Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.626263

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on January 17, 2012 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061992259
ISBN-13: 9780061992254
376 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sharkfun123
    sharkfun123Monday, October 26, 2020 at 3:03 pm55 stars
    This is a really good book because I think that Ruby is a cute character in this book and I really enjoy how emotional this book is.
    • catgirl223
      catgirl223Friday, October 16, 2020 at 8:16 am55 stars
      love his book
      • gypsy1
        gypsy1Friday, October 9, 2020 at 8:23 am55 stars
        Great book that I shared with my whole family. It will grab your attention and you won't want to put it down until you finish reading it. I read it on my own first in 3rd grade. Then my 4th grade class read it together.
        • itbesnow1
          itbesnow1Thursday, October 1, 2020 at 12:44 pm55 stars
          I LOVE this book! It shows how horrible zoos are and that animals DON'T like being in captivity! Animal rights activist aside, it's a great book, a ton of amazing scenes that, in some cases, made me cry! I totally recommend it to any body.
          • hmsoccer
            hmsoccerSaturday, September 19, 2020 at 6:05 am55 stars
            This is the best book i have read you will love it if you read it
            • amers_24
              amers_24Friday, September 18, 2020 at 6:56 pm55 stars
              This is a GR8 book so far!!!!!πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ˜„πŸ™‚πŸ˜‰
              • shinedown1
                shinedown1Thursday, September 17, 2020 at 7:20 am55 stars
                I really loved the book. I highly recommend this book.
                • beaners18
                  beaners18Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 11:01 am55 stars
                  I LOVED THIS BOOK!!
                  • noobTuesday, September 8, 2020 at 6:57 am
                    the best book ever! love it!!!!!!!
                    • unicornsrock123
                      unicornsrock123Thursday, September 3, 2020 at 7:36 am55 stars
                      I love it but it is really sad when the adult elephant died then I was the only one who cried and that was okay because I love animals.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252