Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.539253

This Newbery Medal winner that has a fantastic puzzle at its heart has been called “smart and mesmerizing,” (The New York Times), “superb” (The Wall Street Journal), and “incandescent” (The Washington Post).

When Miranda starts receiving mysterious notes, she doesn’t know what to do.

The notes tell her that she must write a letter, a true story, and that she can’t share her mission with anyone—not even her best friend, Sal.

It would be easy to ignore the strange messages, except that whoever is leaving them has an uncanny ability to predict the future. If that’s the case, then Miranda has an even bigger problem—because the notes tell her that someone is going to die, and she might be too late to stop it.

“Lovely and almost impossibly clever.” —The Philadelphia Inquirer

Winner of the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award for Fiction
A New York Times Bestseller and Notable Book

Paperback
Published on January 6, 2011 by Andersen Press
ISBN-10: 1849392129
ISBN-13: 9781849392129
163 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • the-odd1sout
    the-odd1soutMonday, July 27, 2020 at 8:19 am55 stars
    Best book ever!!! I really liked this book told a really good story. I recommend it so much. You seriously have to read it!
    • iamgood
      iamgoodMonday, June 15, 2020 at 5:22 pm55 stars
      I read this book and I absolutely loved it!
      • diamond897
        diamond897Monday, May 25, 2020 at 1:54 pm55 stars
        This book was very good. It was about a girl who found notes in her pockets. She had no idea where they came from. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested.
        • spykitten
          spykittenSaturday, May 23, 2020 at 4:38 am55 stars
          In my opinion, this was a very clever book. Right when you think something will happen, the other thing happens. It messes with you head. I recommend this book.
          • applemango
            applemangoSaturday, May 16, 2020 at 4:02 pm55 stars
            Miranda and Sal have been friends, almost always, it seems. Miranda feels like she is a part of Sal and Sal a part of her. One day when they are walking to school they see a strange boy, that Miranda later knows is Marcus, and he suddenly, with a swift motion punches Sal. He doubles over, bruised and bleeding. From that they they drifted apart. Sal always playing basketball in the driveway and Miranda finding new friends, Annemarie and Colin. However, the most important character in this book is the laughing man. Someone is leaving Miranda mysterious notes predicting the future. He says ‘I am coming to save your friend’s life and my own.’ When Sal is going to get hit by a truck, the man(Marcus) saves him but kills himself. How the laughing man is Marcus? It doesn’t sense, yet what Marcus says brings a different perspective out. “Einstein says common sense is just habit of thought. It’s how we’re used to thinking things, but a lot of the time it just gets in the way.” So, does that mean time travel is possible? The old version and the young version of the same person can exist in the same time period? That gets me to wonder, is the future “me” living in the same time period as me?
            • roxanne3
              roxanne3Monday, May 4, 2020 at 12:15 pm55 stars
              I have read this one at least 4 times, and it is one of my favorites because it is a quick read, but also because it really makes your brain work. I was so confused about the whole time travel thing the first time, but now that I have read it more, it makes more sense. I still can't fully understand, but I love the story, and the characters too. Rebecca Stead is one of my favorite authors, and I recommend this and all of Rebecca Steads other books too!!
              • acalzoa
                acalzoaThursday, February 20, 2020 at 6:34 am55 stars
                I've to give this book a 5 star it's one of the best book I ever read there something about it's so good I love it I don't want to give it away.
                • gaychimpanzeWednesday, January 29, 2020 at 10:07 am
                  awesome book
                  • bnhalover1
                    bnhalover1Friday, January 10, 2020 at 9:54 am55 stars
                    best book I have read
                    • applemango
                      applemangoSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 12:06 pm55 stars
                      This is a book about Miranda. Suddenly her best friend Sal gets punched by a boy named Marcus. Then they aren't friends anymore. Strange notes are arriving and Miranda trys to find who is sending them. Only, the crazy guy on the corner is going to save Sal's life because somehow, time travel is possible. Only the man's second goal to save his own life fails and he is dead. However, you know that he is a hero. Deep down there because he saved Sal from getting hit by that truck. Also the reason he keeps swinging his foot is he is always practicing to save Sal.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252