Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5Q4.226755
The first in the series about everyone's favorite classroom pet!

You can learn a lot about life by observing another species. That's what Humphrey was told when he was first brought to Room 26. And boy is it true! There are always adventures in the classroom and each weekend he gets to sleep over with different students. Humphrey learns to read, write, shoot rubber bands (only in self-defense, of course), turn off TVs, teach English as a second language, and more. With a lock-that-doesn't-lock and an adventurous spirit, what more could a mischievous hamster want?

With a fresh voice and an engaging, hamster's-eye view of school, families, and treats to hide in a cheek pouch, Betty G. Birney's Humphrey will elicit laughter and demands for hamsters in every elementary classroom.

Paperback
Published on March 3, 2016 by FABER CHILDREN'S BOOKS
ISBN-10: 0571328393
ISBN-13: 9780571328390
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • AwesomeKatieKatThursday, March 14, 2019 at 5:55 pm
    This book is awesome! I think that Humphrey is a cute book. I love it so much!!!
    • summergirl2016
      summergirl2016Sunday, January 22, 2017 at 12:13 pm
      I love this book so much get all the other humphrey books they are cute cute cute cute! I love that hamster!!!!!!
      • lizze 23Wednesday, January 11, 2017 at 2:07 pm
        so cool !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        • hc3
          hc3Tuesday, June 28, 2016 at 8:31 pm
          This is a really good and cute book! I would read this over and over again!
          • memoiloveit
            memoiloveitTuesday, May 31, 2016 at 10:42 am33 stars
            I like that this book showed what life was like in the perspective of a class pet hamster because I've never wondered before
            • pandalizzie
              pandalizzieTuesday, March 1, 2016 at 10:58 am
              I love this book,humphery is the cutest little thing.
              • dolphin33
                dolphin33Monday, August 17, 2015 at 8:55 pm44 stars
                This is a SUPER-GOOD book! I really want it!
                • bugsy
                  bugsyWednesday, June 3, 2015 at 8:37 pm44 stars
                  this book tell,s what it,s like living in a class room as a hamster. Humphrey is like a human he a can write spell and communicate through food. But he gets kinda jealous when the teacher brings in a frog. Will Humphrey go as far to escape his cage in get of room 378 or stay and be loved by his class mates read to find out,in the world according to Humphrey
                  • pandy123
                    pandy123Sunday, May 24, 2015 at 6:45 pm
                    I really want to read this book!
                    • lolhaha
                      lolhahaFriday, May 22, 2015 at 6:08 am55 stars
                      I LOVE YOU HUMPHREY

                      Our Apps and Plugins