Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on August 8, 2017 by Amulet Books
ISBN-10: 1419729454
ISBN-13: 9781419729454
805 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • anahitaFriday, July 6, 2018 at 6:38 am
    its an amazing book
    • amandanut
      amandanutWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 6:13 am55 stars
      'The Diary of a Wimpy Kid' books are all about a kid called Greg who fills in his journal (not a diary!!) of all the misadventures in his life.Everything Greg seems to do has hilarious consequences and his family are very funny. In this book it is summer vacation and even though it is nice and hot Greg insists on staying inside hooked up to his video games with the blinds drawn. His mother is tired of Greg being lazy and decides that this summer should be fun and packed with family activities. This book was very good. My favourite character has to be Greg as he can be horrible but the audience always roots for him anyway! I really like the part when Greg's mum is forgotten by the whole family at a petrol station in the middle of nowhere - it is hilarious.I recommend this book to readers around 10-13 who enjoy reading as it is quite easy to read, but it has some challenging words as well.I give this a big 5/5 because I enjoyed reading it so much.
      • camdengirl789
        camdengirl789Monday, July 2, 2018 at 7:10 pm55 stars
        I love diary of a wimpy kid I have read all the books they are awesome
        • wiccanbat666
          wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 3:26 pm55 stars
          I think that this is a series that everyone should read. It's relatable, I think that everyone has had a sibling or friend or someone in their life that has ruined their life in some way. These books are great and should be a something everyone should read.
          • looop1
            looop1Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:00 am55 stars
            i loved this book, if you read this definitely make sure you read all of the others i wish to read more!
            • love219
              love219Monday, June 4, 2018 at 5:49 pm55 stars
              I liked the book because its about greg who starts middle school and has trouble but figures his way out
              • eaglegamer
                eaglegamerTuesday, May 29, 2018 at 4:03 pm55 stars
                i love this book
                • boredom12
                  boredom12Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 6:21 pm
                  I would give this book a 5/5 for a good easy read. This is very entertaining and it would be a great comedy, and it ends with a good lesson.
                  • FORTNITE_GOD123Friday, May 11, 2018 at 10:43 am
                    I was a cool book y'all
                    • TACO_MAN!!!Friday, May 11, 2018 at 10:41 am
                      i love diary of a wimpy kid i watch the movies too love this book

                      Our Apps and Plugins