The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Book 1 of 4 in the The Penderwicks Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.754550
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
Hardcover, 262 pages
Published on June 14, 2005 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375831436
ISBN-13: 9780375831430
174 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • roxanne3
    roxanne3Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 3:12 pm55 stars
    I have read this series so many times, but I loved it every time too. I think Rosy is my favorite sister, though Batty is a lose second. I fortunately don't know what it is like to lose a parent, but I think these books have some advice and will help other kids get through this. I recommend this to anyone and everyone!!
    • sylvie55555
      sylvie55555Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 6:13 pm55 stars
      This book is the first book in the Penderwicks series! When thier summer plans are canceled at the last minute because they were no longer able to find a cottage near the beach, all four of the Penderwick sisters (Rosalind, Skye, Jane, and Batty) are devastated. So they are excited when they find out that they get to stay at a cottage called Arundale for two weeks. But the cottage is even better than they planned with a boy named Jeffery who is sure to be a friend forever and a boy named Cagney who tends to the garden who Rosy just might like. But there's only one problem... Ms. Tifton, Jeffery's awful mother. Read the book to find out what happens. I love this book because it is peaceful but a good story with a consistent plot.
      • katnip_everdeen
        katnip_everdeenTuesday, May 5, 2020 at 11:48 am55 stars
        Easily one of the best books I've ever read, the characters have so much growth, and I like how much it kept my attention!
        • freewayiscute
          freewayiscuteTuesday, October 1, 2019 at 1:06 pm55 stars
          The Penderwicks is a book series that I recommend. The four Sisters, Rosalind, Skye, Jane, and Batty are staying at a summer home that their dad found for three weeks. They find a new friend named Jeffery and his snotty mother who is always in a grump. Join the family on a set of adventures.
          • soccerchick03
            soccerchick03Wednesday, June 26, 2019 at 5:50 am55 stars
            This is a book about four girls who go on a vacation to a cottage with their father. This cottage shares its grounds with a wealthy estate that the kids run around in. They meet a boy and a collage student one of them falls in love with. Ages 10+
            • freewayjada5
              freewayjada5Saturday, June 1, 2019 at 7:41 am55 stars
              thee Penderwicks is about a family of five. four girls and their dad, their mom died from cancer. one year their vacation house was booked so they went to Arundel Hall and met a boy named Jeffery and his rude mother. want to know what happens next? read the book.
              • kgbradshaw
                kgbradshawSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 10:58 am44 stars
                This book is bound to be a classic that goes down in history with stories about family, like Little Women. A fun story with inspiration, laughs and moments that will infuriate you. I stumbled upon this book awhile ago, and decided to return to it when I saw it on the reading list! I hope you like it as much as I do, and always remember: Blue eyes, blue Skye.
                • reader_red
                  reader_redThursday, May 16, 2019 at 4:54 pm55 stars
                  The Penderwicks is a thrilling summer tale that introduces the beginning of an entertaining series. Right at the beginning it sets the picture of a delightful little family on their way to a new vacation spot. The four Penderwick girls are forced to put up with snooty Mrs. Tifton. And as the girls begin to get used to the new settings they make a few friends.
                  • C.C 4EvaWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 8:45 pm
                    It was an amazing book, and very interesting with so many exciting topics! If you hadn't read it yet, you definitely should! You'll love it as much as I do! In fact, I loved it so much I got the whole series!
                    • smart_cat
                      smart_catWednesday, March 13, 2019 at 12:44 pm55 stars
                      SOOO great! I have the whole series and I love them all

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3809
                      Books reviewed:1775
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:93

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      applemango
                      belle252
                      belle252
                      jwarne
                      jwarne
                      eybook2018
                      eybook2018
                      lumos
                      lumos
                      auntieb
                      auntieb
                      jso6
                      jso6
                      spykitten
                      spykitten
                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb