Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on August 8, 2017 by Amulet Books
ISBN-10: 1419729454
ISBN-13: 9781419729454
880 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • marebear
    marebearMonday, May 20, 2019 at 1:15 pm55 stars
    it is a funny book i like it a lot its a good book i recommend this book to kids all ages thanks dogo books
    • lumos
      lumosSunday, May 19, 2019 at 9:17 am44 stars
      THIS BOOK IS SO SO FUNNY!! To be honest, the others in the series are better, but its still VERY GOOD! Greg Heffley is faced with middle school, and tries to go through school without his teachers finding out his brother was Rodrick, who had a very bad reputation. At times, you'll be laughing, cheering, and smiling at this amazing book. I recommend it to people who love to laugh!
      • callie_b
        callie_bThursday, May 16, 2019 at 5:25 am44 stars
        Greg is NOT a dorky girl with a diary. It's a boy's JOURNAL for writing down his life experiences so when Greg's rich and famous he can make the big bucks! Of course! Read Greg's hilarious adventures in school and at home, you'll be laughing until the end. This book still makes me laugh every time I read it, even though I've read it over 10 times. It's just so good! It's one of the books that really got my little brother into reading, so if you are having a hard time enjoying reading, this is a good book for you. It will turn your perspective about books around! I have always loved this book and I'm sure you will too. I recommend this book for any elementary students and beyond!
        • theycallmejay2
          theycallmejay2Tuesday, May 14, 2019 at 5:55 am55 stars
          This may be the best book I have ever read. It is really the best. It is very funny and the illustrations that go along with it really are hilarious. It may say something with word bubbles (like in a comic book) that are just so funny, I would recommend it.
          • jayjay_girl46
            jayjay_girl46Thursday, May 9, 2019 at 7:59 am55 stars
            i love this book
            • christheking08
              christheking08Thursday, May 2, 2019 at 7:42 am55 stars
              It really good book
              • superkid3254
                superkid3254Sunday, April 28, 2019 at 2:43 am55 stars
                The Diary of a Wimpy Kid tells the story through middle school with a boy named Greg Heffley.It is very intresting
                • renwu
                  renwuFriday, April 26, 2019 at 10:35 am55 stars
                  Best Book
                  • Greg heffleyWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 6:01 am
                    It is awesome
                    • mrgrasshopper
                      mrgrasshopperTuesday, April 16, 2019 at 9:05 am55 stars
                      Really funny book XD