This classic about a 10-year-old boy growing up in the Ozark mountains with his inseparable pair of coonhounds will warm the hearts of young and old alike.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 14, 1998 by HOLT MCDOUGAL
ISBN-10: 0030547741
ISBN-13: 9780030547744
114 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lrohne24
    lrohne24Wednesday, November 15, 2017 at 5:51 pm55 starsFeatured
    There are a lot of good and great books in the world, but Where The Red Fern Grows is definitely something special. Ten year old Billy Colman has his heart set on getting dogs. To be specific, he wants two coonhounds. He asks again and again for those two dogs, but as much as his parents want to get them for him, they can't afford two coonhounds for Billy. So Billy works long and hard so he can buy two coonhounds with his own money. Eventually, Billy gets the amount he needs and buys two coonhounds. He names them Old Dan and Little Ann. Billy works with them and trains them, and Old Dan and Little Ann turn out to be excellent coon hunters. They tree so many raccoons which Billy sells to get money for his family. Soon, Old Dan and Little Ann are more to Billy than his hunting dogs. They are his best friends. Where The Red Fern Grows is such a heartwarming story. I love the bond Billy has with his dogs. This classic is one of my favorites. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 10+.
    • ???????????????Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 2:17 pm
      I love this book it's just I hate it when the dog dies and the other one dies next to him.😢
      • hamiltonfan
        hamiltonfanFriday, August 18, 2017 at 5:28 pm44 stars
        This story is about a boy who lives in a poor family that wants nothing more than to fulfil his dreams of getting two hunting dogs. Unfortunately, his family is not very wealthy so they give him some traps to hunt with instead. The boy is inspired to raise money to buy two dogs, and eventually comes up with enough money. He goes off to buy the dogs, comes back, and then the story unfurls. Read Where The Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls for an amazing tale of loyalty and perseverance.
        • jo13
          jo13Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at 7:12 am55 stars
          I read this awhile ago when I was younger....the book was wonderful and I read it many times. Its about this boy and his 2 redbone coon hounds and all the adventures he has with them. He goes hunting for raccoons with them and soon they become wonderful hunters! He enters in a contest to see who can hunt the most 'coons before it ends. Who will win? Read this book to find out.
          • jb_penguin12
            jb_penguin12Thursday, July 13, 2017 at 2:00 pm44 stars
            Billy wants puppies REALLY bad. But he doesn't want just any puppies. He wants two hunting hounds. When he finally gets them Billy and his hounds go on all kinds adventures.
            • sadier
              sadierMonday, July 10, 2017 at 3:04 pm55 stars
              I love this book. It is like To Kill A Mockingbird in some ways but remains in its own world for a lot of the story. I would recommend this book to middle schoolers and high schoolers.
              • readwriter
                readwriterFriday, June 16, 2017 at 2:14 pm55 stars
                This book was a very sad story. It was about a boy who gets two hunting dogs. He raises them and loves them more than anything. But then tragedy strikes and he doesn't know if he can handle it. It almost made me cry.
                • emmdro1718
                  emmdro1718Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 10:51 am
                  This made me actually made me cry, I love the dogs so much!!
                • hannah_kwonn
                  hannah_kwonnTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 4:31 pm55 stars
                  Where the Red Fern Grows, by Wilson Rawls is one awesome book!! In this heart-warming tale, you can read the perspective of a boy who only wanted a dog. Billy's story shows true friendship, perseverance, and helps you understand how hard work pays off. Mr. Rawls story is a wonderful work of art that shows one boy's love for two Redbone Coonhounds.
                  • annette
                    annetteFriday, June 9, 2017 at 1:53 pm44 stars
                    This book is so so so sad! I understand how the ending fits with the book {Spoilers: the dogs die!!! :( }, but the ending is very depressing. The beginning and middle of the book aren't sad and the book is really interesting. The book kept me reading until the end, and the main character and the dogs have many victories and happy moments throughout the story. But it really is a sad book. I cried for about 20 minutes when I finished.
                    • fidgetspinner
                      fidgetspinnerWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 11:00 am
                      This is a very sad book, but a really good one nonetheless. It is about an ordinary boy whose childhood dream is to have two little pups. It is the story about a growing boy and his growing puppies as they play and hunt together, going on exciting misadventures. I couldn't put it down, not even to hold my fidget spinner. Now I am really depressed.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3510
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      rrwwnn
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252