Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.875178

Trespassers will be turned to stone

For centuries, mystical creatures of all description were gathered to a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary is one of the last strongholds of true magic. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite . . .

Kendra and her brother, Seth, have no idea their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. Inside the gated woods, ancient laws keep order among greedy trolls, mischievous satyrs, plotting witches, spiteful imps, and jealous fairies. However, when the rules get broken, powerful forces of evil are unleashed, forcing Kendra and Seth to face the greatest challenge of their lives, to save their family, Fablehaven, and perhaps even the world.

Paperback, 384 pages
Published on April 24, 2007 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416947205
ISBN-13: 9781416947202
186 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ochaco_uraraka
    ochaco_urarakaThursday, April 18, 2019 at 2:14 am55 stars
    It was really exciting, and I was so surprised with the plot of this book! It was about Kendra and her brother Seth and they find out that their Grandparents own a sanctuary for monsters called Fablehaven. Many weird and fantastic things go on in this book. Seth captures a fairy and turns into a walrus that breathes out of his back, an old witch with bloody rope lives in a shack, their housekeeper was once a niad, a golem made of stone and dirt. In a nutshell, the book was great.
    • OlympiaTuesday, April 16, 2019 at 4:19 am
      This book is my favorite.
      • VioletisawesomeTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 2:22 pm
        This book is awesome!!!!!! Kendra and Seth Sorenson are very unhappy that their parents left them at their grandparents’ estate. Wouldn’t you, if your parents suddenly went on a cruise? LUCKY!!! At least, that’s what Kendra and Seth think at first. They soon discover that the seemingly boring estate is really Fablehaven, a safe sanctuary where fairies and other magical creatures and animals thrive, unknown by the rest of the world. It’s like a piece of a fairytale in their backyard! Of course, Kendra and Seth are thrilled, but things get out of hand when they realize that their grandma is a CHICKEN! WHAT?! I know, that was my reaction too when I found out. They have to save her and the rest of Fablehaven from a dark creature who lives within... but not without facing some seriously hard challenges on the way— including massaging a giant!?! Kendra and Seth did NOT sign up for this! I felt very glad that I was not in their shoes!
        • juniper07
          juniper07Tuesday, March 5, 2019 at 7:48 am55 stars
          It is a magic filled story that is about to kids Kendra 13 and Seth 11. They first are brought to Fablehaven when there parents go on a cruise and Grandpa Soreon has to watch them. But after a while they figure out that there is a old woman, fairies, naiads and a lot other magical creatures hiding on the preserve. After mid-summer night grandpa is captured along with there house keeper Lena. To save there grandpa the bring their pet chicken to a a witch and change her back to their grandma. After They found Dale their house worker turned to metal and restored him they were wheeled to the forgotten chapel by a golmen made of clay. Ones there they find everyone in the basement including the witch who is one by one undoing the knots that hold a demon Balhamt. With the help of her life size jumping jack mendigo the witch captures everyone but Kendra who is the one who has to save the preserve and possibly the world! After Kendra has the fairy tears from the fairy queen shrine she collects blood from viola the giant cow and her own to make a mixture that will turn fairies life size! She flies to the forgotten chapel with her fairy army where when the fairies kiss the imps they too turn into fairies. With all her help Kendra releases her family and defeats the demon whom they throw back in his dungeon with the witch. Unfortunately Lena was brought back to her naiad form witch she had come from one hundred years ago. That next day when they found the house totally fixed and put to back together by the brownies. When Kendra and Seth's parents came to pick them up Kendra and Seth had it hard to leave witch was surprising sense when they came they had dreaded it but now they wished to come back. Witch they would next year to retrieve the artifact before it fell into bad hands.
          • Ash Monday, February 25, 2019 at 8:01 am
            The book is amazing I would recommend it to young readers who are into mythical creatures and people who have read harry potter.
            • heavytoothpaste
              heavytoothpasteThursday, January 24, 2019 at 8:09 pm55 stars
              This book is a great book because it has a lot of fantasy and adventure. I recommend it to young readers.
              • HaileyWednesday, January 16, 2019 at 9:47 pm
                Oh my gosh I’m in love with these books
                • SebasMonday, November 12, 2018 at 6:32 pm
                  I loved it and have all 6 of the books on number 3 page 86
                  • Janelle Thursday, September 6, 2018 at 9:48 pm
                    My Freind Sofie Suggested this Book And I’m Going To Read It!!
                    • jso6
                      jso6Wednesday, August 22, 2018 at 11:05 am
                      Kendra and Seth's grandfather is the caretaker of a magical place called Fablehaven, where all mythical creatures live. When the rules of Fablehaven get broken, Kendra and Seth have to save their everyone.

                      Our Apps and Plugins