Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo's undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo's dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery.
Hardcover, 533 pages
Published on January 30, 2007 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1407103482
ISBN-13: 9781407105048
329 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • lilibelle
    lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:30 pm44 stars
    This was a great book about how the art of film and motion pictures had started. The author gives many wonderful illustrations and tell the story as if it were a movie; a truly unique and fun read.
    • thekid1
      thekid1Friday, July 14, 2017 at 10:38 am
      Hugo Cabret, is an 11 year old boy who lives alone in a train station in Paris where he fixes clocks. Before his dad died he invented a robot but died before it was finished. Hugo then secretly steals from a toy booth to get parts to finish his father's unfinished invention. It's a great story with beautiful illustrations. Highly recommend it. The movie is pretty good too.
      • sadier
        sadierMonday, July 10, 2017 at 3:15 pm55 stars
        It is a very long book but has an amazing story. I watched the movie first then read the book and loved the book more than the movie. If you can survive reading big books you should really read this book!
        • Roy Monday, July 10, 2017 at 11:03 am
          The story starts in a random setting making you feel that you have to find out what’s going on. A lot of the story is also explained in pictures. Hugo was really desperate to find answers, which gets explained in the middle of the story. He thought that an invention a good friend of his had made would show the answer to what he was looking for. He needed a home and a family. In the end, he got more than what he expected . He also got a job as a magician and a inventor. This is a excellent book. I would put it in my top ten books list, and I might as well read it again.
          • belle252
            belle252Sunday, July 9, 2017 at 10:54 pm55 stars
            I love love love love this book. About a boy who wants to invent. The best thing about this book is the pictures it just gives the connection. this is amazing and i suggest reading it to everyone
            • cerulian
              cerulianMonday, June 26, 2017 at 3:58 pm55 stars
              I read this book and it includes amazingly beautiful pictures. It is a mystery story of a boy who lives in the walls of a train station. He lives a secret life but his life becomes more complicated when he meets and befriends a girl and finds a hidden message from his father.
              • soffles
                sofflesMonday, June 26, 2017 at 12:51 pm55 stars
                This book was really good! I read it with my dad and then I read Wonder Struck with my cousins. I love the train part! I definitely recommend it. It's a huge book but there are a lot of pictures. The pictures are really cool!
                • bluehorse3
                  bluehorse3Friday, June 23, 2017 at 4:31 pm33 stars
                  The Invention of Hugo Cabret is about a boy named Hugo who lives in a train station in Paris. His father died in a fire so Hugo had to go live with his uncle. Then his uncle disappeared. Before Hugo's father died, he had been fixing a man. Not a real man, a metal man, a mechanic man. That is supposed to be able to write. Hugo wants to continue to fix the man because he believes that his father left him a message through the man. To get parts Hugo steals toys from a man in the train station.
                  • z06
                    z06Monday, June 19, 2017 at 6:34 pm55 stars
                    I like how it is interesting how after every chapter you want to read more. I would really like for everyone to read this book because it is awesome! It also has pictures!!!
                    • lilibelle
                      lilibelleThursday, June 15, 2017 at 8:48 pm44 stars
                      This was a great book about how the art of film and motion pictures had started. The author gives many wonderful illustrations and tell the story as if it were a movie; a truly unique and fun read.

                      Summer Reading 2017 ends in:

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books being read:2890
                      Books reviewed:917
                      Lip Moisturizer won:121
                      Belle's Library won:81
                      Blu-ray Combo Pack won:44
                      Schools participating:99
                      Libraries participating:1

                      Members (495)

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      rrwwnn
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      llpanda