Tales from a Not-So-Graceful Ice Princess (Dork Diaries, No. 4)

Book 4 of 13 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.528373

In the fourth book of the New York Times bestselling series that’s as popular as it is dorky, Nikki Maxwell is determined to help out her crush!

Nikki Maxwell isn’t at all surprised to find out that her crush Brandon volunteers at a local animal shelter. He’s such a sweet guy—of course he wants to help those adorable puppies! Then Brandon tells her that the shelter is in danger of closing, and Nikki knows she can’t let that happen. Especially when she discovers a shocking secret about Brandon that makes keeping that shelter open more important than ever. So Nikki and her friends Chloe and Zoey enter an ice skating competition to help raise money for the shelter, but (big surprise) Mackenzie has to stick her nose in and cause trouble so that she can be the one to swoop in and save the day. No way will Nikki let that happen: She’ll just have to come up with some extra creative ideas this time!

Paperback, 384 pages
Published on July 30, 2015 by Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
ISBN-10: 1471144755
ISBN-13: 9781471144752
294 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • toodorky
    toodorkyMonday, July 13, 2020 at 8:34 am55 stars
    An ice competition involves a team of dancers to dance for a charity. The best one wins prize money for their charity. And Nikki and her best friends plan to use that money for Fuzzy Friends, which might be closing due to budget cuts. The thing is, Nikki can't skate, much less dance on ice!! How will Nikki win the competition now, especially when versing skate champion Mackenzie!?
    • loranda
      lorandaMonday, June 22, 2020 at 7:42 am
      It looked fun and maybe it will!
      • magicalmythical
        magicalmythicalMonday, June 15, 2020 at 6:28 pm55 stars
        This book is a FABULOUS book for kids to have fun! These adorable puppies made me CRY!!! I don't know how the author fixes up problems Mackenzie makes! Its so amazing! I think this should be a amazing book for children!
        • warriorsgirl11
          warriorsgirl11Saturday, June 6, 2020 at 9:17 pm55 stars
          In the fourth book of the New York Times bestselling series that's as popular as it is dorky, Nikki Maxwell is determined to help out her crush! Nikki Maxwell isn't at all surprised to find out that her crush Brandon volunteers at a local animal shelter.
          • EsalWednesday, January 8, 2020 at 9:41 am
            I've gone ice skating a few times and loved every minute of it. This book is about highschooler Nikki Maxwell and her crush Brandon. Brandon asks Nikki out to help volunteer at a local animal shelter, and her little sister Brianna messes things up by texting him. Nikki soon makes things right with him and sets up an official date! After spending the day there and seeing how lovely it is Brandon proceeds to tell Nikki they have to close down due to financial issues. Nikki knows she has to do something about that and the perfect thing comes up! You can enter a skating competition for a huge cash prize. Nikki is thrilled to enter with her and her friends even though she has no experience. Soon she finds out her arch-enemy is a great ice skater and is entering the contest, from there on all things go downhill. Will they win? Will Nikki learn in time? will the animal shelter stay in business? Read Dork Diaries not such a great ice princess to find out. My connection to this book is I am always ready to help out friends in need even if that means taking big risks. She is amazing
            • savv0100
              savv0100Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 5:54 pmFeatured
              I've gone ice skating a few times and loved every minute of it. This book is about highschooler Nikki Maxwell and her crush Brandon. Brandon asks Nikki out to help volunteer at a local animal shelter, and her little sister Brianna messes things up by texting him. Nikki soon makes things right with him and sets up an official date! After spending the day there and seeing how lovely it is Brandon proceeds to tell Nikki they have to close down due to financial issues. Nikki knows she has to do something about that and the perfect thing comes up! You can enter a skating competition for a huge cash prize. Nikki is thrilled to enter with her and her friends even though she has no experience. Soon she finds out her arch-enemy is a great ice skater and is entering the contest, from there on all things go downhill. Will they win? Will Nikki learn in time? will the animal shelter stay in business? Read Dork Diaries not such a great ice princess to find out. My connection to this book is I am always ready to help out friends in need even if that means taking big risks.
              • robloxlover302i
                robloxlover302iSaturday, December 28, 2019 at 7:28 am55 stars
                I loved this book, but I think Niki Maxwell needs to calm down about her crush,Brandon. So if you ignore that I'm sure everyone who reads this comment will absolutely love this book!
                • Kayla 🦄🦄🦄🦄Tuesday, December 17, 2019 at 7:23 pm
                  I love Dork Diaries so much it's the best book and I recommend it!
                  • DallasTuesday, November 19, 2019 at 7:58 am
                    Omg i love reading Dork Diaries
                    • moonlightwolf
                      moonlightwolfThursday, October 31, 2019 at 11:58 am55 stars
                      love it I could be makenzie but alot nicer