Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.962217
Newbery honor winner, New York Times bestseller, Edgar Award Finalist, and E.B. White Read-Aloud Honor book.

A hilarious Southern debut with the kind of characters you meet once in a lifetime

Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC, where everyone's business is fair game and no secret is sacred. She washed ashore in a hurricane eleven years ago, and she's been making waves ever since. Although Mo hopes someday to find her "upstream mother," she's found a home with the Colonel--a café owner with a forgotten past of his own--and Miss Lana, the fabulous café hostess. She will protect those she loves with every bit of her strong will and tough attitude. So when a lawman comes to town asking about a murder, Mo and her best friend, Dale Earnhardt Johnson III, set out to uncover the truth in hopes of saving the only family Mo has ever known.

Full of wisdom, humor, and grit, this timeless yarn will melt the heart of even the sternest Yankee.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on December 31, 2013 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142426059
ISBN-13: 9780142426050
235 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • natureboy
    natureboyThursday, May 16, 2019 at 11:35 am55 stars
    I totally recommend this book it is one of my favorites. It is a very intense mystery and you will love it. I could never stop reading once I picked it up!
    • armcginn
      armcginnTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 4:39 pm44 stars
      This book was well... OK ,it could have been a better it was probably my least favorite book I have read through Dogo Books this summer, I found it disappointing, I was hoping for a lot more excitement and adventure, I found this book dull and boring.
      • ajg16
        ajg16Tuesday, August 7, 2018 at 11:23 am44 stars
        Mo (Moses) LeBeau is your average sixth grade girl, except 11 years ago in the worst hurricane in history and washed up in North Carolina. She has been raised by The Colonel and Miss Lana this entire time. All Mo wants is to find her upstream Mother , people in her little town are very kind and throw messages in bottles when they leave town of other little outings. But when a cranky man in town shows up dead...(murdered) Mo and her best friend Dale solve the biggest mystery yet. Great book I think a part 2 would be cool. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
        • jwarne
          jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:40 am55 stars
          After reading this I wanted to be a Desperado Detective! I would be Mo, though, because she was the funniest and the leader. This book was so funny. I didn't want Mo to find her upstream mom because I love her family the way it is.
          • auntieb
            auntiebWednesday, August 1, 2018 at 8:59 am44 stars
            Three Time Lucky is a book about a girl named Moses -aka Mo- who was washed ashore onto Tupelo Landing by a hurricane 11 years ago. This book is about the murder that happens at Tupelo Landing the Colonel's true identity and Mo's upstream mother!
            • pizzagirl7
              pizzagirl7Tuesday, July 31, 2018 at 12:17 pm33 stars
              Three times lucky///ok this was not a bad book but not a great book I would read it again let's just say that this book was funny there was suspense it was good! Ok so mo washed up ashore in tupelo landing, North Carolina 11 years ago (different part➡➡➡) no and her friend Dale solve a murder and a kidnapping and while doing so they went through tornados and more .it was a pretty good book I recommend it to preteens and I rate it 3stars
              • soffles
                sofflesMonday, July 30, 2018 at 6:38 am55 stars
                This book was AMAZING!! I read this online and my brother and sister started saying that I was obsessed with the laptop because I was reading so much. When I finished it I immediately got the other books in the series.
                • DevenFriday, July 27, 2018 at 10:12 am
                  I really like this book
                  • sports_star
                    sports_starFriday, July 27, 2018 at 7:23 am55 stars
                    I love this book! It's about Mo, and her friend Dale, who solve a murder, and a kidnapping, through tornadoes, being followed, and more! This adventure is really fun, but has lots of comedy in it too. As soon as I finished reading this I went into my Kindle library and got the next book! I've already finished that and can't wait to start reading The Odds of Getting Even.!!!
                    • dreambig100
                      dreambig100Monday, July 23, 2018 at 6:42 pm44 stars
                      Three Times Lucky is a wonderful tale about mystery and adventure. When Mo and her best friend Dale encounter a frightning murder case that involves there evil neigbor Mr.Jesse. Soon Miss.Lana(Mo family member that is closest to her) gets kidnapped too. Now it is up to Dale and Mo to save Miss.Lana and find out who did the murder with the help of a detective.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252