This classic about a 10-year-old boy growing up in the Ozark mountains with his inseparable pair of coonhounds will warm the hearts of young and old alike.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 14, 1998 by HOLT MCDOUGAL
ISBN-10: 0030547741
ISBN-13: 9780030547744
113 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • ???????????????Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 2:17 pm
    I love this book it's just I hate it when the dog dies and the other one dies next to him.😒
    • hamiltonfan
      hamiltonfanFriday, August 18, 2017 at 5:28 pm44 stars
      This story is about a boy who lives in a poor family that wants nothing more than to fulfil his dreams of getting two hunting dogs. Unfortunately, his family is not very wealthy so they give him some traps to hunt with instead. The boy is inspired to raise money to buy two dogs, and eventually comes up with enough money. He goes off to buy the dogs, comes back, and then the story unfurls. Read Where The Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls for an amazing tale of loyalty and perseverance.
      • jo13
        jo13Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at 7:12 am55 stars
        I read this awhile ago when I was younger....the book was wonderful and I read it many times. Its about this boy and his 2 redbone coon hounds and all the adventures he has with them. He goes hunting for raccoons with them and soon they become wonderful hunters! He enters in a contest to see who can hunt the most 'coons before it ends. Who will win? Read this book to find out.
        • jb_penguin12
          jb_penguin12Thursday, July 13, 2017 at 2:00 pm44 stars
          Billy wants puppies REALLY bad. But he doesn't want just any puppies. He wants two hunting hounds. When he finally gets them Billy and his hounds go on all kinds adventures.
          • sadier
            sadierMonday, July 10, 2017 at 3:04 pm55 stars
            I love this book. It is like To Kill A Mockingbird in some ways but remains in its own world for a lot of the story. I would recommend this book to middle schoolers and high schoolers.
            • readwriter
              readwriterFriday, June 16, 2017 at 2:14 pm55 stars
              This book was a very sad story. It was about a boy who gets two hunting dogs. He raises them and loves them more than anything. But then tragedy strikes and he doesn't know if he can handle it. It almost made me cry.
              • emmdro1718
                emmdro1718Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 10:51 am
                This made me actually made me cry, I love the dogs so much!!
              • hannah_kwonn
                hannah_kwonnTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 4:31 pm55 stars
                Where the Red Fern Grows, by Wilson Rawls is one awesome book!! In this heart-warming tale, you can read the perspective of a boy who only wanted a dog. Billy's story shows true friendship, perseverance, and helps you understand how hard work pays off. Mr. Rawls story is a wonderful work of art that shows one boy's love for two Redbone Coonhounds.
                • annette
                  annetteFriday, June 9, 2017 at 1:53 pm44 stars
                  This book is so so so sad! I understand how the ending fits with the book {Spoilers: the dogs die!!! :( }, but the ending is very depressing. The beginning and middle of the book aren't sad and the book is really interesting. The book kept me reading until the end, and the main character and the dogs have many victories and happy moments throughout the story. But it really is a sad book. I cried for about 20 minutes when I finished.
                  • fidgetspinner
                    fidgetspinnerWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 11:00 am
                    This is a very sad book, but a really good one nonetheless. It is about an ordinary boy whose childhood dream is to have two little pups. It is the story about a growing boy and his growing puppies as they play and hunt together, going on exciting misadventures. I couldn't put it down, not even to hold my fidget spinner. Now I am really depressed.
                    • snicker9
                      snicker9Tuesday, June 6, 2017 at 1:03 pm44 stars
                      Where the Red Fern Grows is the story of young Billy Coleman who lives Ozark Mountains of Oklahoma. All Billy wants is a puppy-but not any dog. He wants two coonhounds, which are unfortunately out of the question for his less than wealthy family. But Billy is determined and goes to work at odd jobs-for two years. Billy's first adventure with the pups starts at the very beginning. Billy has to walk to pick up the puppies from the depot, and walks for miles throughout the hills there and back. Billy is captured by his dogs, naming them Old Dan and Little Ann. Billy trains, lives, and suffers with his pups, hitting setback after setback. But Billy's dream lives, and persistence pays out. In the process Billy and his dogs form an amazingly strong bond. I like that in this book that there are so many obstacles for Billy, not only in training his dogs, but also for his family overall. Yet, he and his family are always able to pull through. It is a very inspiring story. I recommend this book to elementary and middle school aged kids, although even older will enjoy it. I think fans of classics and realistic fiction will most enjoy this book. Prepare for a heart-wrencher! I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3508
                      Books reviewed:1155
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      rrwwnn
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252