Tales from a Not-So-Graceful Ice Princess (Dork Diaries, No. 4)

Book 4 of 12 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.528373
In the fourth book of the New York Times bestselling series that’s as popular as it is dorky, Nikki Maxwell is determined to help out her crush!

Nikki Maxwell isn’t at all surprised to find out that her crush Brandon volunteers at a local animal shelter. He’s such a sweet guy—of course he wants to help those adorable puppies! Then Brandon tells her that the shelter is in danger of closing, and Nikki knows she can’t let that happen. Especially when she discovers a shocking secret about Brandon that makes keeping that shelter open more important than ever. So Nikki and her friends Chloe and Zoey enter an ice skating competition to help raise money for the shelter, but (big surprise) Mackenzie has to stick her nose in and cause trouble so that she can be the one to swoop in and save the day. No way will Nikki let that happen: She’ll just have to come up with some extra creative ideas this time!

Paperback, 384 pages
Published on July 30, 2015 by Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
ISBN-10: 1471144755
ISBN-13: 9781471144752
230 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • ashtynfavero
    ashtynfaveroTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 7:51 pm55 stars
    Niki Maxwell is 15 and in eighth grade. One day she takes a shower. Her little sister, Brianna, keeps bugging her. Niki tells her to go away. Then, Brianna is talking to someone on Niki's phone. Niki doesn't believe she is. Next, Niki jumps out of the shower, and chases Brianna down the hall. She snatches the phone, and finds it is Brandon,her crush. Brandon asks if Niki and her bffs Chloe and Zoey want to go to his birthday party. Niki is soooo embrassed. Then Niki goes to school and find out from her gym teacher, that the school gets to compete in a ice skating competition, and can earn money for charity. Chloe and Zoey ask Niki if she would do it with them with the theme of their favorite book. Niki has to say yes, but Niki can't skate!! Later, Niki sees that Brandon is very sad. She finds out it is because the animal shelter he loves and works at, Fuzzy Friends, is closing. Niki decides that if she wins, she will donate the money to Fuzzy Friends. When it is time to start practicing skating, a celebrity skater named Victoria Steel comes to coach the skaters. Niki becomes super stressed, because sh e realizes how hard it will be earning the money. Soon, the charity event is very close. At the charity event, Mackenzie Hollister, their enemy, locks them in the closet. They find a way out, and win the charity money, and save Fuzzy Friends.
    • howlergirl
      howlergirlSunday, July 16, 2017 at 7:28 pm55 starsFeatured
      Where do I start... first of all I love this series and I've read all of the books! Second, this book is about the star of the series, Nikki Maxwell, and her friends as they try to win money for a charity that they want to help, but things take a turn when her enemy, Mackenzie Hollister, tries to ruin there chances of winning the contest! Third, this book fills you with different emotions... that's why I love it! I would totally recommend it to anyone!
      • braina
        brainaMonday, July 10, 2017 at 2:17 pm55 stars
        Nikki and Mackenzie go head to head in a Ice Skating competition to raise money for a charity they like. Mackenzie tries to ruin Nikkis chance to win. No one knows but Nikkis friends know a secret about her that could change it all.
        • sofia-luvs-kats
          sofia-luvs-katsMonday, July 10, 2017 at 12:53 pm55 stars
          This book is so funny!!!! At the end (not trying to spoil at all) it is the best part of the book.
          • BorameyMonday, July 10, 2017 at 7:12 am
            Well, I need to say that this book is really... AMAZING. I can beleive i really going to buy this book. I really love this DORK diary books. My friends, my family, and i usually read this DORK diary books for fun. It sometime can be funny. When i just read this book i just feel like I'm missing my first crush in kindergaten. He was so handsome, he is clever. I miss him so much. So i usually read this book to remember the time we spend together.
            • belle252
              belle252Sunday, July 9, 2017 at 10:37 pm55 stars
              I love the series so i love this book. I can just imagine how it would feel to be NIkkie Maxwell. I have read this book two times because of it amzingness (that is not a real word but it describes the book perfectly) and I recommend this book.
              • e06
                e06Friday, July 7, 2017 at 7:45 pm55 stars
                I love this book! And Rachel Renee Russel's humor. I finished this book in a weekend!!! Hard to put down. I TOTALLY RECOMMEND this book and the series. It totally brings out the DORKINESS out from all of us!
                • emy123
                  emy123Tuesday, July 4, 2017 at 4:45 pm
                  i like it its really fun. it has a lot of drama .My favorite character is Nikki !!! :)
                  • springchick114
                    springchick114Wednesday, June 28, 2017 at 2:44 pm55 stars
                    I love this book! I can see that it is a funny, hilarious comedy about a teenager with a dramatic lovelife. Get out the cookies and milk because you are going to be up all night reading this!!
                    • soffles
                      sofflesMonday, June 26, 2017 at 1:37 pm44 stars
                      It was really good! I loved that Nicki joined the ice skating competition even though she didn't want to. I also loved that Brandon did everything he could to help her. This was a really good book!