This stunning debut novel about grief and wonder was an instant New York Times bestseller and captured widespread critical acclaim, including selection as a 2015 National Book Award finalist! Oddlot Entertainment has acquired the screen rights to The Thing About Jellyfish, with Gigi Pritzker set to produce with Bruna Papandrea and Reese Witherspoon.

After her best friend dies in a drowning accident, Suzy is convinced that the true cause of the tragedy must have been a rare jellyfish sting-things don't just happen for no reason. Retreating into a silent world of imagination, she crafts a plan to prove her theory--even if it means traveling the globe, alone. Suzy's achingly heartfelt journey explores life, death, the astonishing wonder of the universe...and the potential for love and hope right next door.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on September 22, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316380865
ISBN-13: 9780316380867
56 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • posidonkid
    posidonkidTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 2:12 pm55 stars
    My friend loves this book!!
    • joey1602
      joey1602Friday, February 2, 2018 at 11:10 am55 stars
      I loved this book!! It was really very well written and a must read for anyone!
      • julia13
        julia13Friday, February 2, 2018 at 11:07 am55 starsFeatured
        This book was AWESOME I've read it two times and I couldn't get ENOUGH of it! The story is about a girl named Suzy Swanson, who really has a natural love for animals, science, and math. Her best friend, Franny, loved learning new things with Suzy until they reached middle school age. Franny decides she wants to hang out with girlier girls, and wants nothing to do with Suzy anymore unless she tries to be a "normal girl" like her. Suzy is insulted by this because she thought Franny was her friend, so she plans what she calls a "sign" to wake her friend up before she becomes like the other popular girls. Unfortunately, this revenge does not go over well and when Franny dies in a tragic accident a few days later Suzy blames herself and stops talking out loud. She then gets a idea of how her friend died, and decides she has to prove it. Very well written book with encouraging life lessons. LOVED IT.
        • wahpekeche
          wahpekecheTuesday, January 30, 2018 at 8:38 am55 stars
          This was a wonderful book about how elementary and middle-grade kids deal with loss and change, especially among friends. You will, of course, learn more than a thing or two about jellyfish, but most importantly how beautifully complicated life can be when facing the unexplained.
          • bluehorse3
            bluehorse3Sunday, September 10, 2017 at 2:29 pm55 stars
            The Thing About Jellyfish is one of the most AMAZING BOOKS EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Suzy struggles after her best friends dies because she believes that things don't just happen. Suzy believes Fann
            • annette
              annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:13 pm
              I just finished this book and it was very touching. I think the story line was unique in how Suzy tries to prove her own idea of how her best friend died and how it was her way of coping with the death of her friend. The book was really sad and I don't know what else to say, but you should read it.
              • callie_b
                callie_bTuesday, August 29, 2017 at 3:47 pm55 stars
                This book touched me. A shy, average girl named Suzy won't say a word. Not to her few friends, not to her family. After her best friend Franny died in a supposed drowning at sea in Maryland, Suzy becomes fascinated with jellyfish. It's been her main focus ever since she stopped talking. Suzy starts to wonder if Franny's death has anything to do with a lethal jellyfish. I mean, come on. She drowned?? Suzy knows better than anyone how Franny is a fantastic swimmer. So Suzy devises a plan to travel to Australia to prove her hunch. 'The Thing About Jellyfish' made me laugh, feel frustrated with the characters, and sometimes even made me feel like crying. That's how good the author and the story were. I love love love this book, 5 stars of course!!
                • demosthenes
                  demosthenesWednesday, August 23, 2017 at 12:49 pm55 stars
                  This was a pretty good book. It show the concepts of friendship and blame as young Suzy tries to convince her mom and herself that her best friend Franny was killed by a unique jellyfish. After Franny was drowned on a trip to the beach, Suzy refuses to believe it was just by accident. After visiting an aquarium, Suzy is determined that Franny had been stung. But all along the story she feels an internal guilt. . .this story jumps back and forth from Suzy's research on the jellyfish and he time with Franny before her death. The interesting way the story advance keeps the reading focused on the story and after the last pages you will remember Suzy story.
                  • julia13
                    julia13Friday, August 4, 2017 at 8:23 am55 stars
                    I LOVED this book!!! Its about a girl who doesn't talk anymore because her friend died in a mysterious accident, which she blames herself for. Instead of talking she thinks constantly to herself about things. She has such a logical way of thinking tho. I loved her inspiring story and it helped me a lot.
                    • watkinjn
                      watkinjnThursday, August 3, 2017 at 6:15 pm55 stars
                      The narrator loses her best, and only, friend in the first few pages of the book. She shuts out the world and becomes obsessed with figuring out the how the best swimmer she'd ever known, drowned. The character is really unusual, but her experience of loss was so honest; it was incredibly relatable. It's a sad story with lots of beautiful moments. I loved it.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      rrwwnn
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252