Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.975528

This classic about a 10-year-old boy growing up in the Ozark mountains with his inseparable pair of coonhounds will warm the hearts of young and old alike.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 14, 1998 by HOLT MCDOUGAL
ISBN-10: 0030547741
ISBN-13: 9780030547744
120 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • libster04
    libster04Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 10:02 am55 stars
    I really enjoyed this book.
    • bjkck
      bjkckFriday, May 11, 2018 at 6:30 am55 stars
      This book will throw you through emotions like sad,happy,exited. The author really does a really good job at describing the characters to make to feel like you are right there with them. When I started reading I never wanted to stop for how good this book was.
      • carrotcomedy
        carrotcomedyMonday, March 12, 2018 at 7:56 am
        This book is the best thing ever i I would rank this a 5 out of 5
        • bigpotatoe17
          bigpotatoe17Wednesday, January 17, 2018 at 7:02 am55 stars
          Where the Red Fern Grows is an emotional, heartwarming book. A boy, billy, wants to own 2 hunting hounds, but his mom wont let him. He spends 2 YEARS rasing $50 to buy 2 hounds. This classic combines action with sweetness. A book anyone can read.
          • criminalcat01
            criminalcat01Thursday, January 4, 2018 at 11:48 am55 stars
            This book it very, very great! This book is sad, it has a lot of action, deaths and adventure. I recommend this book for everyone to read.
            • Adam ESunday, November 19, 2017 at 5:06 pm
              Wilson Rawls classic “Where The Red Fern Grows”, is a story of a young boy growing up. It is sentimental and emotional. Taking place in the Ozarks,Oklahoma, Billy wants to have not one but two dogs. He wants to train them for hunting, even though his mom has prohibited him to use or own a gun until he is 21 years old. For two years he works hard collecting enough money doing whatever jobs he can, he finally earns enough money for two dogs,Old Dan and Little Ann, who are delivered by train. "I knelt down and gathered them into my arms. I buried my face between their wiggling bodies and cried. The stationmaster, sensing something more than two dogs and a boy, waited in silence." On multiple levels, I felt this story to be close to my heart and life. My Grandfather didn’t live grow up in the Ozarks but he had a dog at a young age too. Similar to billy he hunted; he would sell the hides of these animals and work every day to buy this dog. He put so much time into training it they became became best friends. I notice in the way he talks of that dog that they had a special respect for each other. Even with the dog he has today, in my Grandfather's old age it still hunts and even aids him in day to day tasks. You can always hear on the news or in the paper that a dog saved a man from a fire, laid their lives down for their owner. You may be familiar with the quote or idea that a dog is man's best friend. Unlike some humans that may not lay their life down for someone they love dogs act without even thinking about it if it's someone that means a lot to them. I don't know what all people call that but I call it unconditional love This is such a great story; I highly recommend you read it. Especially if you have a dog yourself it made me find even more appreciation for my dog.
              • lrohne24
                lrohne24Wednesday, November 15, 2017 at 5:51 pm55 starsFeatured
                There are a lot of good and great books in the world, but Where The Red Fern Grows is definitely something special. Ten year old Billy Colman has his heart set on getting dogs. To be specific, he wants two coonhounds. He asks again and again for those two dogs, but as much as his parents want to get them for him, they can't afford two coonhounds for Billy. So Billy works long and hard so he can buy two coonhounds with his own money. Eventually, Billy gets the amount he needs and buys two coonhounds. He names them Old Dan and Little Ann. Billy works with them and trains them, and Old Dan and Little Ann turn out to be excellent coon hunters. They tree so many raccoons which Billy sells to get money for his family. Soon, Old Dan and Little Ann are more to Billy than his hunting dogs. They are his best friends. Where The Red Fern Grows is such a heartwarming story. I love the bond Billy has with his dogs. This classic is one of my favorites. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 10+.
                • ???????????????Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 2:17 pm
                  I love this book it's just I hate it when the dog dies and the other one dies next to him.😢
                  • hamiltonfan
                    hamiltonfanFriday, August 18, 2017 at 5:28 pm44 stars
                    This story is about a boy who lives in a poor family that wants nothing more than to fulfil his dreams of getting two hunting dogs. Unfortunately, his family is not very wealthy so they give him some traps to hunt with instead. The boy is inspired to raise money to buy two dogs, and eventually comes up with enough money. He goes off to buy the dogs, comes back, and then the story unfurls. Read Where The Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls for an amazing tale of loyalty and perseverance.
                    • julia13
                      julia13Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at 7:12 am55 stars
                      I read this awhile ago when I was younger....the book was wonderful and I read it many times. Its about this boy and his 2 redbone coon hounds and all the adventures he has with them. He goes hunting for raccoons with them and soon they become wonderful hunters! He enters in a contest to see who can hunt the most 'coons before it ends. Who will win? Read this book to find out.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      rrwwnn
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      belle252