Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are comparedā€”and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on October 3, 2017 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481486292
ISBN-13: 9781481486293
288 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • trwSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 6:16 am
    cool
    • awesome_actress
      awesome_actressThursday, May 24, 2018 at 11:03 am44 stars
      Awesome book! If you like survival skills and the wild I'm sure you will like this book!
      • ADDIEThursday, May 24, 2018 at 8:23 am
        umm this book was okay it took a while to read for me and i like books that go fast but i like it kind of me and my friend would probaly agree on this rating and comment
        • hawiian_girl
          hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:33 pm55 stars
          I read this book in 5th grade, it as really good!!
          • Ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 7:04 am
            I got this book for Christmas about 3 years ago and am absolutely all into survival. I mean, I got two survival guides, a survival kit, a backpack to carry my survival gear around in, (also knives, fire-starters, etc.). Seriously, I was so excited to read a survival BOOK! However, I started reading this and totally wasn't hooked. I always try to finish this book, telling myself it'll get better and suddenly I'll be downing it up. Nope. I was halfway through and nothing had really happened. It was more, "He did this, then he was hungry. He did that." and I felt it was more factual and all... I mean, Brian had feelings about his parent's divorce and the secret, but I wished it was more hooking. Maybe that's just what survival books are like, but I'm planning on getting another Gary Paulsen book to see if I just didn't like Hatchet in particular. Maybe I just don't like survival books as much as I like the idea of survival.... I'm not totally sure. But eh... it wasn't great. I still haven't finished it though, so really, I can't say.
            • stardarling30
              stardarling30Thursday, January 25, 2018 at 8:08 am55 stars
              I Asolutely love this bookšŸ˜
              • aarondalmighty
                aarondalmightyFriday, January 12, 2018 at 12:14 pm44 stars
                Epic so far.
                • maryg0125
                  maryg0125Saturday, December 23, 2017 at 9:02 am33 stars
                  I think the book is pretty cool because he is on his way to see his dad and all of a sudden, the pilot has a heart attack!! Jack is only a teenager and he all alone the woods with nothing but a hatchet. I give this book a 3 star review because I haven't read all of it yet but so far, I think it is pretty interesting.
                  • pugguy22brodie
                    pugguy22brodieTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 10:20 am55 stars
                    Its a good book because its a good book
                    • typyhogene
                      typyhogeneThursday, December 14, 2017 at 11:19 am44 stars
                      This book gave me a big hug and wouldn't let go. Brian, a boy whose parents are divorced, is going to see his dad on a plane when the pilot has a heart attack in the middle of the flight! Brian has to face a flying plane and the Canada woods on his own. Will he survive? Read to See!

                      More TopicsView in 3D