Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.8n/a

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Cinder is back and trying to break out of prison―even though she'll be the Commonwealth's most wanted fugitive if she does―in this second installment from Marissa Meyer.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit's grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn't know about her grandmother, or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother's whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana.

An NPR Best Book of 2013

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on February 4, 2014 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250007216
ISBN-13: 9781250007216
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kkgautamm
    kkgautammWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 1:51 pm55 stars
    i liked reading this book! at first i was a little weary of wolf because he seemed weird, but he and scar would be super cute together!
    • 13iamgroot
      13iamgrootWednesday, November 27, 2019 at 11:31 am55 starsFeatured
      Just like the previous Lunar Chronicles book, "Scarlet" is based on a fairy tale, more specifically, Little Red Riding Hood. I loved the mix of the old classics and the futuristic sci-fi in this wonderfully written novel. The main character, named Scarlet, has lived with her grandmother on their farm for as long as she can remember, but unbeknownst to her, everything is about to change. One night her grandma disappears, leaving only her ID chip behind. Scarlet knows that she has been kidnapped, but the police are convinced her grandma just ran away of her own accord, so Scarlet decides to find her grandma herself. She meets a very suspicious character named Wolf who earns his living participating in street fights. They run off together because Wolf claims to have information on her grandma's whereabouts, and Scarlet is desperate. Right when Scarlet thinks she has finally figured out Wolf's character, he turns out to be not at all what he seems. But still Scarlet still feels drawn towards him, even after he betrayed her, and lied to her. Wolf wants to change so he can be with Scarlet, but someone else is controlling him, turning him into an animal, with thoughts only to hunt and kill. Through many highs and lows, and ups and downs, many different stories intertwine when the characters find out why they are connected, and why they have been brought together. This book is a great read for teens who love pretty much any genre.
      • ajg16
        ajg16Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 3:43 pm44 stars
        Ooh I <3 your review
        • 13iamgroot
          13iamgrootWednesday, December 25, 2019 at 1:31 pm55 stars
          Thank you so much!
      • kkgautamm
        kkgautammThursday, May 30, 2019 at 9:58 am55 stars
        scarlet is another amazing character that marissa meyer has created. she has an amazing writing style, and i cannot believe how amazing these fairy tale retellings have become.
        • kkgautamm
          kkgautammWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 10:46 am55 stars
          scarlet is another amazing character that marissa meyer has created. she has an amazing writing style, and i cannot believe how amazing these fairy tale retellings have become.
          • celia_berry13
            celia_berry13Tuesday, May 14, 2019 at 4:52 pm55 stars
            My! How many pages this book has! This book is just fantastic! With a breathtaking mix of romance and adventure, Marissa Meyer spins an amazing tale! Her books are full of colorful and beautifully painted characters. The twists and turns will keep you on your toes! I suggest this book to grades 4th and up and ages 10 and up. Whether you're as furry as Wolf, old as Grandma, or as young as Scarlet, this book is great for you!
            • celia_berry13
              celia_berry13Friday, May 10, 2019 at 4:12 am55 stars
              This book is amazing!
              • beachbreeze15
                beachbreeze15Saturday, March 9, 2019 at 8:10 am55 starsFeatured
                Marissa Meyer literally has me wrapped around her little finger, and i could not get ahold of this second book in the series, Scarlet, soon enough! In addition to everything going on in Cinder's life, starting with her jailbreak from the Commonwealth prison, the realization of her newfound identity and capabilities, and the aid from a fellow inmate, Carswell Thorne, we now get a look into the life of Scarlet Benoit in Rieux, France. Along with her Grandmother, who raised Scarlet (A.K.A. Little Red Riding Hood) after she ran away from her drunken father as a child, everything was normal on Benoit Farms--that is, until Scarlet's Grandmother went missing! Now, with the help of a seemingly untrustworthy and mysterious (and handsome) street fighter nicknamed Wolf, as well as no help whatsoever from the police, who believe the "crazy missing lady" was simply suicidal, Scarlet is taking matters into her own hands to get her Grandmother back! It is absolutely amazing how Meyer intertwines these two amazingly strong female characters, Cinder and Scarlet, (plus two more later on) together into one great book series!
                • ajg16
                  ajg16Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 3:43 pm44 stars
                  That's exactly how I feel! Wrapped right around her finger
                • queen_luna
                  queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 5:07 pm55 stars
                  This is an incredible book full of plot twists, romance, adventure, and much more! It has great characters and excellent storytelling. It's a perfect blend of fairy tales rewritten in a sci-fi setting that is new and exciting!
                  • kittykat101
                    kittykat101Thursday, June 21, 2018 at 8:24 am
                    I used this book for a school project, and lets just say it was a great book. It wasn't quite so closely intertwined with the fairy tale as Cinder, but it had many elements included. I love how both girls, Scarlet and Cinder were looking for each other, causing things to run more smoothly. Almost had the book overdue to the library because I wanted to keep it! :)
                    • septembergirl
                      septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:45 pm44 stars
                      This is such a great series such a good idea. I didn't really like this one as much as the first one but it was still amazing.