Trespassers will be turned to stone

For centuries, mystical creatures of all description were gathered to a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary is one of the last strongholds of true magic. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite . . .

Kendra and her brother, Seth, have no idea their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. Inside the gated woods, ancient laws keep order among greedy trolls, mischievous satyrs, plotting witches, spiteful imps, and jealous fairies. However, when the rules get broken, powerful forces of evil are unleashed, forcing Kendra and Seth to face the greatest challenge of their lives, to save their family, Fablehaven, and perhaps even the world.

Paperback, 384 pages
Published on April 24, 2007 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416947205
ISBN-13: 9781416947202
114 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • tori3ghoul
    tori3ghoulTuesday, November 28, 2017 at 10:33 am44 stars
    A friend gave this book to me for my birthday last year. Siblings, Kendra and Seth visit their grandpa's mansion. After being introduced to a colorful playroom, the kids are told to only stay in the room and yard. But after breaking a rule, they discover amazing creatures.
    • dojisesyzi
      dojisesyziFriday, October 20, 2017 at 8:03 am55 stars
      I think it's a great book If you like fast paced mythological books. I think it has a lot of action and adventure, just make sure you have a strong stomach.
      • callie_b
        callie_bFriday, September 15, 2017 at 10:48 am55 stars
        Kendra and Seth are dropped off at their mysterious grandparent's house when their parent go on a cruise. But they never expected that their grandparents' remote property in Connecticut would be fun, not to mention magical... Kendra and Seth are bored. Really bored. Until one day, they discover a special milk that's attracting lots of butterflies in the garden. They try it and, poof! The butterflies are suddenly fairies! Turns out, whoever drinks this special milk can see them. Yep, that's right folks, Fablehaven is home to fairies and other mystical creatures! But Kendra and Seth cannot tell anyone, or else Fablehaven will be destroyed permanently. But an evil phantom is amongst the property, and Kendra and Seth's grandpa has been taken! It's up to them (and their grandmother who was recently turned into a human again after being a chicken for a while--long story :D) to save him and Fablehaven. This book is incredible! I love it so much! It's fantasy, comedy, mystery and fun all wrapped up into one book! It is the first book in the series, so I can't wait to continue reading! 5/5 stars, I give it a major recommendation!
        • sanchita123
          sanchita123Sunday, September 10, 2017 at 12:04 pm33 stars
          This book was enjoyable, but not one of my favorites. The storyline is good, but I found the parts in the beginning and some of the middle to be boring. I would recommend this book to people who liked reading bridge to terabithia because to me they are similar.
          • georgiasilver
            georgiasilverSaturday, August 12, 2017 at 9:08 pm44 stars
            An adventurous and epic book, Fablehaven and the rest of the series are a very entertaining and magical read. Readers will follow on with this truly satisfying and interesting adventure.
            • nonstopreader
              nonstopreaderMonday, July 24, 2017 at 1:46 pm33 stars
              We also read this book in fifth grade. The series is good. It is a decent sized read/book. I really recommend this/ these book(s) to anyone who like make believe or bigger books.
              • casgirl
                casgirlThursday, July 13, 2017 at 10:52 am33 stars
                this was a odd sort of book , not really the sort of thing that i normally read. it was . . . interesting , in a good way i think.
                • annette
                  annetteFriday, June 9, 2017 at 2:01 pm33 stars
                  This is a fantasy book that was very interesting about have magical abilities and protecting the magical creatures of Fablehaven. I thought the book was interesting and I would like to continue the series, if I can find the remaining books.
                  • bobelly
                    bobellyMonday, June 5, 2017 at 8:06 am55 stars
                    It was a scary book (I like that) because the forest in the back yard had all sorts of mystery and did strange things. It had adventure and a witch and a lot of magic and magical creatures but it also had some real life too and that is why I recommend it. Overall I just liked it.
                    • kathead
                      katheadSunday, June 4, 2017 at 10:03 am55 stars
                      Fablehaven is a place where brother and sister Seth and Kendra must go for 17 days while their parents are out on a cruise. To make matter's worse, Fablehaven is run by an old man. Their grandpa to be exact. But while they were expecting a boring trip with their grandpa, something almost magical happens.