Tales from a Not-So-Talented Pop Star (Dork Diaries #3)

Book 3 of 12 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.927459
Rachel Renee Russell serves up more laughs and adorable illustrations in the next installment of the bestselling DORK DIARIES series.

Nikki Maxwell has been doing everything she can to keep everyone at school from learning the truth--that she's there on scholarship in exchange for her Dad working as the school's exterminator. The last thing Nikki needs is having her friends and--worst case scenario--her crush, Brandon, associating her with the humongous roach on top of her Dad's van! Now it looks like her secret could be about to come out, and Nikki's willing to go to any zany and wacky length to prevent that from happening. The timing seems perfect when a major talent competition is announced with a school scholarship offered as the top prize. Nikki loves to sing and dance and now she gets to have tons of fun with her friends while competing for a chance to free her Dad from his obligation! (And free herself from all that potential damage to her reputation . . .) Once again, hijinks and misunderstandings aplenty ensue, as well as more hilarious and heartwarming moments with Nikki and her friends.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on June 7, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442411902
ISBN-13: 9781442411906
228 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • fleetwoodabby
    fleetwoodabbyFriday, January 12, 2018 at 11:01 am55 stars
    this dork diaries book is so cool! you have to read it ! and why? because theirs tons of problems ,but only 1 solution.
    • iikitty
      iikittySunday, January 7, 2018 at 11:27 am55 stars
      Dork Diaries is a hilarious girl tween book! It’s very funny and is realistic: Nikki has 2 besties, 1 enemy, and a whole team of great band members! From a hilarious diary entry style! Read it, it’s my second favorite book series!
      • SurpriseFoundWednesday, January 3, 2018 at 2:13 pm
        I love the series!!!!They are so cool!!!I want the 3rd book. I am looking for websites that I can read for free.Our school only lets us get 1 book at a time and it is annoying cause I am wanted to read it and when you read the first 2 books it gets addicting. Plus this one girl just grabbed the latest one that came out and started reading it and plus it was the sparkling one that looked the best. Um, plus you have to read the first book in order to know who she is and who everyone is. So I might tell her.
        • missknowitall
          missknowitallFriday, November 17, 2017 at 3:45 am44 stars
          All the Dork Diaries are awesome! The latest Dork Diaries, Pop Star, is about winning the talent show and becoming famous- getting to be in the 15 Minutes Of Fame!
          • vozemajuna
            vozemajunaMonday, October 23, 2017 at 8:00 am55 stars
            I love this book. I recommend it to people who like talent shows and humor. I've read almost the whole series. I'm so excited to finish the whole series. This book is very fun to read. All of these books are very interesting and fun. I'm speechless...
            • don't have oneSunday, October 15, 2017 at 3:35 pm
              OMG this is the best book in the world nikki is so pretty i have no idea why she is a dork but her life is so tough
              • ravenclaw102
                ravenclaw102Thursday, June 8, 2017 at 8:39 pm
                I love dirk diaries manly because it shows a lot of my personalities. this book individual gave me a lot of advice on how it will be like for people like me when I go to high school are middle school andpersonalities.This book will also help me in a few weeks because I have to go on stage and perform.😁
                • melisaWednesday, May 31, 2017 at 8:30 am
                  i also think that these books are intresting
                  • melisaWednesday, May 31, 2017 at 8:29 am
                    theres to much drama going on
                    • melisaWednesday, May 31, 2017 at 8:28 am
                      i think that brandon and niki should be together like in the lips