Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.121916

"Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets The Walking Dead in this very funny post-apocalyptic graphic novel for middle-grade readers.


Ever since the monster apocalypse hit town, average thirteen year old Jack Sullivan has been living in his tree house, which he's armed to the teeth with catapults and a moat, not to mention video games and an endless supply of Oreos and Mountain Dew scavenged from abandoned stores. But Jack alone is no match for the hordes of Zombies and Winged Wretches and Vine Thingies, and especially not for the eerily intelligent monster known only as Blarg. So Jack builds a team: his dorky best friend, Quint; the reformed middle school bully, Dirk; Jack's loyal pet monster, Rover; and Jack's crush, June. With their help, Jack is going to slay Blarg, achieve the ultimate Feat of Apocalyptic Success, and be average no longer! Can he do it?

Told in a mixture of text and black-and-white illustration, this is the perfect book for any kid who's ever dreamed of starring in his or her own comic book or video game. And then grab the sequel, The Last Kids on Earth and the Zombie Parade, now a New York Times bestseller!

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on October 13, 2015 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0670016616
ISBN-13: 9780670016617
135 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • zaks
    zaksFriday, October 9, 2020 at 8:16 am55 stars
    I have never read this series but I want to and it sounds good so all just give it five stars. Hope I can read these someday.
    • joey-127
      joey-127Thursday, September 24, 2020 at 1:44 pm
      This book is great for people who look for adventure and action
      • Emily HernandezFriday, May 15, 2020 at 5:20 am
        This book is so awesome i want three books
        • yeah_imian
          yeah_imianFriday, March 13, 2020 at 9:09 am55 stars
          I have to rate this book 5 stars here is why. This book is a perfect mix of action drama and comedy all at the same time. This reminds me of all the video games of zombies and monsters I would play when I was younger. The story is about a young boy whose family left him in a town where a zombie apocalypse is occurring. The boy then while surviving the outbreak finds adventure and friends along the way. This book also reminds me of what I would do in a zombie outbreak. I think about this way to much if I'm being honest. I have a perfectly laid out plan as well. All you need is to stock up on weapons and medical supplies. Then find a working cargo train that is transporting food. Survive on the train until supplies runs out and then redo the process.
          • flimflam11
            flimflam11Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 4:33 pm55 stars
            This book is an incredible book that is an unforgettable start to a great series. I, personally, have read all of the books in this series, and I'm looking forward for the next one to come out.
            • pm-olm
              pm-olmMonday, February 24, 2020 at 1:01 pm55 stars
              I liked this book because it was full of post - apocalyptic adventures and action! Very amazing book that all you post apoc fans should read!
              • sawty21
                sawty21Sunday, January 12, 2020 at 12:30 pm55 stars
                this book is the best zombie book I read eva!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                • betbetking
                  betbetkingWednesday, January 8, 2020 at 6:31 am55 stars
                  I think this book was good b/c it talks about Jack and his friends fighting monsters that have came into this world. Jack is a foster kid who is always leaving other families and joining more. He has this tree house where he stays most of the time but later makes it in to a castle. He and his friends battle to the end until all the monsters and zombies die. But they forgot about this super big one called blarg who is super strong but is blind at night time. I gave it a 5 star b/c if you like to read about action and people fighting this is a perfect book for you.
                  • someone toldWednesday, December 25, 2019 at 1:28 pm
                    You will fall in love with the books ❤❤
                    • chubbsWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 11:07 am
                      this is one of my favorite books

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252