra because she is stubborn, kind, and strong, and everyone has to love Will because he's the same as Lyra, but original, too), and everything else about it. I loved it, and the rest of the series!
              • zafrankel
                zafrankelSaturday, April 1, 2017 at 3:07 pm55 stars
                Lyra lives in a world similar to ours but different in many ways. Lyra is just learning about the world around her and has no idea that anything's possible especially will one of the most powerful weapons in the world. This book is fictional Yet imaginable
                • abhijay21
                  abhijay21Tuesday, March 21, 2017 at 2:36 pm
                  Soo good
                  • kitten7260
                    kitten7260Thursday, December 1, 2016 at 12:50 pm55 stars
                    So good! This book is kind of like a fantasy book and is amazing! I suggest, though, only read this if you are an awesome reader! It also has a girl lead (Lyra). Girl power!!!
                    • fuzzle
                      fuzzleSaturday, February 20, 2016 at 4:01 pm55 stars
                      Not only best book, but best trilogy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It made me wonder what when I grow up my daemon would be! And it had amazing wording, and a great story line!!!!