The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1367 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • JurrytheHumanThursday, October 10, 2019 at 10:24 am
    This entire series is amazing. I've loved reading it over and over again since I was in the 4th grade. I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who wants a great read that'll keep you turning pages until the sun comes up.
    • unicornmasterzWednesday, September 25, 2019 at 6:32 pm
      BEST BOOK IN THE EVERS!!!!!!!!
      • jimnmmmmmmmy
        jimnmmmmmmmyTuesday, September 24, 2019 at 7:06 am55 stars
        read the hole series in 5 days
        • books_forever1
          books_forever1Tuesday, September 17, 2019 at 6:25 am55 stars
          I Love this book me and my class are reading it and other students think it is boring but i LOVE this book.
          • iamfanofbears
            iamfanofbearsSunday, September 15, 2019 at 10:49 am55 stars
            This is a really fun book. Everybody should read it.
            • dory2003
              dory2003Friday, September 13, 2019 at 4:54 pm
              I like the book its going to be a great book
              • straitk2
                straitk2Monday, September 9, 2019 at 5:58 am55 stars
                great book. its so awesome. it has treachery, courage, determination, and all out craziness. it has my like! i recommend this book.
                • thatpersonMonday, September 2, 2019 at 6:33 pm
                  #HAVETOREADITOVERANDOVER!!! This was the best book ever!! Amazing for Harry Potter Lovers!! I just found it in the library at school and I FELL IN LOVE!! I read it OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER (100 more over and overs) AGAIN!! (just being dramatic btw did not actually read it that many times,) AMAZING BOOK!
                  • 13iamgroot
                    13iamgrootSaturday, August 24, 2019 at 1:48 pm55 stars
                    This is an awesome book for fans of Harry Potter, I loved it so much and I couldn't put it down. In this fast-paced novel weird things keep happening to the main character, Percy Jackson , that he can't explain. His best friend Grover and his mom seem to know something he doesn't, so when a monster starts chasing them, Percy can't say that he is surprised. He finds himself at a very unusual summer camp for half-bloods, or demigods. Percy still doesn't know who his long lost father is, but an unusual game of capture the flag will reveal the truth. The chapter titles are hilarious, as well as the whole book. I can't wait to read the rest of the series, and all of the companion series also. I definitely want this book in my collection .
                    • cue
                      cueWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 1:43 pm
                      Hands down, better than harry potter. I mean it was awesome! I love that this book makes the old stuff from myths fun and easier to get now a days. It really made me want to read the old stuff for once. I totally liked this book a lot.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252