Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S4.030944
A hamsterific celebration of the best time of the year

Room 26 is abuzz. The students are making costumes and practicing their special songs for the Winter Wonderland program and Humphrey is fascinated by all the ways his classmates celebrate the holidays (especially the yummy food). He also has problems to solve like how to get Do-It-Now-Daniel to stop procrastinating, convince Helpful-Holly to stop stressing over presents, and come up with the perfect gift for Og the frog. Of course he manages to do all that while adding delightful heart and humor to the holiday season.

Nominated for twenty-four state awards and the winner of seven, the Humphrey series is a hit across the country. And he's becoming a one school/one book favorite!
Paperback, 176 pages
Published on October 3, 2013 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142427594
ISBN-13: 9780142427590
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • rina123aaa
    rina123aaaThursday, May 21, 2020 at 10:36 am55 stars
    Cute as always, but this time, Humphrey is taking winter break. His frog friend and him are just so cute! You really should read it and it only takes a good twenty minutes.
    • vyzysiju-157805874773
      vyzysiju-157805874773Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 8:11 am55 stars
      In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is it is a little funny and a little bit of a mystery too. Another reason why is that the story takes lots of stories and combines it into the whole book about this character Humphreys interactions with the students. The last reason why is that the students have lots of things happen to them and they have to solve them and they do things to lead up to solving it.  *** SPOILER ALERT ***  My favorite part is when one of the students sneaked Humphrey to watch them practice the Christmas play. You might like this book if you like mysteries, science fiction or adventure. You should read this book because it is cool to read what a hamster thinks inside a book.
      • inmemoryofcpr
        inmemoryofcprTuesday, July 23, 2019 at 2:10 pm44 stars
        Cute and nice book. Humphrey is so lovable! He super interesting and cool. I would recommend this for ages 8+ and also the series which is really good too.
        • Tiara OforiMonday, April 1, 2019 at 6:42 pm
          I loved the book
          • Tiara OforiSaturday, February 24, 2018 at 12:45 pm
            I loved the book
            • chess
              chessTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 6:10 pm11 star
              I actually never read it before, but I just wanted to share it, I also want to read it very badly
              • snowyowl
                snowyowlSunday, May 14, 2017 at 9:09 pm
                I love this series and I would recommend this series too
                • brinsters101Wednesday, May 10, 2017 at 10:56 am
                  I thought this book was funny because it was winter and I like winter and a lot more that I'm not going to tell you because you half to read it first . If I like it that means you should like. P.S. you will love it.
                  • mark williamsThursday, September 22, 2016 at 9:13 am
                    The students are making costumes and practicing their songs for the winter wonderland program and humphrey is fascinated by all the ways his classmates celebrated the holidays (especially the yummy food.).
                    • hghdThursday, September 22, 2016 at 7:17 am
                      the book is amazing