Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 10n/a6.7136048

Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read

The worldwide bestseller—now a major motion picture directed by Steven Spielberg.


In the year 2045, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade's devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world's digital confines—puzzles that are based on their creator's obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them.

But when Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade's going to survive, he'll have to win—and confront the real world he's always been so desperate to escape.

Paperback, 400 pages
Published on June 5, 2012 by Broadway Books
ISBN-10: 0307887448
ISBN-13: 9780307887443
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • UnknownSunday, September 15, 2019 at 10:45 am
    The plot of it is amaZing making use of it's 80's references and using to it's advantages.Though the 80's references still from time to time get distracting.A book I will highly recommend.
    • sammckenney
      sammckenneyWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 3:22 pm55 stars
      Anyway, I went to an early screening of this movie last night and it was amazing. You should absolutely go see it. (When it comes out anyway!) I have been a big fan of this book for a while and I FLIPPED when the trailer came out. I love video games and movies so this book was a jackpot. I will warn anyone who has read the book and wants to see the movie. It is NOT a exact replica of the book! Don't go into it with that mindset! The premise is still the same. Wade, Aech, Art3mis, Halliday's Egg, Nolan Sorrento, The Sixers, they're all still there! But the challenges have been changed for a wider audience, (So 10-year-olds don't have to be confused as to every eighties reference.) and the aesthetic of the OASIS is tuned to a slightly more modern selection of viewers. I also loved I-Rok's new role. (NO spoilers for you! ) I am NOT saying this movie sucked because of the changes made. If anything I am saying the opposite! The book is still better, (Like most book to movie adaptations.) but the movie is amazing. I expected nothing less from Speilberg and his amazing team. The actors, score, and visuals were phenomenal and I cant wait to go back to find the millions (And I mean MILLIONS!) of easter eggs and references in this movie! Kudos to you, Speilberg! My Rating/Award- Five Stars and Best Video Game Movie I've Ever Seen!
      • domosaur
        domosaurFriday, July 27, 2018 at 5:51 pm55 starsFeatured
        With a global energy crisis, over population, and many more problems, many people on Earth turn to the OASIS, a multiplayer simulation game, where everyone can live the life they want, just like Wade Watts did. The OASIS was created by the brilliant mind of James Halliday, and after he died, the whole world found out that he left his whole fortune for the most worthy OASIS user, who had to do to Easter Egg Halliday had hidden in the OASIS by finding the three keys, and passing the three gates, as well as the final task. Soon nearly everyone was on the OASIS to find the egg. The IOI also hired a task force just for the egg. Wade, on the other hand, considered himself to be a gunter, since he knew everything about Halliday and was always thinking about the clue for the location of the first key. Will Wade be worthy enough to find the Easter Egg, or will IOI beat him to it? Blinded by fame and love, will Wade really risk his relationships with all his friends, and isolate himself? Or will he get his head back into the game and not let his popularity change his personality? To find out, you should read Ready Player One. It is now one of my favorite books, and I really enjoyed reading it. Throughout the whole book, I found it fascinating how detailed it was, and my favorite part was how Wade changed from being blinded by popularity to becoming more humble thoughtful. There were always new twists in the book, and I recommend this book to anyone who loves science fiction. I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars.
        • my squadWednesday, March 21, 2018 at 10:37 am
          best book ever
          • demosthenes
            demosthenesSaturday, November 19, 2016 at 7:07 pm55 stars
            i read this book in english, and loved it, but what i really wanted to say was that im honestly proud of Ernest Cline because he hates reading and only loves video games but he decided to write a book about what he was passionate about anyway!
            • mackena
              mackenaThursday, January 7, 2016 at 11:44 am
              read it already
              • pinshadow
                pinshadowFriday, April 12, 2013 at 6:50 am55 stars
                Amazing book for any lover of retro cartoons, video games, movies, and music about the 1980's. Set in a world where World War Three happened and The only thing people live for is OASIS, a free online video game, a contest for 240 billion dollars sets off one amazing pop culture adventure.