Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5Q4.226755
The first in the series about everyone's favorite classroom pet!

You can learn a lot about life by observing another species. That's what Humphrey was told when he was first brought to Room 26. And boy is it true! There are always adventures in the classroom and each weekend he gets to sleep over with different students. Humphrey learns to read, write, shoot rubber bands (only in self-defense, of course), turn off TVs, teach English as a second language, and more. With a lock-that-doesn't-lock and an adventurous spirit, what more could a mischievous hamster want?

With a fresh voice and an engaging, hamster's-eye view of school, families, and treats to hide in a cheek pouch, Betty G. Birney's Humphrey will elicit laughter and demands for hamsters in every elementary classroom.

Paperback
Published on March 3, 2016 by FABER CHILDREN'S BOOKS
ISBN-10: 0571328393
ISBN-13: 9780571328390
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • iwgames
    iwgamesThursday, November 5, 2020 at 12:23 pm55 stars
    This is a super funny book and I love-love-love it!
    • bookfan2008
      bookfan2008Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 3:27 pm55 stars
      This book is good! I read it a few times and, it was funny and good! Even tho it is pretty below my level :)
      • rina123aaa
        rina123aaaMonday, May 25, 2020 at 9:51 am55 stars
        Humphrey is a class pet and goes on many adventures you could never imagine a hamster would take. This book is a quick and easy read. It is also so cute!
        • inmemoryofcpr
          inmemoryofcprTuesday, July 23, 2019 at 2:31 pm55 stars
          When Humphrey, a hamster, is picked to be one of the school's class's pet, HUmphrey meets new kids and has many adventures. Humphrey also helps the kids with their problems! From being too loud or trying to be too helpful, Humphrey can solve them all! I would recommend this fro ages 8+ Super cute book and so enjoyable!! Great for relaxation if you're too old and detailed well. I love the author's writing style! Hope you read this because this is a must read for 3rd grade!
          • borocoty-155690352397
            borocoty-155690352397Friday, May 3, 2019 at 10:23 am55 stars
            humphrey is the best
            • borocoty-155690352397
              borocoty-155690352397Friday, May 3, 2019 at 10:19 am55 stars
              I think you should read this book if you haven't yet students will take humphrey home this book takes place at school.
              • AwesomeKatieKatThursday, March 14, 2019 at 5:55 pm
                This book is awesome! I think that Humphrey is a cute book. I love it so much!!!
                • summergirl2016
                  summergirl2016Sunday, January 22, 2017 at 12:13 pm
                  I love this book so much get all the other humphrey books they are cute cute cute cute! I love that hamster!!!!!!
                  • lizze 23Wednesday, January 11, 2017 at 2:07 pm
                    so cool !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • hc3
                      hc3Tuesday, June 28, 2016 at 8:31 pm
                      This is a really good and cute book! I would read this over and over again!