Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.626263

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on January 17, 2012 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061992259
ISBN-13: 9780061992254
291 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • gagglegoogle
    gagglegoogleThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:59 am55 stars
    this is a amazing and moving book i read 2 or 3 times its about ivan the gorilla he lives in a shoping mall and was taken away from his family when a new elephant arives things start to slowly change
    • bybimolypafady
      bybimolypafadyThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:45 am55 stars
      I think that is a good and sad book
      • zubyfajemuvezi
        zubyfajemuveziThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:44 am55 stars
        THIS BOOK IS SUPER DUPER GOOD.IVAN HAS A FRIEND THAT IS AN ELEPHANT AND IVAN LOVE DRAWING. An HUMAN ADOPTED HIM SO IVAN START LIVING WITH HUMAN. READ THIS BOOK IS SUPER GOOD!!!!!! AND HOPE U LIKE IT!!!
        • candyunicorn
          candyunicornThursday, May 17, 2018 at 6:05 am55 stars
          I love this book it’s about a elephant who’s family killed by hunters. And he loves in a shopping mall.
          • starlight1000
            starlight1000Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 12:35 pm55 stars
            I love it! It is such a nice book! It breaks your heart but slowly mends it back together. It’s about a gorilla who was taken by humans and ends up in a shopping mall. This book is based of a true event. Read it to figure out what happens.
            • sepant
              sepantMonday, April 23, 2018 at 2:16 pm55 stars
              This book made me cry because 1. It was moving 2. It made me so sad when stella died. :( 3. my heart almost burst when I read about how his family died!
              • timetoparty
                timetopartyMonday, March 5, 2018 at 11:57 am55 stars
                I love this book so much. It is the best book after Wonder and Auggie and Me.
                • valt123
                  valt123Monday, March 5, 2018 at 11:43 am55 stars
                  WOW its amazing right if yes please like :)
                  • madog4greene
                    madog4greeneThursday, February 22, 2018 at 2:58 pm55 stars
                    Really good book!A little sad but good!
                    • tiger1st123
                      tiger1st123Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 12:12 pm
                      it is so awesome it is so sad when Stella dies . i think its awesome that that get to go to a a a a a a a a zoo.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      rrwwnn
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      belle252