Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.438346
In post WWII Russia, one boy dares to save an entire race of outlawed dogs -- the German shepherd!

World War II has just ended when thirteen-year-old Mikhail finds a dying man and his German shepherd, Zasha, in the woods. It's dangerous -- some say traitorous -- to own a German dog after Germany attacked Russia, so Mikhail must keep Zasha a secret to keep her alive.

But Mikhail's rival, Katia, is determined to find the dog she is sure he's hiding. At the same time, a soldier named Dimitri is breeding a new Russian dog at a nearby farm. So many dogs were lost in combat, to starvation, and in the slaughter of German dogs that the country is in dire need of every kind of dog.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on January 1, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545206324
ISBN-13: 9780545206327
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • misskyla22
    misskyla22Monday, November 7, 2016 at 4:01 pm
    This book is really great and you should read it if you are a dog lover if you are a dog lover or a war lover and love WWII then this is your kind of book. No spoiler alerts so you need to tread the book because it is really good mkay.
    • ryanl20
      ryanl20Tuesday, December 1, 2015 at 2:14 am44 stars
      I really like this book about the animals, I'm also an animal lover, and I have pets myself. I can really connect myself to the story and the author's feelings. I love the dog Zasha in the book, she's brave, intelligent, and very friendly. I think the story is very interesting and exciting, especially the part where the men in yellow van show up, when I was reading it, I was very nervous about what will happen. I'm also surprised when Mikhail's mother found that Zasha is having babies. At the beginning, I really hate Katia since she want to find Zasha and many many times, she almost put them into dangerous and troubles. But at the end, I really like Katia since she's actually a nice kid, and she actually loves animals.
      • BlakeMonday, November 16, 2015 at 9:03 am
        This Book is REALLY Good so far... If anybody wants to know more about Russia after World War 2, HIGHLY Recommend it. Anybody needs to read it.
        • plopFriday, October 16, 2015 at 6:23 am
          it looks good
          • ayanoma
            ayanomaFriday, October 16, 2015 at 4:46 am55 stars
            This book is a great one.It great characters like Mikhail and Katia.Saving Zasha is a wonderful book 10/10
            • ryanl20
              ryanl20Friday, October 16, 2015 at 3:59 am44 stars
              I really like this book about the animals, I'm also an animal lover, and I have pets myself. I can really connect myself to the story and the author's feelings. I love the dog Zasha in the book, she's brave, intelligent, and very friendly. I think the story is very interesting and exciting, especially the part where the men in yellow van show up, when I was reading it, I was very nervous about what will happen.
              • tmart16
                tmart16Thursday, May 23, 2013 at 5:47 am55 stars
                i have not read this book yet im still reading finding zasha but this will be a great book i know it
                • doglover20
                  doglover20Tuesday, March 12, 2013 at 10:44 am33 stars
                  Im reading it right now
                  • DanaeMonday, February 4, 2013 at 12:25 pm
                    This book is amazing and with animals is even better
                    • majorerika6
                      majorerika6Friday, November 23, 2012 at 4:01 pm
                      I liked this book it was an easy read but still heart wrenching. I made u think about what was going to happen next and you will predict a lot!