Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12X6.057148
Recounts the adventures of Mibs Beaumont, whose 13th birthday has revealed her ""savvy""--a magical power unique to each member of her family--just as her father is injured in a terrible accident.
Hardcover, 450 pages
Published on March 2, 2011 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 141043530X
ISBN-13: 9781410435309
231 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sreadergirl
    sreadergirlThursday, September 26, 2019 at 11:07 am
    So I have not finished this book yet and I am really only at the beginning but so far it is really good and it is about this girl and she is turning 13 and that’s when the kids in her family get their Savvy but her dad gets in a car crash the day before her birthday.
    • applemango
      applemangoWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 8:17 pm44 stars
      Savvy is about Mibs and everbody in the family...on their 13th birthday they get a special power. For example her brother Rocket has the power of electrifying things. When Mibs wakes up and she thinks that she "cures" the turtle she thinks her savvy power is to cure people and animals...when her papa gets into an accident she thinks she can cure him. However, she learns that her savvy power is different.....
      • gracesonWednesday, March 20, 2019 at 10:48 am
        Join Mibs (Mississippi)in this strong tale of finding her power. Mibs comes from one family that has savvies (powers).If your from one of the special families,on your 13th birthday you get your savvy. A few days before her birthday,her dad gets in a big accident.On her birthday she misinterprets a pattern and thinks her savvy is waking things up.In hopes of saving her father,at her birthday party,she runs away to try and get to his hospital.Later into the trip she sees that she actually has the savvy to hear people’s thoughts and feelings if they have ink on their body.Thankfully,her dad has a mermaid tattoo. You will laugh,you might cry (I almost did) and you will want to be the characters best friends.Ingrid Law truly made a amazing world with characters that are wonderfully down to earth.I would say if you like any genre of book,you should read this.
        • lightninggirl
          lightninggirlTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 9:43 am55 stars
          I read this the summer before seventh grade as a summer reading assignment. I absolutely loved the book! My librarian and I from middle school would discuss the book and during ravenous reads, our little book club, we would discuss the book. I am currently in ninth grade and I found this quiz to be a marvelous reminder of all the fun ravenous reads lunches and the novel.
          • slytherinfan
            slytherinfanWednesday, September 19, 2018 at 2:48 pm33 stars
            I read this book a couple of years ago, and it's amazing!
            • ellsworth2424
              ellsworth2424Wednesday, September 19, 2018 at 10:15 am
              I really liked this book. I would say it's magical! It's about an entire family that have "savvy," which means special powers. The book is as adventurous and fun as the family it's about. Savvy makes you want to be part of the Beaumont family.
              • dolphin8
                dolphin8Friday, August 24, 2018 at 6:50 pm55 stars
                this is a rely good book it has lots of rely good things. in fact i got my new book today this book is about magic . the characters stop going to school when they get their magic and its rely neat.
                • at41569
                  at41569Thursday, August 23, 2018 at 5:53 pm55 stars
                  This was amazing and extremely suspenseful. I really loved it and highly recommend it! I really enjoyed the outcome(although I won't spoil it!). Thank You!
                  • jso6
                    jso6Wednesday, August 22, 2018 at 11:03 am55 stars
                    This book was great! It's about a girl who gets her magical power or "savvy" on her thirteenth birthday, just as her dad is injured. I enjoyed this book, and I'll probabaly read it again another time.
                    • ajg16
                      ajg16Tuesday, August 7, 2018 at 11:16 am44 stars
                      Mibs (Mississippi) Beaumont is going to be 13 soon, as if becoming a teenager isn't hard enough, 13 is when people in her family get there Savvy - one of her brothers caused hurricanes and another brother creates electricity - who wouldn't be nervous? Mine hopes for a really cool savvy, like flying or even X-Ray vision, but her poppa gets in a bad accident all she wants is a savvy good enough to save him. One thing leads to another and Mibs, her brothers Fish & Samson, Bobbi and her "brother" Will Jr. , To on a super fun/crazy adventure to go save Mibs poppa! What will her savvy be?? READ ON! Super great read, enjoyed every page. Thanks for reading - Ajg15's Reviews