The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.869559
welve-year-old September lives in Omaha, and used to have an ordinary life, until her father went to war and her mother went to work. One day, September is met at her kitchen window by a Green Wind (taking the form of a gentleman in a green jacket), who invites her on an adventure, implying that her help is needed in Fairyland. The new Marquess is unpredictable and fickle, and also not much older than September. Only September can retrieve a talisman the Marquess wants from the enchanted woods, and if she doesn’t . . . then the Marquess will make life impossible for the inhabitants of Fairyland. September is already making new friends, including a book-loving Wyvern and a mysterious boy named Saturday.
With exquisite illustrations by acclaimed artist Ana Juan, Fairyland lives up to the sensation it created when the author first posted it online. For readers of all ages who love the charm of Alice in Wonderland and the soul of The Golden Compass, here is a reading experience unto itself: unforgettable, and so very beautiful.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on May 10, 2011 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312649614
ISBN-13: 9780312649616
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • booklover2017
    booklover2017Monday, August 28, 2017 at 5:01 pm
    I want to read to read this It sounds really good
    • bluehorse3
      bluehorse3Monday, August 28, 2017 at 9:23 am55 stars
      This book is about a normal girl who is visited by the Green Wind and is taken to Fairyland. September makes friends with A through L, Saturday, and many more. She also makes some enemies who cause her trouble. As part of a mission to save her friends, September builds a boat and travels great distances to help her friends. I loved this book and thought it was very well written. It has such relatable aspects like a regular girl wanting to be like characters in books and then some not as relatable,but equally enjoyable parts, like the regular girl actually becoming like characters in books and getting her own adventure. I definitely recommend this book to kids and adults. It's funny, heart warming and full of risks and adventure!
      • snicker9
        snicker9Wednesday, July 12, 2017 at 12:28 pm11 star
        I was very intrigued by the summary about this book. September is taken on an adventure to Fairyland where she makes new friends and is apparently the only person who can assist the new Marquess. Unfortunately, I found it hard to follow along. The language and description was kind of hard to read. Because I couldn't even understand what was going on, I didn't finish the book. I rate this book 1 out of 5 stars.
        • callie_b
          callie_bMonday, June 5, 2017 at 2:33 pm44 stars
          12-year-old September gets whisked out of her bedroom window to Fairyland by the Green Wind. That might seem super fun to you and me, but September has her troubles. She stumbles upon the peculiar witches Hello, Goodbye, and Manythanks. Goodbye asked her to fetch a spoon the evil ruler of Fairyland, the Marquess, had taken. So off September goes on her quest. On the way to the Marquess's palace she meets the dragon-like creature Wyvern who September decides to call Ell. His real name is A-through-L, because when he was a young dragon he lived a an old yet homey library and only made it through the encyclopedias A-through-L. Ask him anything that begins with a letter within range, and he'll answer it. His wings are bound up in chains from the Marquess. The duo continue on the quest and arrive at a cove of cages, where only one is filled. A little boy named Saturday with pale blue skin vacates that one lonely cage. September ignores all warnings and breaks Saturday out. Saturday can grant wishes if he is beaten in a wrestling match fair and square. Now, the trio travel along to fulfill the quest. September meets the Marquess, a horrible little girl who couldn't be much older than September herself. The Marquess tries to sweet talk September but ends up sending her oin another quest, one to get a sword for her. If the quest isn't fulfilled in 7 days, they die. On this journey, September endures even more- for example, becoming a tree! Yikes! Then her new friends are captured and she has no choice but to circumnavigate Fairyland in a ship of her own making (hence the title). Shivering and starving, can September free her friends before time runs out? I really liked this book, 4/5 stars. I feel like the book started way too quickly though (she gets taken to Fairyland literally on the first page with practically no background of her life at home) Other than that, a great book!
          • rrwwnn
            rrwwnnSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 12:37 pm
            twelve year old September was a normal girl only when her dad went to fight in the war and her mom went to work one morning a green fog came in a shape of a gentleman ask her on quests
            • bluehorse3
              bluehorse3Wednesday, February 24, 2016 at 2:45 pm55 stars
              This book was filled with creativity and color and great sensory details that I could picture the story very vividly! I love September and Ell and Saturday and the whole series is so good. With all the adventures that September goes on to help others! Loved this book and series!
              • offordreviews
                Mrs. OffordTuesday, August 26, 2014 at 1:20 pm55 stars
                We're reading this book as our first read-aloud of 4th grade!
                • gap430
                  gap430Wednesday, March 12, 2014 at 7:33 am
                  just by looking at the title of the book I know it is for advanced readers
                  • otter
                    otterWednesday, December 11, 2013 at 6:10 pm
                    I want to read this book.
                    • bookworm890
                      bookworm890Tuesday, September 10, 2013 at 8:47 pm55 stars
                      The story was rather strange. If Oz and Wonderland had a child, it would resemble Fairyland. The plot was a little difficult to understand and the phrasing seemed a little abrupt in the beginning, but overall, an outstanding read.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3508
                      Books reviewed:1155
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      rrwwnn
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252