The House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 4)

Book 4 of 5 in the The Heroes of Olympus Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.8129725

Download FREE Teacher's Guide

At the conclusion of The Mark of Athena, Annabeth and Percy tumble into a pit leading straight to the Underworld. The other five demigods have to put aside their grief and follow Percy's instructions to find the mortal side of the Doors of Death. If they can fight their way through Gaea's forces, and Percy and Annabeth can survive the House of Hades, then the Seven will be able to seal the Doors from both sides and prevent the giants from raising Gaea. But, Leo wonders, if the Doors are sealed, how will Percy and Annabeth be able to escape?
They have no choice. If the demigods don't succeed, Gaea's armies will never die. They have no time. In about a month, the Romans will march on Camp Half-Blood. The stakes are higher than ever in this adventure that dives into the depths of Tartarus.
This paperback edition will include a never-before-seen short story, "The Crown of Ptolemy," in which Percy and Annabeth fight alongside Carter and Sadie Kane, and more bonus content!
Paperback, 720 pages
Published on March 31, 2015 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146778
ISBN-13: 9781423146773
381 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kkgautamm
    kkgautammSaturday, August 15, 2020 at 2:10 pm55 stars
    this is probably my favorite heroes of olympus book because of the character development. and of course, leo and calypso, but i also love nico di angelo so much !!! but i also really liked the tartarus chapters, they were really cool
    • girlpower4ever
      girlpower4everTuesday, July 7, 2020 at 4:40 pm55 stars
      Percy and Annabeth have fallen into the pit of Tartarus, thousands of miles below their friends and in a place where the most evil of monsters reside. Now a fivesome, Leo, Piper, Jason, Frank, and Hazel must carry the burden of their friends' most-likely-fatal fall while trying to fulfill the fourth line of the Prophecy of the Seven: "foes bear arms to the Doors of Death." The five demigods and Percy and Annabeth, who are in Tartarus, race to the Doors of Death; they must get there and lock them before Gaea and the monsters do, or the entire world is doomed. But in the midst of the urgency, Leo is on quests of his very own, Percy and Annabeth are hunted by monsters at every turn, and the other demigods are divided by fear, morales, and uncertainty. In this beautifully heartbreaking novel, the stakes are higher than ever before, but the seven demigods will do everything within their power to stop Gaea's vengeful return.
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolMonday, June 15, 2020 at 1:56 pm55 stars
        Annabeth and Percy are stuck in Tartarus. However, they have the help of Bob, Little does he know that Percy Jackson removed his memory, and his actual name is Iapetus. Annabeth and Percy are nervous wondering what will happen if Bob finds out. Percy and Annabeth soon find out what the wrath of Tartarus really feels like. Meanwhile, the demigods are trying to find a way to rescue Percy and Annabeth. Overall, I thought this book was interesting and I think it was one of my favorite books of this series. I recommend this book to people who enjoyed the Percy Jackson series, or to people who like reading about greek mythology.
        • bluedragon1
          bluedragon1Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 6:10 pm55 stars
          These book are action packed and really well written. I highly suggest them to any one who is looking for a good read. Look at any rick roiden books for good reads😃!
          • nanecohe-158613259943
            nanecohe-158613259943Wednesday, May 20, 2020 at 7:19 am55 stars
            House of Hades Book review Author Rick Riordan House of Hades was an awesome book. I give It 5 out of 5 stars. Rick Riordan did an excellent job describing how terrifying tartarus was from Percy and Annabeths point of view. And how on the other side of the world the crew of Argus II was trying to save the world and their friends life at the same. Some shocking twists and turns about how Nico felt about Percy and the good giant Damasus really made this one of the best books in the series. If you like greek myths and action/drama this is a good book for you.
            • prettygirl17
              prettygirl17Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 7:37 am55 stars
              So far, so good this is really thrilling me. It has drama and adventure. This book is mainly based on Roman and Greek Mythology. It has fighting gods and monsters. It has people loving each other and loafing one another. While the whole crew from books 1-3 are trying to stop Gea the earth god is trying to waken and kill all of earth. Embark on a mystic adventure with The Heroes of Olympus!
              • georgie1poo
                georgie1pooThursday, April 30, 2020 at 6:15 am55 stars
                this book is heart breaking, and yet so, so, good. Percy nearly turns into a poison monster, and Olympia is a tourist trap.
                • shinebright
                  shinebrightFriday, April 3, 2020 at 8:58 am55 stars
                  Awesome book! I love Riordan. Percy Jackson + Heroes of Olympus = BEST BOOK EVER!!! Plz follow, like, or reply if u agree! I m trying to get 25 followers :)
                  • kotlcgirl
                    kotlcgirlTuesday, March 24, 2020 at 10:50 am55 stars
                    This is a great book!
                    • kotlcgirl
                      kotlcgirlTuesday, March 24, 2020 at 10:41 am55 stars
                      Riordan is my favorite author. I read a thousand times the Percy Jackson series and Heroes of Olympus is my favorite series ever. The House of Hades made me worried about Percy and Annabeth, made me laugh and hope that Gaea and the giants would finally get defeated. A PERFECT BOOK!!!!!

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252