Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12X6.057148
Recounts the adventures of Mibs Beaumont, whose 13th birthday has revealed her ""savvy""--a magical power unique to each member of her family--just as her father is injured in a terrible accident.
Hardcover, 450 pages
Published on March 2, 2011 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 141043530X
ISBN-13: 9781410435309
214 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • idzi_ellie
    idzi_ellieWednesday, July 18, 2018 at 4:34 pm55 stars
    This is an AMAZING book if your into weird/magical things. It has very creative characters and lots of adventure. I personally loved this book and I totally recommend it to anyone thinking about reading it. Mibs- the main character gets very well developed along with other members of her family. Once you're done with this you can read scrumble the sequel to savvy; but it is not as good as the first one.
    • addglitter
      addglitterMonday, July 16, 2018 at 9:05 am44 stars
      This was an amazing story! It had everything: a little adventure, some romance, and great characters too. It makes you want to have your very own special savvy.
      • cgwong908
        cgwong908Wednesday, July 11, 2018 at 11:13 am33 stars
        The main characters name is Mibs. She has a special family. When anyone in the family turn 13, they get a secret power. Her brother, Fish has the power to start hurricanes, her grandma can catch soundwaves and Mibs other brother, Rocket can keep the electricity flowing even during a blackout. On her 13th birthday, Mibs decides to find a way to get to Salina, Kanas because she needs to get to her dad(who suffered a car crash). She believes that her savvy is that she can wake things up. She sneaks onto a bus with Fish, Samson(her little brother), Bobbi and Will Junior(Mrs. Rosemary’s son and daughter). Later, a ALERT! MISSING! ALERT came up on the news. They meet the driver, Lester Swan. He has two tattoos. One that says Rhonda and another one that says Carlene. Right then, Mibs learned that she can read minds, only if the person has ink on them. Mibs could read Carlene and Rhonda fighting in her head. Little did Mibs know that it would take 1 day to get to Salina. Lester picks up a woman named Lill. She works in a diner with a very mean and rude manager. She loses her job and the manager gives her all the money from the cash register. The whole group finds a motel to sleep at. After that, Lester goes to give something to Carlene. Fish took Samson to the bathroom and returns. Carlene realized that Bobbi, Mibs, Samson, Fish and Will junior are the ALERT! MISSING! ALERT kids from the news. She starts to call the police while Samson hides. Everyone forgot about Samson and told Lester to hit the rode… until they realize Samson is back at Carlene’s house. They drive back and start looking for Samson. When they couldn’t find him, they asked Carlene. she told them that he was in the wall storage. The police came and told Mibs that she could go to Salina. In the end, everyone was happy. My favorite part is when Mib’s dad recovered from the accident. My favorite character is Mibs. Her Savvy is so cool. She can read minds!!!!! But, I also feel bad about her because of her dad. She had all these people bully her because of her name. I recommend this book to anyone who doesn’t give up.
        • dreambig100
          dreambig100Monday, July 9, 2018 at 7:48 pm44 stars
          The Book Savvy is wonderful book about family, adventure, weird abilities and love. When I read Savvy I magically got lured into the world of Ingrid Law. She is one of my favorite authors. I loved Savvy so much that I have even read Scumble which also another terrific book.
          • beyourself
            beyourselfMonday, July 9, 2018 at 4:34 am22 stars
            This book was kind of confusing, so I had to start it over 3 times because I didn't get it. It was O.K, but it wasn't that interesting.
            • wiccanbat666
              wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 7:27 pm55 stars
              I liked just about everything about Savvy. Interesting characters--Mibs, Fish, Lester, Lill, Will Junior, Bobbi, all well-developed. I really enjoyed getting to know these characters. I had high hopes for Lester, smiled when Lill brought out the best in him, and worried when trouble met the big pink bus. While the story concept is intriguing, it's Ingrid Law's writing that made the story shine. She has a wonderful savvy for words, if you will.
              • demigod3000
                demigod3000Saturday, June 30, 2018 at 12:42 pm55 stars
                Mibs Beaumont just turned thirteen and discovered her Savvy-a magical power that runs in the family. Although everything seems hunky-dory, her father has just been injured! Will she be able to figure out what her Savvy is and help her father?
                • soyster
                  soysterWednesday, June 27, 2018 at 8:08 pm55 stars
                  This book was really good. It revolves mainly around 4 kids named Will Junior, Bobbi, Mibs, and Fish. Mibs' dad gets in a car accident right before her 13th birthday, which is when in her family called the Beaumont family, they get their own savvy. A savvy is like a special power they get, but they don't know what it's going to be until their birthday. She wanted to go to her dad in a town named Salina, so she sneaked onto a bus that she thought was going to that town. Her brother, Fish, wouldn't allow her to go alone, and since Will wanted to go, Bobbi wouldn't let him go alone. The story gets all tangled up when the bus heads in the opposite direction of their intended place and they meet new people on the way. This book was really exiting and I really enjoyed it. I especially liked the character Samson, who was Mibs' and Fish's younger brother. I think that if you have the chance, you should read this book.
                  • auntieb
                    auntiebTuesday, June 26, 2018 at 8:37 am55 stars
                    Savvy Is a book where 12-year old Mississippi "Mibs" Beaumont turns 13-years old and when she does like all the Beaumonts before she will get her savvy where she will have some talent whether it;s like her mother who is perfect, or her grandpa who can move mountains and create land. When her father gets into a car crash Mibs thinks her savvy can help him but on a long bus ride she discovers her savvy isn't quite what she thought
                    • Vbat24 Wednesday, June 20, 2018 at 3:20 pm
                      This book is pretty good. It is one of the best.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hopes
                      hopes wrote:

                      I loved this book because it was...
                      Mustaches for Maddie

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      I am reading the Land Of Stories...
                      The Curvy Tree: A Tale from the ...

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Zach King lives in a family that...
                      Zach King: My Magical Life

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Rump is a boy with half of a nam...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...