Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on August 8, 2017 by Amulet Books
ISBN-10: 1419729454
ISBN-13: 9781419729454
784 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • tiger1st123
    tiger1st123Thursday, February 15, 2018 at 11:49 am33 stars
    relly funny just finshed it I got it from my liybrary
    • grade5girl
      grade5girlFriday, February 9, 2018 at 3:26 pm55 stars
      I love this book! When I was younger and saw this series I thought I would not like it. But I read it this year and my goodness this is so awesome! The book was so good, so I decided to watch every movie! I am planning to read all the books this year! Thank you Jeff Kinney for making the first book all middle school kids will love! :)
      • lagosirodizozu
        lagosirodizozuFriday, February 9, 2018 at 6:40 am55 stars
        Good book
        • lagosirodizozu
          lagosirodizozuFriday, February 9, 2018 at 6:39 am55 stars
          good book :D
          • 360kid
            360kidFriday, February 9, 2018 at 6:36 am55 stars
            to good
            • maurijobie
              maurijobieThursday, February 8, 2018 at 8:02 pm
              Ha ha.. These are fun/funny books!!!😂😊
              • grade5girl
                grade5girlFriday, February 9, 2018 at 3:27 pm55 stars
                Yeah, you are so right! Such great humour in the books!
              • hollyhillsThursday, February 8, 2018 at 12:16 pm
                pretty amazing. i have not seen the movie though.
                • wycohyjojawyjo
                  wycohyjojawyjoWednesday, February 7, 2018 at 8:18 pm55 stars
                  great
                  • jtd
                    jtdTuesday, January 23, 2018 at 7:29 am55 stars
                    Best book series ever
                    • demonheart
                      demonheartFriday, January 19, 2018 at 5:18 pm44 stars
                      This book is a good short run book to take a couple of these series on a trip with you and you will be busy reading it before you know it maybe even sooner!

                      More TopicsView in 3D