Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.046150
This stunning debut novel about grief and wonder was an instant New York Times bestseller and captured widespread critical acclaim, including selection as a 2015 National Book Award finalist! Oddlot Entertainment has acquired the screen rights to The Thing About Jellyfish, with Gigi Pritzker set to produce with Bruna Papandrea and Reese Witherspoon.

After her best friend dies in a drowning accident, Suzy is convinced that the true cause of the tragedy must have been a rare jellyfish sting-things don't just happen for no reason. Retreating into a silent world of imagination, she crafts a plan to prove her theory--even if it means traveling the globe, alone. Suzy's achingly heartfelt journey explores life, death, the astonishing wonder of the universe...and the potential for love and hope right next door.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on September 22, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316380865
ISBN-13: 9780316380867
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookworm15Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 9:59 am
    seems really cool. I got this out of the library because its on my summer reading list.
    • wolfa_sky
      wolfa_skyWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 3:08 pm55 starsFeatured
      This book is written with honest emotions and is truly one of the most beautiful and heartbreaking books I have ever read! While Suzy goes through the hardship of realizing that her best friend is dead, she is determined to know the cause of her death. She goes to the full extent, barely ever thinking about giving up until she realizes that no matter how hard she tries, it won't bring her friend back from death. I read this book about four months ago but remember everything in it because of how amazing it was. I, with no doubt, recommend this to anyone who is ready to challenge their emotions to something depressing and a little tense.
      • koreanbacongirl
        koreanbacongirlWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 2:53 pm
        Cool! My sister has that book and it seemed boring but now I want to read it! Thanks grapefruit for the description!
        • grapefruit
          grapefruitWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 1:57 am55 stars
          Since the death of her best friend, a girl wonders about the possibilities of a fatal jellyfish attack. She searches for a jelly expert until the result shows that her bestie was killed by a wave and not a jelly. The writing is creative and interesting, but it is all rather unclear about why the main character has these thoughts. It had all the potential, but I guess it could use more explanation--20 extra pages or so.
          • elisa45
            elisa45Tuesday, February 6, 2018 at 2:12 pm55 stars
            My friend loves this book!!
            • joey1602
              joey1602Friday, February 2, 2018 at 11:10 am55 stars
              I loved this book!! It was really very well written and a must read for anyone!
              • julia13
                julia13Friday, February 2, 2018 at 11:07 am55 starsFeatured
                This book was AWESOME I've read it two times and I couldn't get ENOUGH of it! The story is about a girl named Suzy Swanson, who really has a natural love for animals, science, and math. Her best friend, Franny, loved learning new things with Suzy until they reached middle school age. Franny decides she wants to hang out with girlier girls, and wants nothing to do with Suzy anymore unless she tries to be a "normal girl" like her. Suzy is insulted by this because she thought Franny was her friend, so she plans what she calls a "sign" to wake her friend up before she becomes like the other popular girls. Unfortunately, this revenge does not go over well and when Franny dies in a tragic accident a few days later Suzy blames herself and stops talking out loud. She then gets a idea of how her friend died, and decides she has to prove it. Very well written book with encouraging life lessons. LOVED IT.
                • wahpekeche
                  wahpekecheTuesday, January 30, 2018 at 8:38 am55 stars
                  This was a wonderful book about how elementary and middle-grade kids deal with loss and change, especially among friends. You will, of course, learn more than a thing or two about jellyfish, but most importantly how beautifully complicated life can be when facing the unexplained.
                  • bluehorse3
                    bluehorse3Sunday, September 10, 2017 at 2:29 pm55 stars
                    The Thing About Jellyfish is one of the most AMAZING BOOKS EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Suzy struggles after her best friends dies because she believes that things don't just happen. Suzy believes Fann
                    • annette
                      annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:13 pm
                      I just finished this book and it was very touching. I think the story line was unique in how Suzy tries to prove her own idea of how her best friend died and how it was her way of coping with the death of her friend. The book was really sad and I don't know what else to say, but you should read it.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      rrwwnn
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      belle252