Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.743617

It's a perfect world, where everything looks right. But ugly truths lie beneath…

Imagine a world without poverty, war or pain. A world where everything is comfortable and familiar - a world where everything is the same. No colour, no music. In such a world, Jonas is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory and is apprenticed to the Giver, an old man who stores memories from the Community’s past. As Jonas learns about violence and sadness, as well as beauty and joy, he discover the sinister truth behind his safe existence.

Simply and beautifully written, The Giver is a thought-provoking look at utopian society. It was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1994.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on March 1, 2001 by HarperCollins UK
ISBN-10: 0007111827
ISBN-13: 9780007111824
287 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderWednesday, July 15, 2020 at 5:28 pm44 stars
    This book was weird and way different from the others I've read, but I really liked it. The Giver is about a boy named Jonas who is picked to be the Receiver in training. He has the skill to receive memories no one else knows but the Giver. But Jonas has trouble with what he sees and discovers, which leads him on a journey to elsewhere....
    • lovetoread26
      lovetoread26Monday, July 6, 2020 at 10:47 am55 starsFeatured
      This book was amazing! Five stars, two thumbs up!!! I really enjoyed reading about The Giver universe. It is organized similarly to the Matched universe and the Delirium universe. Everyone in Jonas's community has a role. Some people are doctors, some are scientists, some are instructors, some are laborers, some are birthmothers, and some carry out the law. It is almost time for Jonas's Ceremony of Twelve, where he will find out what his Assignment is. When he receives the Assignment the Receiver of Memories, he has no idea what it is. Apparently it is the most important job in the community, and he has been watched for years to determine if he was a worthy candidate. He works with the older Receiver of Memories, or "The Giver", and discovers a terrible secret. He has to get away. The night of the next Ceremony, he runs. I hope you enjoy this book!
      • effie302
        effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 6:58 am
        such an interesting book, although im only on chapter 18 so..... so far its really good so maybe you guys would like it to!
        • sylvie55555
          sylvie55555Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 7:48 pm55 stars
          This book is truly inspiring and amazing. It makes me want to cry, but at the same time it is just so inspiring and makes you look at life in such a different way. Jonas lives in a world with no color, both figuratively and literally. In a world where the only memories of the past are in the mind of the one chosen to be the receiver, Jonas has to choose between what's right and what's expected.
          • celia_berry13
            celia_berry13Wednesday, May 20, 2020 at 2:25 pm55 stars
            The Giver is so good! It really got me thinking about the future of our world. I would recommend this book to people 10 and up.
            • bsc
              bscThursday, April 30, 2020 at 1:42 pm55 stars
              This book was really good!
              • watercolrwonder
                watercolrwonderThursday, April 30, 2020 at 6:03 am55 stars
                This has been one of my favorite books for years. It's a beautiful story in a futuristic but not-so-unbelievable world where everyone is the same and no one has any choices. The past is not remembered, except by the Giver. He holds the memories of the past for the whole town, the whole world. But his time is fading and the town will have a new Giver: Jonas. But can Jonas handle the weight of all the world?
                • jalen30214
                  jalen30214Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 10:37 am44 stars
                  I connected to this book when I read about a managed community. First Jonas' sister is becoming an eight year old. Next Jonas becomes a twelve year old. Last Jonas meets the Giver towards the end. I would give this book a four star because the book shows how life would be in a managed community.
                  • spykitten
                    spykittenWednesday, March 4, 2020 at 5:45 pm33 stars
                    This was an interesting book, but it was very complicated. I didn't like it much, but others might like it.
                    • chloe_coolness
                      chloe_coolnessThursday, November 7, 2019 at 2:36 pm55 stars
                      I like this book a lot but there's one part that I don't like, which is the part that Jonas's father killed the smaller twin and said " bye bye little." It was CREEPY
                      • spykitten
                        spykittenWednesday, March 4, 2020 at 5:44 pm33 stars
                        DON'T SPOIL!!! This is a review website, not a book club!

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252