Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo's undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo's dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery.
Hardcover, 533 pages
Published on January 30, 2007 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1407103482
ISBN-13: 9781407105048
341 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • cucusuvufypefy
    cucusuvufypefyTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 10:36 am55 stars
    I give The Invention of Hugo Cabret five stars because it was so good! I have read Hugo at least three times and plan to keep reading it over and over again in the future.
    • simemixysebawa
      simemixysebawaMonday, December 18, 2017 at 10:40 am55 stars
      This book is fantastic.It teaches you about living on your own, and having to fend for your self for survival.I bet you will love this book.
      • samzl
        samzlWednesday, November 22, 2017 at 8:06 am
        The details of the drawings make it realistic. The way he describes the story makes me feel like watching a movie.
        • sanchita123
          sanchita123Sunday, September 10, 2017 at 12:06 pm11 star
          I did not like this book at all. I started to read it because I had heard good things about it, but it was so boring i struggled to finish it. It was very slow paced and hard to understand. I would not recommend this book to anybody.
          • 30057
            30057Sunday, August 27, 2017 at 7:40 am44 stars
            I want to read this book because it seems really interesting. I watched the movie and it was so good. It was about this boy that is an orphan that lives on a clock tower. The movie is awesome so I am looking forward into reading the book.
            • demosthenes
              demosthenesFriday, August 18, 2017 at 8:26 am55 stars
              Brilliantly Brian Selznick tells the plot of an interesting boy through his(Brain's) illustrations. This is a thick novel, but don't let that intimidate you! About 80 % of the story is told in pictures. not just any pictures, but beautifully drawn masterpieces! Brain Selznick has an amazing talent in his art and showing the emotion inside of it. this story is about a boy named Hugo who works in a clocktower. he is a theif and a brat but by the end of the story he understands what it means to care for others and be forgiving. WONDERFUL novel that i urge you all to read.
              • georgiasilver
                georgiasilverSaturday, August 12, 2017 at 8:25 pm55 stars
                Very enlightening and entertaining, this bittersweet and illustrative book shows the side of a young boy and his travels. A very memorable and enriching story.
                • cobrazeus10
                  cobrazeus10Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at 2:40 pm22 stars
                  I liked the story a lot, but I thought that it was missing a lot to the story. There were to many pictures as well. It was simple too short and didn't give me time to really enjoy the book.
                  • bobelly
                    bobellyMonday, August 7, 2017 at 1:46 pm55 stars
                    I read it quickly because it had a lot of pictures but I thought it was cool how the pictures helped to tell the story. I thought the illustrations were very good and the story was exciting. I liked how he fixed the machine after it was in the fire in the museum.
                    • s_mcmasters
                      s_mcmastersTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 11:17 am55 stars
                      I loved reading The Invention of Hugo Cabret a 12 year old orphan, clock keeper, and thief. He has been keeping the clocks turning in the walls of a busy Paris train station. Hugo depends on secrecy to survive, until he interlocks with a mysterious toy seller and his goddaughter.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      rrwwnn
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252