Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Paperback
Published on August 5, 2013 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1471350509
ISBN-13: 9781471350504
3733 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • HiSaturday, October 19, 2019 at 3:23 pm
    Beautiful. Despite August's Face deformity, he managed to keep up.
    • AvaLIA&KialSaturday, October 19, 2019 at 12:50 pm
      Wonder is One of those books that teach kids important things in life like what is it called again...*a few minutes later* Yes it's a Moral A Moral is when a book has somebody who or a animal that is not capable of doing something others can,and then you learn that No matter what yoU can or can't do your always special and unique. Wonder is one of the best stories with the best Moral or character trait and morals always have a character trait. Wonder is a great book to teach kids about Being different and being kind to others who are different but they are not different there just unique or they just are not there YET. Some people can't do something you can do because there not there YET you will be there one day always remember to be happy and don't treat others differently.If you are the different one Don't worry you'll get there I know it!!!
      • megnog
        megnogThursday, October 17, 2019 at 5:13 pm55 stars
        "Wonder" is an amazing book. It shows you that, just because someone looks different doesn't mean they should be treated different. This book gives, I think, very good advice, "when given the choice to be right or to be kind, choose kind.". This book may seem like it just is one of those books that seem to be giving you a lecture but, it is so much more than that. It shows you how words, nice or not, can change a person's thinking. This book deserves all the attention it gets and more, and is by far a favorite of mine. ~ Meg
        • starkk_22
          starkk_22Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 1:32 pm55 stars
          This is an AMAZING book. I enjoyed it so much I couldn't put it down. It's one of those books you just don't want to end. I like how the author puts you in every ones shoes. So you get a lot of different perspectives. I highly suggest that you read this. I promise, you'll love it.
          • 22trans
            22transThursday, October 17, 2019 at 6:31 am55 stars
            I absolutely love this book. It has a great meaning to it. The meaning of this story is about bullying, in this story a young boy named Auggie that was home schooled for most of his life and that was going to a real school. He was bullied a lot but the bullying had eventually stopped. I had connected to this book because I have seen people get bullied and I know how it feels. Those are the reasons why I would read this book.
            • addyl97
              addyl97Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 3:59 pm55 stars
              "Wonder" is a terrific book! It is one of my favorite books that I've read by far. It teaches and shows us to be kind to one another and treat others with respect. It doesn't matter what people look like. We are all the same under our looks. One saying that reminds of this book is " Don't judge a book by its cover." Which many people do under instinct. And the saying that people should remember before they go and judge someone before they even know them is " When given the choice between being right and being kind CHOOSE KIND."
              • georgiasilver
                georgiasilverSunday, October 13, 2019 at 10:32 am55 stars
                "Wonder" is a terrific book. It is the type of book that lingers in your thoughts long after you have finished it; the type that allows you to ponder what others may go through on a daily basis. "Wonder", with its wide range of characters and lessons, will take you through a journey of curiosity, compassion, heartbreak, and acceptance. It teaches the reader about the beauty and kindness of compassion, and what friendships can do for people. If you are one who is searching for a book to have you emotionally immersed and possibly even change your mindset, read this book~! ^w^
                • Whizz cat !Friday, October 11, 2019 at 1:24 pm
                  Awww l feel sorry for auggui he is a really nice person who has a facial disease and the teachers and kids think he is just WIERD !!!!!!!
                  • JFriday, October 11, 2019 at 10:46 am
                    Oh My Goodness this book is amazing it is heartwarming and not like any other bbok
                    • zzamazingcoco
                      zzamazingcocoTuesday, October 8, 2019 at 12:30 pm55 stars
                      I'm on part 7

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252