Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.121916

"Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets The Walking Dead in this very funny post-apocalyptic graphic novel for middle-grade readers.


Ever since the monster apocalypse hit town, average thirteen year old Jack Sullivan has been living in his tree house, which he's armed to the teeth with catapults and a moat, not to mention video games and an endless supply of Oreos and Mountain Dew scavenged from abandoned stores. But Jack alone is no match for the hordes of Zombies and Winged Wretches and Vine Thingies, and especially not for the eerily intelligent monster known only as Blarg. So Jack builds a team: his dorky best friend, Quint; the reformed middle school bully, Dirk; Jack's loyal pet monster, Rover; and Jack's crush, June. With their help, Jack is going to slay Blarg, achieve the ultimate Feat of Apocalyptic Success, and be average no longer! Can he do it?

Told in a mixture of text and black-and-white illustration, this is the perfect book for any kid who's ever dreamed of starring in his or her own comic book or video game. And then grab the sequel, The Last Kids on Earth and the Zombie Parade, now a New York Times bestseller!

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on October 13, 2015 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0670016616
ISBN-13: 9780670016617
130 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pm-olm
    pm-olmMonday, February 24, 2020 at 1:01 pm55 stars
    I liked this book because it was full of post - apocalyptic adventures and action! Very amazing book that all you post apoc fans should read!
    • sawty21
      sawty21Sunday, January 12, 2020 at 12:30 pm55 stars
      this book is the best zombie book I read eva!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • betbetking
        betbetkingWednesday, January 8, 2020 at 6:31 am55 stars
        I think this book was good b/c it talks about Jack and his friends fighting monsters that have came into this world. Jack is a foster kid who is always leaving other families and joining more. He has this tree house where he stays most of the time but later makes it in to a castle. He and his friends battle to the end until all the monsters and zombies die. But they forgot about this super big one called blarg who is super strong but is blind at night time. I gave it a 5 star b/c if you like to read about action and people fighting this is a perfect book for you.
        • someone toldWednesday, December 25, 2019 at 1:28 pm
          You will fall in love with the books ❤❤
          • chubbsWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 11:07 am
            this is one of my favorite books
            • shemar2007
              shemar2007Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 5:27 am44 stars
              It's Funny,shows responsibility,Bravery, Teamwork,and more
              • noahTuesday, September 24, 2019 at 4:16 pm
                awesome
                • abbychuMonday, September 16, 2019 at 11:07 am
                  i love this book sooooo much and i'm waiting for my mom to by the second book for me i'v read the first one about 4 times it's one of my favorite books so thank you so much for making these 6 books including the survival book. your the best :).
                  • parko
                    parkoThursday, September 12, 2019 at 1:37 pm
                    why I like this book is because Jack is funny and he is a post apocolypitic kind of guy.Quint is kind of a smarty pants. And June is a tom boy and when Jack thought that she needed rescuing she actualy didn't need it at all so that was pretty funny.Dirk is a big strong brave weirdo but he tis good have around I would want you to read it because it has daring,has good adventure's and lot's lot's more also my name is Parker Stephen Frey.Also I love the bible.I think it has relly good stories.My personal favorites are GENUSES, PSALMS,and the one we are doing right now JOHN it is the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • Silas barnesWednesday, August 28, 2019 at 1:35 pm
                      I have all four books I already finished this and it was amazing

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252