Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6Grades 2 - 5R4.15677
Hospitalized with the dreaded atom bomb disease, leukemia, a child in Hiroshima races against time to fold one thousand paper cranes to verify the legend that by doing so a sick person will become healthy.
Hardcover, 64 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307256227
ISBN-13: 9780307256225
37 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • stellaluna
    stellalunaSunday, November 24, 2019 at 7:50 pm55 starsFeatured
    Sadako, a young girl born after the atom bomb hit Japan, though the diseases still lay in the town. She was born to be a runner, until she started not feeling right. Her parents did not know until she fainted right before them. Of course, they rushed her too the hospital, and the doctors say she contracted leukemia, a disease from the atom bomb. She immediately starts folding one thousand paper cranes, because in the Japan culture, if you fold one thousand paper cranes the gods will make your wish come true. Can she make in time to fold enough cranes, or will she grow weak and pass? I loved this book so much, and I appreciate the author creating a new window to what actually happened.
    • Little girlMonday, April 15, 2019 at 8:18 am
      This book was an open window to how War makes others suffer. If it wasn’t for this book, I would have never known...
      • BookCriticThursday, March 28, 2019 at 3:21 pm
        This realistic fiction book was really good the 10 times i read it. This story helped me realize the problems of the world. It is a story of hope and happiness
        • writer
          writerWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 5:49 am55 stars
          This book is about a young girl named sudoko who was born a little bit before the atom bomb exploded and when she was in 4th grade she discovered she had leukemia and her friend told her if she makes 1,000 paper cranes she would be made better.
          • lovebug101
            lovebug101Monday, January 15, 2018 at 2:52 pm55 stars
            This is an amazing but really sad book about a girl named Sadako. When she was a baby the atom bomb hit japan. Sadako was born to be a runner. Sooner are later she got dizzy a lot. She didn't tell her parents until she fainted and the found out. Her parents brought her to the hospital and she a the atom bomb disease. One day her friend came to visit her in the hospital and she told Sadako about the 1000 paper cranes and If you make 1000 paper cranes that you will be able to make a wish. My class is making 1000 paper cranes too to make a wish!
            • carnagein_cccp
              carnagein_cccpWednesday, September 13, 2017 at 6:01 pm55 stars
              I remember reading this with my friends back in the years. The book was a little too short, but was one of the best WWII books I've read. I haven't read it in years, but I will sum it up. Sadako Sasaki. She is a girl who grew up in post-war Japan, after the bombings. She lived a mile away from Ground Zero. She contracts leukemia, and starts folding paper cranes. In Japan, it is said, that if you fold a thousand paper cranes, the gods will listen to you, and heal you. She couldn't, according to her book, only folding around 700 before becoming too weak. I remember the last line of the book, clear as day, "She never woke up." However, according to her family, she folded more than a thousand before dying. Anyway you slice it, she lives on, as there is a statue of Sadako at the Hiroshima Peace Park.
              • howdygamerFriday, March 4, 2016 at 12:37 pm
                It's my favorite book
                • dongoThursday, December 10, 2015 at 7:55 pm
                  best book ever
                  • dongoThursday, December 10, 2015 at 7:54 pm
                    i like this book because it is abut a girl that got the otomic boom desis. and it is sad to but it is intesting. and that she neded to go to the hospital. and when some days pass in the hospital and then she found her friend there. and they where both in a wheel chair.and the kid all of his famaly died because the otomic boom. but it was only him and here uncle. so that is really sad . and then just one day in the hospital sadako hered that the beds that have wheels on them. sadako hered them and she was worring wat happend and then the doctor came and told the bad news to sadako and she was craing so hard that she went where the window was. and then since then she made 1000 paper crains and so nobody else can go to that same mistake.and sadako was only 11 years old so that really must be hard for her. and just a nother day she was really tired and she went to sleep. and she never woke up but she never got to finish the crains. but someone found them and they wanted to finish them. so scince this day the otmic boom that happend in japan gave the disis to sadako and they made a statue of her so they can remember what she did and with the paper crains they put them araund her neck so people know what she done so they hade to make a statue of her
                    • ulyssardongo
                      ulyssardongoThursday, December 10, 2015 at 11:27 am
                      I recomend this book because it is based on a true story. I recomend this because it was very touching that Sadako got the Adam bom disees. I recomend this book because it was very hopeful because Sadako she thought that if she would fold one thousand paper crains that the gods would grant her a wish. She was going to use that wish so that she could survive the Adam bom disees. I recomend this book because it is very sad that she was going to see her friend one day and he was dead the next morning. I recomend this book because at the starting of the book she was a very good runner and she thought that almost any thing was a sign of good look. irecomend this book because the main character was very hopeful and nice. I recomend this book because it is sad when sadako dies in the hospital. i recomend this book because the main character was hopeful and very kind to others.