Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Paperback
Published on August 5, 2013 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1471350509
ISBN-13: 9781471350504
3781 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • animallover1456
    animallover1456Monday, March 30, 2020 at 7:11 am55 stars
    i read this at my school it is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good it teaches you a good lesson. i would give ''Wonder'' a 10 star rate ( if i could) give more stars
    • shinebright
      shinebrightThursday, March 19, 2020 at 10:41 am55 stars
      GREAT BOOK- absolute must read :)
      • bugga_boo
        bugga_booWednesday, March 18, 2020 at 8:30 pm
        wow thanks dogo 10 stars please !:)
        • bugga_boo
          bugga_booWednesday, March 18, 2020 at 8:28 pm
          i can relate to auggie because i was born with a very birth marked face an the only friends i have are online because no one can see me face and go ewwwwwwwwwwwww whats wrong with that girl ,is she evan human she's more like an it ... plese don't lafugh at me its hard enoufgh do any of you relate to myime and auggies story ???????? thanks!
          • peachescreamla3
            peachescreamla3Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 1:28 pm
            I would really love to read this book and hope to see it in the library sometime. I can’t rate it yet because I have not read it yet!
            • ahinoanime
              ahinoanimeFriday, March 13, 2020 at 9:36 am55 stars
              I really liked this book even though it was a little longer of a book that I would normally read. The book was about a boy who was having trouble in school because of his facial disorder that he is not fund of, he makes good friends and knows that on the inside he is the same as everybody else.I gave this book a five star review because of its message that it brings, that even though someone looks different from you on the outside ,doesn't mean that they are any different from you on the inside.
              • chalas1920
                chalas1920Tuesday, April 7, 2020 at 8:20 am
                ahinoanime, I read this book before and I totally agree with you this book has a great message
              • superdogmanFriday, March 13, 2020 at 7:20 am
                this is the best in the trust me the best and its a sad book
                • mimiv
                  mimivThursday, March 12, 2020 at 6:34 pm55 stars
                  This book is very heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time. The book surrounds a little boy who struggles to gain confidence in how he looks while being a new school and trying to make new friends. The book takes some ups and downs while showing people's life at home. I gave this book 5 stars because it was very entertaining and kept me on the edge of my seat. I connected to this book teaching me how everyone deserves a chance no matter how they look or how different they are because everyone is human.
                  • peytonestrada
                    peytonestradaThursday, March 12, 2020 at 1:47 pm44 stars
                    Wonder is about a little boy who has a face deformity and how he learns to befriend his classmates. He goes through struggles and tough emotions. I connected to this book because it shows every one deserves a chance. I give it a four-star because it's really nice that it shows every one gets a chance.
                    • Elisabeth Tuesday, March 10, 2020 at 1:45 pm
                      It is a great book to read I loved it.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252