Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.125083
Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo's undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo's dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery.
Hardcover, 533 pages
Published on January 30, 2007 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1407103482
ISBN-13: 9781407105048
349 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • avanumbereight
    avanumbereightWednesday, March 11, 2020 at 6:52 pm44 stars
    Hugo has to keep watch of the tower and adjust the time every few hours. He wants to see if Hugo's father left him a message, so he tries to fix it by stealing parts of from a toy shop and putting it inside. He discovers many things and goes through a whole journey. He does not give up. I connected to this book, because this reminds me of "The Marvels" because it was made by the same author and had the same writing style. I rate this book four stars, because the book was a little confusing at some parts and made sense later on. I would recommend this book to most of my friends because this seems like the type of book they would take time to read.
    • River eves 5thMonday, December 16, 2019 at 4:07 pm
      I loved this book it was one of the best books I've ever read.
      • inmemoryofcpr
        inmemoryofcprWednesday, July 3, 2019 at 2:49 pm55 starsFeatured
        Ever since Hugo's uncle has disappeared, Hugo has been keeping the watch tower and adjusting the time every few hours. But when he finds an automaton that is connected with his dead father, who died in a fire accident, Hugo tries to fix the ruined automaton, because he wants to see if his father left him a message, fixing it by stealing spare parts from a toy shop and putting them in. But after he finds out that the automaton is not just connected to his father, Hugo discovers many things and encounters many obstacles. But he will not give up untill he discovers the real truth. Awesome book!!! Even though other people said there were too many illustrations, I love that they make you feel like you are actually there. I would recommend this for ages 10+ This book was so nice to read. It has a mysterious feeling to it and I like how everything was perfectly put together in the end. I would definitely recommend this and I hope you read this because you do not want to miss this book.
        • lawalex
          lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 10:47 am55 stars
          In this book you see Hugo, a young boy, living in the walls of a train station. He is an orphan, and his dad left him a robot that’s broken. Embark on a mystical adventure about family.
          • 151515Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 1:00 pm
            this is one of my favorite books but i wish it had less pictures
            • BentonTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 5:12 am
              To many pictures there nice but there are just to many.
              • MalTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 10:56 pm
                My teacher read this book in grade 2 and I was extremely fascinated. I loved it. I was waiting for the day for me to read it again! I’m going to try and find it in my library! Very good story!
                • wiccanbat666
                  wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 3:49 pm55 stars
                  There is something awesome feeling about getting through 400 pages of a book on an hour lunch break, and still have time to use the bathroom and punch in three minutes early. So what if the book has lots of illustrations and it's written for children, it's still a real sense of Herculean reading, even if it's not that impressive. I liked this book a lot.
                  • wolfiethewolf
                    wolfiethewolfWednesday, May 2, 2018 at 7:47 am55 stars
                    This is a really great book. It has some of the stories told in words and some of the story told in pictures.
                    • cucusuvufypefy
                      cucusuvufypefyTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 10:36 am55 stars
                      I give The Invention of Hugo Cabret five stars because it was so good! I have read Hugo at least three times and plan to keep reading it over and over again in the future.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252