This classic about a 10-year-old boy growing up in the Ozark mountains with his inseparable pair of coonhounds will warm the hearts of young and old alike.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 14, 1998 by HOLT MCDOUGAL
ISBN-10: 0030547741
ISBN-13: 9780030547744
109 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • jpenguin12
    jpenguin12Thursday, July 13, 2017 at 2:00 pm44 stars
    Billy wants puppies REALLY bad. But he doesn't want just any puppies. He wants two hunting hounds. When he finally gets them Billy and his hounds go on all kinds adventures.
    • sadier
      sadierMonday, July 10, 2017 at 3:04 pm55 stars
      I love this book. It is like To Kill A Mockingbird in some ways but remains in its own world for a lot of the story. I would recommend this book to middle schoolers and high schoolers.
      • readwriter
        readwriterFriday, June 16, 2017 at 2:14 pm55 stars
        This book was a very sad story. It was about a boy who gets two hunting dogs. He raises them and loves them more than anything. But then tragedy strikes and he doesn't know if he can handle it. It almost made me cry.
        • hannah_kwonn
          hannah_kwonnTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 4:31 pm55 stars
          Where the Red Fern Grows, by Wilson Rawls is one awesome book!! In this heart-warming tale, you can read the perspective of a boy who only wanted a dog. Billy's story shows true friendship, perseverance, and helps you understand how hard work pays off. Mr. Rawls story is a wonderful work of art that shows one boy's love for two Redbone Coonhounds.
          • annette
            annetteFriday, June 9, 2017 at 1:53 pm44 stars
            This book is so so so sad! I understand how the ending fits with the book {Spoilers: the dogs die!!! :( }, but the ending is very depressing. The beginning and middle of the book aren't sad and the book is really interesting. The book kept me reading until the end, and the main character and the dogs have many victories and happy moments throughout the story. But it really is a sad book. I cried for about 20 minutes when I finished.
            • fidgetspinner
              fidgetspinnerWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 11:00 am
              This is a very sad book, but a really good one nonetheless. It is about an ordinary boy whose childhood dream is to have two little pups. It is the story about a growing boy and his growing puppies as they play and hunt together, going on exciting misadventures. I couldn't put it down, not even to hold my fidget spinner. Now I am really depressed.
              • snicker9
                snicker9Tuesday, June 6, 2017 at 1:03 pm44 stars
                Where the Red Fern Grows is the story of young Billy Coleman who lives Ozark Mountains of Oklahoma. All Billy wants is a puppy-but not any dog. He wants two coonhounds, which are unfortunately out of the question for his less than wealthy family. But Billy is determined and goes to work at odd jobs-for two years. Billy's first adventure with the pups starts at the very beginning. Billy has to walk to pick up the puppies from the depot, and walks for miles throughout the hills there and back. Billy is captured by his dogs, naming them Old Dan and Little Ann. Billy trains, lives, and suffers with his pups, hitting setback after setback. But Billy's dream lives, and persistence pays out. In the process Billy and his dogs form an amazingly strong bond. I like that in this book that there are so many obstacles for Billy, not only in training his dogs, but also for his family overall. Yet, he and his family are always able to pull through. It is a very inspiring story. I recommend this book to elementary and middle school aged kids, although even older will enjoy it. I think fans of classics and realistic fiction will most enjoy this book. Prepare for a heart-wrencher! I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
                • rrwwnn
                  rrwwnnSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 12:15 pm55 stars
                  Dan has the brawn Ann is the smartest person there and billy is training to learn to hunt and live but later they find power a love and action book
                  • kroncer
                    kroncerSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 10:09 am22 stars
                    Where the Red Fern Grows was a well-written book, but I didn't find the plot that engaging. It takes place in Oklahoma, and the main character Billy wants nothing more than to have two puppies. He wants to train them for hunting. Anyway, the ending was sad, which is also why I didn't like it.
                    • kroncer
                      kroncerFriday, June 2, 2017 at 7:54 pm22 stars
                      Where the Red Fern Grows was a well-written book, but I didn't find the plot that engaging. It takes place in Oklahoma, and the main character Billy wants nothing more than to have two puppies. He wants to train them for hunting. Anyway, the ending was sad, which is also why I didn't like it.

                      Summer Reading 2017 ends in:

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books being read:2890
                      Books reviewed:917
                      Lip Moisturizer won:121
                      Belle's Library won:81
                      Blu-ray Combo Pack won:44
                      Schools participating:99
                      Libraries participating:1

                      Members (495)

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      rrwwnn
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      llpanda