Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.499619
Adventure awaits in the Five Kingdoms—come and claim it in this start to a new series from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Fablehaven and Beyonders series.

Cole Randolph was just trying to have a fun time with his friends on Halloween (and maybe get to know Jenna Hunt a little better). But when a spooky haunted house turns out to be a portal to something much creepier, Cole finds himself on an adventure on a whole different level.

After Cole sees his friends whisked away to some mysterious place underneath the haunted house, he dives in after them—and ends up in The Outskirts.

The Outskirts are made up of five kingdoms that lie between wakefulness and dreaming, reality and imagination, life and death. It’s an in-between place. Some people are born there. Some find their way there from our world, or from other worlds.

And once you come to the Outskirts, it’s very hard to leave.

With the magic of the Outskirts starting to unravel, it’s up to Cole and an unusual girl named Mira to rescue his friends, set things right in the Outskirts, and hopefully find his way back home…before his existence is forgotten.
Paperback, 448 pages
Published on January 6, 2015 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442497017
ISBN-13: 9781442497016
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • AnnynoumousThursday, October 18, 2018 at 4:31 pm
    Brandon Mull really mastered yet another series. I'll give it four stars. If your looking for an intricate plot, original story, well rounded characters, and long nights of not being able to put the book down, then this is the book for you.
    • its_tcwgaming
      its_tcwgamingMonday, September 10, 2018 at 11:45 am55 stars
      WOW! What a great series! This 5 book series is by Brandon Mull. He is an amazing author! once i started reading the first book, I couldn't stop! Its about a kid and his friends that go to a haunted house for Halloween. But later they find out that its not a haunted house it's a mass kidnapping! The kidnappers take the kids to a land called the outskirts. "The outskirts of where?" you might ask. The answer is... no one knows. even the ones who have been there for decades can't solve that one. Does Cole save his friends from the evil high king of the land? Or does he start his own life there with his new friends, Mira, Jace, and Twich?
      • bookworm91218
        bookworm91218Tuesday, July 31, 2018 at 3:42 pm55 stars
        I decided to read this book because I liked the cover. It is a really good book.
        • RayRayRheaSunday, April 8, 2018 at 3:54 pm
          AMAZING!!! But there should be a follow up series where because he went voluntarily he and the people that got involved are sucked back to the outskirts because they need help again. Jace and Mira should end up together and Cole and Jenna should have some kind of fight or something also. But Earth should be destroyed and everyone moves to the outskirts after a long horrible world and discover more unique powers. Any of this would be amazing, even maybe Cole has a daughter who's sucked into the outskirts but everyone who got involved suddenly remembers. Cole's daughter would have even greater powers. But if Cole and the others do come back they should all of a sudden be young again, the series is amazing and i hope it can continue!
          • dojisesyzi
            dojisesyziThursday, October 26, 2017 at 8:02 am55 stars
            A bit slower than fablehaven but still great book tons of action i hope you enjoy it! cole, the main character smarter than seth in fableaven get's stuck in a different univeerse and hes trying to get out.
            • gigglypanda
              gigglypandaTuesday, October 11, 2016 at 10:17 am55 stars
              I like this gamut because it is fiction and has a lot of action in it . I am reading the second one now this gamut will make you want to read more of his books. Brandon Mull is A very talented author. I am excited to read his other series.
              • kamikaze889
                kamikaze889Sunday, July 31, 2016 at 4:24 pm55 stars
                cole is a brave cool and awsome the series is great too
                • bookworm890
                  bookworm890Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 7:30 pm55 stars
                  Five Kingdoms is a great series and Sky Raiders is a great first book. After his friends are kidnapped, Cole follows them to the Outskirts. After he is caught, he is sold as a slave to the sky raiders and forced to plunder the sky castles. A must read for fans of Jack Blank.
                  • inventor60
                    inventor60Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 5:56 pm33 stars
                    When Cole's friends are sent to a mysterious place under the haunted house, he follows them into the Outskirts from where it is hard to go back.
                    • awesome31
                      awesome31Wednesday, September 23, 2015 at 8:00 am55 stars
                      I like this book because it is interesting and my sister recommended it to me. When I read it, I couldn't put the book down.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins