Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.8105143

This first book in Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy is the novel the inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and Kate Winslet. This dystopian series set in a futuristic Chicago has captured the hearts of millions of teen and adult readers.

Perfect for fans of the Hunger Games and Maze Runner series, Divergent and its sequels, Insurgent and Allegiant, are the gripping story of a dystopian world transformed by courage, self-sacrifice, and love. Fans of the Divergent movie will find the book packed with just as much emotional depth and exhilarating action as the film, all told in beautiful, rich language.

One choice can transform you. Beatrice Prior's society is divided into five factions—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). Beatrice must choose between staying with her Abnegation family and transferring factions. Her choice will shock her community and herself. But the newly christened Tris also has a secret, one she's determined to keep hidden, because in this world, what makes you different makes you dangerous.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark.

Paperback, 576 pages
Published on September 30, 2014 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062387243
ISBN-13: 9780062387240
669 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ccplayzxd
    ccplayzxdMonday, April 15, 2019 at 11:53 am55 stars
    This is a very good book. I love all the thought and dedication that was put into making every single character. I recommended it to a lot of my school friends and they have recommended it to others as well. Great Work!
    • picklestheduck
      picklestheduckFriday, April 12, 2019 at 11:13 am
      amazing book definitely one of my faves packed with romance but I wish that Tris had gotten with Al and not Four I have a bad feeling about four.
      • katherina_8268
        katherina_8268Friday, April 5, 2019 at 4:12 pm44 stars
        I loved it! It was amazing, and full of action, adventure, and romance ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) This is the first book in the series, and probably my favorite book in the series!
        • CarolynFriday, April 5, 2019 at 6:56 am
          What part of this story do you think is inappropriate for children under 12yrs.?
          • picklestheduck
            picklestheduckFriday, April 12, 2019 at 11:12 am
            Tris's fears. one of her fears is not for the weak hearted.....
          • wonderwoman113
            wonderwoman113Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 7:09 am55 stars
            Best book ever!
            • MickySunday, March 3, 2019 at 10:37 am
              There is actually a 4th book in the series called Four. It’s really good.
              • wolffire01
                wolffire01Tuesday, January 29, 2019 at 9:01 am44 stars
                Ok so I LOVED the book but the movie didn't fully capture everything in the movie.
                • riptide46
                  riptide46Sunday, January 27, 2019 at 10:05 am55 stars
                  I loved it. It is now my favorite book. I love how Veronica Roth expresses the characters and the plot. I am trying to get the second book in the series so I can continue reading. I high recommend this book to 12-15 not for littler kids. 5-5 stars on this book.
                  • baby_jazzy81
                    baby_jazzy81Wednesday, January 23, 2019 at 1:23 pm55 stars
                    This series is awesome, especially if you like Harry Potter or The Hunger Games.
                    • YEET, BOI!Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 8:25 am
                      This book is amazing! I recommend That anyone who reads this also watches the MOVIES!

                      Our Apps and Plugins