Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V6.7106821

For twelve long years, the dread fortress of Azkaban held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. Convicted of killing thirteen people with a single curse, he was said to be the heir apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort.

Now he has escaped, leaving only two clues as to where he might be headed: Harry Potter's defeat of You-Know-Who was Black's downfall as well. And the Azkaban guards heard Black muttering in his sleep, "He's at Hogwarts . . . he's at Hogwarts."

Harry Potter isn't safe, not even within the walls of his magical school, surrounded by his friends. Because on top of it all, there may well be a traitor in their midst.

Hardcover, 435 pages
Published on October 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439136350
ISBN-13: 9780439136358
423 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • rrwwnn
    rrwwnnSunday, June 23, 2019 at 10:37 pm55 stars
    This book is a great story about time travel and friendship and family. You will never want to put it down. My favorite part is the whomping willow. You'll have to read to find out what happens. Look out from the start for the funny parts
    • lawalex
      lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 11:02 am55 stars
      In this Harry Potter adventure you meet Harry’s godfather, and you have fun with Hippogriffs, timetravel, and Draco Malfoy. It’s a race against time to save two innocent souls.
      • zellydia
        zellydiaMonday, June 17, 2019 at 7:28 am55 stars
        This book is a great story about time travel and friendship and family. You will never want to put it down. My favorite part is the whomping willow. You'll have to read to find out what happens. Look out from the start for the funny parts.
        • beetboxboy
          beetboxboySaturday, June 15, 2019 at 10:19 am55 stars
          This is an amazing book. I recommend it to everyone!
          • ILoveHorses🐎Monday, June 10, 2019 at 7:15 pm
            A great book. The book is full of adventures, animals, people, spells and not to forget an unexpected twist. This book stars Harry Potter and both his friends, Hermiany Granger and Ronald Wesly. I highly recomend reading it.
            • came
              cameMonday, June 3, 2019 at 4:56 pm55 stars
              this was a cute book not one of my fav Harry Potter books I have others I like more but good job J.K. Rowling. :)
              • brawlstarschamp
                brawlstarschampMonday, May 27, 2019 at 4:12 pm55 stars
                This is one of the most important books in the Harry Potter series. Harry finds one of the only people alive that he is related to. But it turns out that he is a terrible dark wizard.(That's what people think)
                • Piper McleanTuesday, May 14, 2019 at 10:59 am
                  I loved this book!!! Padfoot is my favorite character
                  • cdog877
                    cdog877Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at 10:30 am55 stars
                    Harry potter and the prisoner of azkaban, This book is very adventures book if you like fantasy and adventure books you would like this book. I recommend this book to 3rd grade and up even adults like this book. This book is about three kids and there life at Hogwarts Witchcraft and Wizards which is a magic school the three kids are Harry Potter, Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley. At this point in the series they know how to do a lot of magic spells and a prisoner escapes a magic prison and wants to see Harry. I liked this book because it is really adventurous and funny.
                    • HamsterTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 10:19 am
                      This was a good book and I enjoyed the plot because it fit a lot of stuff into one story.