Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.626263

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Paperback, 340 pages
Published on March 13, 2019 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432864033
ISBN-13: 9781432864033
392 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ivant02
    ivant02Thursday, January 14, 2021 at 10:54 pm55 stars
    my real name is Ivan and I got this book as a birthday gift from my friend. I like it very much.
    • paris_girl_48
      paris_girl_48Thursday, January 14, 2021 at 5:38 am55 stars
      it's a nice story I read it 2 times in 2 weeks. if you really like the book you'll read it once in one week
      • M@TWednesday, January 13, 2021 at 9:29 am
        this is nice.I give it 5 stars
        • Jaleena Tuesday, January 12, 2021 at 4:00 pm
          I watched Ivan a few times before it was pretty COOL 🙂🙂🙂
          • bluetiger
            bluetigerTuesday, January 12, 2021 at 7:18 am55 stars
            Its sad but good
            • gimmemy_pie
              gimmemy_pieMonday, January 11, 2021 at 5:48 am55 stars
              SUPER nice
              • breeMonday, January 11, 2021 at 5:35 am
                I love this book my teacher last year made us read the book for a assignment and I just LOVED this book!
                • poseidoncabin
                  poseidoncabinSaturday, January 9, 2021 at 8:43 am55 stars
                  this is such an amazing book. it follows a gorilla trapped in a mall forced to live there. but Ivan is really an artist. he meets little friends along the way that help him get out. but what will the owner do about it? i loved this book so much, it makes you feel so many emotions and like you are actually there. the fact that this is a true story makes it even better! definitely recommend.
                  • misspuff_cat
                    misspuff_catSaturday, January 9, 2021 at 8:21 am55 stars
                    I loved this book so much, that I got a copy for Christmas!!!! I read it in class, I read it at home, and on DOGO NEWS!! I would really recommend this book to read for teachers and students. It has such a happy ending!!!!!📕📖👍👍
                    • honeycat92
                      honeycat92Friday, January 8, 2021 at 1:47 pm55 stars
                      i love this book and i have seen the movie as well also plz follow me